English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 April 2012, 15:08   #21
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 40
Posts: 468
Sorry this is probably way off-topic but it reminded me of something.

How did the non aga versions of Universe have 256 colours on screen ?
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 April 2012, 15:43   #22
clauddio
Banned
clauddio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saturn
Age: 45
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ulA55a551n View Post
Sorry this is probably way off-topic but it reminded me of something.

How did the non aga versions of Universe have 256 colours on screen ?
universe not have 256 colors...both versions cd32 and disk versions are ECS and uses 32 or 64 colors
the pc version yes uses 256 colors also is much better

Last edited by clauddio; 03 April 2012 at 15:51.
clauddio is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 18:44   #23
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob View Post
Are the level pictures in Agony EHB? Not in game but pretty spectacular.
I always though they were in HAM?
Predseda is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 19:53   #24
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by clauddio View Post
universe not have 256 colors...both versions cd32 and disk versions are ECS and uses 32 or 64 colors
the pc version yes uses 256 colors also is much better
Actually you're quite wrong.

Universe had a custom engine that did in fact use at times 256 colours on a standard ECS Amiga.

Theres an article about it somewhere
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 20:10   #25
khph_re
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northampton/UK
Posts: 245
I think it changes the palette entries per scanline, or something like that. There are definitely screens with 200+ colours on it.
khph_re is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 20:50   #26
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,437
An editor to clamp to 12-bit palette and adjust to 256 color semi-automatically is actually a good way for a game system to consolidate OCS/AGA differences for the artist. So the pictures will look good enough to not have to make separate versions and the artist draw twice as much. Might not be useful for much more than stills/flip screen games, though.

I keep forgetting the game name, but there's a full on 8-way shooter in HBR made in 1989 or something. Starts with A, something like Amarok or Anathon but it isn't. Slow framerate but very special graphics.

Apart from this, I can't think of a single one that uses HBR. It doesn't leave much time for blitting and CPUing. On AGA it's no problem, of course.

There was an article on the SWIV shadows, they did them like most - flickering or non-flickering 010101010... patterns. (1=black, 0=transparent.)
Photon is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 20:53   #27
Jack Burton
It's all in the reflexes!
Jack Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wingkong warehouses
Posts: 156
Yes, it's like PCHG technique.
I never played the game Universe, but I watched the longplay on Youtube, it was quite impressing for an OCS/ECS game ! By the way the audio part is very good too.
Jack Burton is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 21:39   #28
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,437
Ah, here it is. Found it! Amnios. -> http://hol.abime.net/3265
Photon is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 00:36   #29
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,128
Super Cars 2 uses half-brite mode nicely for the shadows of trees, barriers and tunnels, and maybe the original Super Cars aswell (can't remember!)
Codetapper is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 09:12   #30
pmc
rebooting...
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon
There was an article on the SWIV shadows, they did them like most - flickering or non-flickering 010101010... patterns. (1=black, 0=transparent.)
Ah, OK cool - thanks for clarifying Photon.

I knew I'd read an article on SWIV shadows - just couldn't remember if it related to them doing them with EHB... which, clearly, they didn't.
pmc is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 19:27   #31
donnie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: sthlm
Posts: 56
can you use copper background in combination with half bright mode?
donnie is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 20:18   #32
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,437
Codetapper is absolutely right, forgot about that one.

You can use a copper background with every mode and every color depth, even 0 colors, on any Amiga. A copper background with no foreground colors but only graphics in the HBR bitplane will shadow the coppershade just as you would expect.
Photon is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 20:26   #33
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,454
Like in Agony? Especially the last two levels?
Predseda is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 23:55   #34
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,128
Agony is dual playfield the entire way. Really tri-playfield by splitting the 2nd playfield into a single colour and 3 colour playfield.

Click the link for an analysis of the copperlist and the use of sprites in the game.
Codetapper is offline  
Old 03 July 2016, 04:55   #35
ReadOnlyCat
Code Kitten

 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Montreal/Canadia
Age: 46
Posts: 1,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codetapper View Post
Super Cars 2 uses half-brite mode nicely for the shadows of trees, barriers and tunnels, and maybe the original Super Cars aswell (can't remember!)
Oh, I would have never suspected that since the game does not look anything special in terms of number of colours.

Do they use the 6th bitplane only to create shadows? If so, this feels like quite a waste given that they could have used it to make the game so much more colourful in general.
ReadOnlyCat is offline  
Old 03 July 2016, 10:10   #36
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReadOnlyCat View Post
Oh, I would have never suspected that since the game does not look anything special in terms of number of colours.

Do they use the 6th bitplane only to create shadows? If so, this feels like quite a waste given that they could have used it to make the game so much more colourful in general.
Only for the shadows but I think it's awesome as the car automatically has the right shadow on it when going under tunnels etc. Compare it to the ST version and you might change your mind about how good it is!
Codetapper is offline  
Old 03 July 2016, 10:53   #37
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,715
probably stupid question does EHB use a lot more CPU than 32 colour?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 03 July 2016, 11:07   #38
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,128
A fair bit more, the extra plane to display and then all the blits obviously need an extra plane plus restoring the screen. I guess most (if not all) are 25Hz not 50Hz.
Codetapper is offline  
Old 04 July 2016, 14:30   #39
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 39
Posts: 1,002
Pretty sure Desert Strike does use EHB mode, you can fly behind smoke allowing for transparency along with the shadow of the helicopter being cast on the ground.

Edit: Oh, and what about Banshee?
lordofchaos is offline  
Old 04 July 2016, 16:23   #40
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
Banshee is AGA and so wouldn't have used EHB.
Belgarath is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which game made you defect to PC? john4p Nostalgia & memories 102 13 April 2013 19:19
What game would you like made for Amiga? Djay Amiga scene 37 27 January 2012 15:22
Looking for mod.bright or bright.mod swm3rd request.Modules 19 06 November 2010 03:50
A1200 - Display too bright Rabbit80 support.Hardware 90 07 April 2009 00:59
Best GAME EVER MADE? Mojo Retrogaming General Discussion 16 05 October 2003 23:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29565 seconds with 12 queries