English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 March 2012, 19:46   #1
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 42
Posts: 818
VGA-monitor, but need VGAOnly

I've got a 19" VGA CRT hooked up, just thought I'ld test the Amiga2VGS adapter (from amigaKit). I *think* it should work, but I get the Out of Sync error on the screen, so I need "VGAOnly" and some other drivers I guess.

But is there any way to do this without having a working monitor? "Working" as in "can see what's displayed"

I'm getting the Acorn monitor shortly-ish, but would like to see if I could get the VGA monitor to work in the meantime.
Doc Mindie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  




Old 20 March 2012, 21:24   #2
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,051
Vga adapter from amigaKit not supporting all vga monitors,is just adapter, and not converter upscaller.
But working for some LCD monitor direct.. like my LG Flatron M1717A.
Testing on LCD monitor if you can..
Anemos is offline  
Old 20 March 2012, 22:34   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #
Posts: 13,412
You don't need VGAOnly (which you can get from Aminet I think), you can use Productivity, Euro72 and in some monitors, DoublePAL, DoubleNTSC and Euro36.
Akira is offline  
Old 20 March 2012, 23:19   #4
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,019
VGAOnly is part of the OS, to kick DblPal and DblNTSC a little higher from 27.xx kHz which is the Dbl default; still kicked they are lowish IIRC.
zipper is offline  
Old 21 March 2012, 15:31   #5
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 42
Posts: 818
Don't need anything now.. got an Acorn something something monitor, the whole reason for getting the RGB2VGA adapter in the first place....

It's basically a rebranded MicroVitec M1438, and works, AFAICS, perfectly. Amiga screen in 800*600 now... first time I've had that with the native chipset
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 21 March 2012, 16:01   #6
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 1,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
VGAOnly is part of the OS, to kick DblPal and DblNTSC a little higher from 27.xx kHz which is the Dbl default; still kicked they are lowish IIRC.
Yes, and even then it only becomes 29 Khz, which was too low for my current VGA monitor, but it can be changed easily by adding
Code:
TOTCLKS=0x0076
to the standard dblpal/dblntsc monitor files (icon tooltype).

This value increases the rate to 30.06 khz. Decreasing the value increases the frequency at the expense of overscan width (example: 0x0072 gives 31.11 khz). Note that the values are hexadecimal.

You can use MonSpecsMui from aminet to fine adjust the monitor file after adding the TOTCLKS line: http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/MonSpecsMUI (only works for double scan modes, no 15 khz PAL/NTSC).
Thorham is offline  
Old 22 March 2012, 00:31   #7
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 42
Posts: 818
If anyone's been around this monitor (Acorn AKF50)... is there any way to adjust the picture width? I've got like an inch of screen left and right hand side of the workbench screen, but there's no easily accesible controles to widen the picture. I can adjust how tall it is, and the horizontal positions, but not the horizontal width.
Doc Mindie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga VGA for Flat Monitor VGA? Amiga Forever New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 02 November 2010 23:08
VGA Only monitor driver NovaCoder support.Apps 8 22 April 2009 15:29
VGA adapter to connect a VGA/Multiscan monitor to the Amiga RGB port Tuffy support.Hardware 4 07 April 2008 09:29
Amiga on VGA monitor Techx support.Hardware 21 05 August 2005 17:24
Using a VGA monitor with WB3.0 Galaxy support.Hardware 1 24 October 2004 13:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11831 seconds with 11 queries