English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 March 2012, 22:10   #1
commodoresales
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: bristol
Posts: 61
Help with new card

I have just installed a new memory/expansion card. When laying the 1200 keyboard back on it now pokes up because the 4mb of memory sticking out from the expansion module. Very annoying..am I doing something wrong?
Here is the card I bought:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1306672549...ht_1545wt_1156
commodoresales is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 March 2012, 22:42   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
It's not clear from the picture. Is that SIMM socket on the back of the card angled? If it is and it fouls the trapdoor when the card is fitted, then you'll have to leave the trapdoor off and see if the keyboard fits flush then.

If it's okay then, and you really want to fit the trapdoor, it may be possible to fit a SIMM socket which will position the SIMM to lay parallel with the card.

It's unusual for the SIMM socket to be on the back of the card like that. Sometimes it's possible to fit a special SIMM socket on the other side of the board which reverses all the connections internally, but I'm not sure it would be appropriate in this case.
prowler is online now  
Old 23 March 2012, 22:46   #3
commodoresales
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: bristol
Posts: 61
I managed to sort it now. Very odd card indeed!
commodoresales is offline  
Old 23 March 2012, 22:56   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by commodoresales View Post
Very odd card indeed!
You can say that again!

Quote:
Originally Posted by commodoresales View Post
I managed to sort it now.
How so? C'mon, spill the beans...
prowler is online now  
Old 23 March 2012, 23:14   #5
commodoresales
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: bristol
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
You can say that again!



How so? C'mon, spill the beans...
lol
commodoresales is offline  
Old 23 March 2012, 23:16   #6
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by commodoresales View Post
lol
It's not too embarrasing for you, is it?
prowler is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help. Accelerator card breaks startup-sequence scsi.device (CF Card)? ibsimpson Hardware mods 1 09 May 2012 16:12
PC app that reads/writes to Amiga-formatted card in card reader? Photon support.Apps 6 19 July 2011 09:33
WANTED: Zorro Network card and/or cheap 060 card Madrid MarketPlace 0 10 March 2011 22:52
A600: CF in IDE, SRAM card in PCMCIA... how to add a 'to PC transfer card'? Photon support.Hardware 9 15 January 2011 18:17
For sale: AteoBus A1200 busboard with Pixel64 RTG card, Network and scsi card. Smiley MarketPlace 0 18 July 2006 23:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12221 seconds with 11 queries