English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 April 2012, 19:20   #21
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
But better a live WIP that can be seen rather than someone saying they are doing something with no tangible results
Certainly, but even better is a playable game

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
And maybe YM emulation won't be as easy as I think, but thats the fun of doing the work, if it was easy, all these games would have been converted years ago
Anyway if you need help, don't hesitate.
meynaf is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 April 2012, 20:02   #22
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Certainly, but even better is a playable game


Anyway if you need help, don't hesitate.
It will only be playable once I sort out the ST mouse packet information to convert to Amiga, once thats done, then at least it can be played
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 17 April 2012, 15:49   #23
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 829
Thanks for working on that port.
Kamel
kamelito is offline  
Old 17 April 2012, 17:04   #24
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
Wow, one of my favorite 80s games finally coming to Amiga Thank you Galahad !

Hope this trend keeps up...
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 18 April 2012, 02:46   #25
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,223
This looks like a good game! A bit like Flight of the Amazon Queen?! Keep up the good work Galahad/FLT!
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 19 April 2012, 13:42   #26
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
I love these new Atari ST conversions, I think it's great to have these on the Amiga.

But I can't help to notice: remember the days when we complained about Atari ST shovelware? Now we're excited about it

What are the chances of taking these and upgrading them to meet Amiga standards?
Akira is offline  
Old 19 April 2012, 14:02   #27
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
But I can't help to notice: remember the days when we complained about Atari ST shovelware? Now we're excited about it
Hah!

I'm wondering if a port of Robotron: 2084 would be feasible? It would be nice to have a native Amiga port of the game which inspired Llamatron.
Mequa is offline  
Old 19 April 2012, 15:39   #28
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I love these new Atari ST conversions, I think it's great to have these on the Amiga.

But I can't help to notice: remember the days when we complained about Atari ST shovelware? Now we're excited about it

What are the chances of taking these and upgrading them to meet Amiga standards?
Theres every possibility of doing that, but personally, i'm more keen on getting them running, and then once thats been done, maybe releasing a more Amigafied version.

Bearing in mind though that I can update the titlescreen to the box image, and maybe get someone to do a better sounding module for the music, and maybe improve the ingame samples, but the main game graphics will still be the same.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 19 April 2012, 17:05   #29
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
YM conversion i've been told can be quite painless for Amiga, simply redirecting the YM calls to the correct Amiga registers should get it up and running, and doing it on an interrupt, I can't envisage it getting too heavy.
You mean you're considering making/using a YM sound engine emulation on the Amiga version?

...and great job Galahad!
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 19 April 2012, 17:33   #30
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by xpect View Post
You mean you're considering making/using a YM sound engine emulation on the Amiga version?

...and great job Galahad!
Yes, its what Meynaf did for his Atari conversions. I'd obviously prefer using a module, but, at the moment, virtually all of the 512k of chip ram is used up.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 19 April 2012, 18:26   #31
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
I think from a purists stand point it is good to have a straight 1:1 port of the Atari ST original then an upgraded version later.

Personally the YM chip sound doesn't bother me, I quite like the sound of it in many cases, and on different hardware.

I think International Karate on the Atari ST is a good use case for YM chip sound.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 19 April 2012, 18:27   #32
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitesnake View Post
I think from a purists stand point it is good to have a straight 1:1 port of the Atari ST original then an upgraded version later.

Personally the YM chip sound doesn't bother me, I quite like the sound of it in many cases, and on different hardware.

I think International Karate on the Atari ST is a good use case for YM chip sound.
Weird thing is, the Spectrum 128 version of Where Time Stood Still sounds better!
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 19 April 2012, 18:33   #33
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,621
This is pretty damn cool. Just a query: is the whdload slave also doing the necessary emulation?
chiark is offline  
Old 19 April 2012, 18:34   #34
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Weird thing is, the Spectrum 128 version of Where Time Stood Still sounds better!
Exactly... or maybe I am just more used to it since I played the game to death on my +2 128k

Can't wait for the Amiga version though . Hopefully someone can make a decent .MOD conversion of the tune... But even the YM emulation one will do.
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 19 April 2012, 18:40   #35
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
Very similar PSG's I'd mostly put it down to a better composer if anything.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 19 April 2012, 19:12   #36
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
How small does the MOD need to be for it to be included on the game, Galahad?
Akira is offline  
Old 19 April 2012, 20:41   #37
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 685
thx Galahad, a really great game!
vulture is offline  
Old 19 April 2012, 20:56   #38
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
How small does the MOD need to be for it to be included on the game, Galahad?
Let me get back to you mate, I might yet make it 1meg only, which then frees up a lot of chip ram, as I can store all the ST graphics in fast ram and just have the Amiga specific stuff and program code in chip ram.

At the moment, 5k would probably be an over exaggeration of how much room is left!
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 19 April 2012, 20:58   #39
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiark View Post
This is pretty damn cool. Just a query: is the whdload slave also doing the necessary emulation?
No.

WHDLoad is a useful tool for quick development. If there are any accesses to Atari ST registers I haven't picked up on, if anything tries to access one through an address register, WHDLoad exits immediately and tells me.

Quicker way of debugging, loading the game from hard drive instead of floppy.

Once I have it fully working using WHDLoad, then I'll be able to quickly master a floppy version, and then adapt the WHDLoad version to support that version so everyone starts off with the same version, and thus bug reports become meaningful.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 19 April 2012, 21:27   #40
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Weird thing is, the Spectrum 128 version of Where Time Stood Still sounds better!
One thing that can do this is if one tune was developed say in the Spectrum 128 with a AY-3-8910 and then simply transplanted to the ST that uses a YM2149. Also the sound chip frequencies are also different 2Mhz on the ST, 1.77Mhz on the Spectrum, and this would also alter significantly envelope times and tuning.

One good example is the Xenon tune: it sounds ok in the ST, slight off on the Spectrum but sounding better, and absolute shit in the CPC (which has the AY clocked at 1Mhz).

Also, in my opinion, the AY has a much better sound compared to the YM.

Last edited by AmigaFriend; 19 April 2012 at 21:43.
AmigaFriend is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ugly Ass Atari St Doom conversion Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 18 07 May 2016 22:22
Super Sprint - Atari ST Conversion Galahad/FLT Retrogaming General Discussion 83 12 March 2012 22:34
Old Atari ST ? Game...not sure if there was an Amiga conversion.. HCF Looking for a game name ? 14 17 October 2004 18:43
EBAY Amiga / Atari ST / Atari 2600 stuff Eggsplosion MarketPlace 0 09 October 2004 22:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30461 seconds with 12 queries