English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 March 2012, 02:08   #1
melbourneben!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: adelaide
Posts: 44
Amitcp 3.02b STOPNET script not working with prism2 WIFI card

Hi All,

Does anyone use amitcp 3.02b? I've been using it for some time with my WIFI PCMCIA (MA401) card using prism 2 drivers, it works great apart from one small niggle. I run startnet from the amitcp bin directory to start the tcp/ip stack but when I try and run stopnet to stop tcp/ip it just freezes on me...My only option is to then reboot.

I opened stopnet in a text editor and it looks like an AREXX command, as below:

rx "address AMITCP; KILL" ; Send "KILL" to AmiTCP

I've tried breaking the process manually and again my Amiga just freezes, so it doesn't appear to be the Stopnet script at fault.
Can anyone shed any light on this? Maybe I should I try a different version of Amitcp or a different stack. In the past I've tried version 4 but could never get it to work.
Cheers

Ben
melbourneben! is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 March 2012, 07:11   #2
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 38
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
IIRC it doesn't freeze when I use Miami but I'm not 100% sure.
I'll try that tonight when I get back from work and report back mate.
mfilos is offline  
Old 15 March 2012, 08:24   #3
melbourneben!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: adelaide
Posts: 44
Mfilos: Thanks mate, would appreciate you testing. I may also try installing Miami. That way I can establish if its the stack I'm using or something else at fault.
melbourneben! is offline  
Old 16 March 2012, 10:44   #4
melbourneben!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: adelaide
Posts: 44
mfilos: Did you get chance to test? I installed Miami and it still freezes when I go offline. I'm starting to think it might be the pcmcia card?

I'd be interested to know what version of Workbench you're running especially if you find your stack doesn't freeze? I'm running 3.0 but have 3.1 on order. Not that WB version should make any difference?
melbourneben! is offline  
Old 16 March 2012, 22:48   #5
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 38
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Yep sorry mate for not replying earlier.
Putting offline the stack didn't freeze my Amiga.
- I putted stack online then opened AWeb and then putted it offline and then Quit.
- Then I putted stack back online and opened AmIRC then closed AmIRC and putted it offline again and still no freeze.

I'm running a special customized version of ClassicWB 3.1 Full (you can check a video here: [ Show youtube player ]) running on Kickstart 3.1.
Tbh I run a customized kickstart as well kicked via ACA630's MapROM feature but haven't putted anything important that has anything to do with the PCMCIA stuff.

Well 3.0 could be an issue as it has a different card.resource iirc so only checking it out would make it sure.
Also have you put CardReset and CardPatch early in your Startup-Sequence?
mfilos is offline  
Old 17 March 2012, 03:02   #6
melbourneben!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: adelaide
Posts: 44
Mfilos: Thanks for testing mate. Can you confirm your using a netgear ma401 wifi card?

I'll be getting new 3.1 kickstart roms in the post early next week so it will be interesting to see if that makes a difference.
melbourneben! is offline  
Old 17 March 2012, 09:33   #7
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 38
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Yes mate. I'm using a NetGear MA401 WiFi card upgraded with Firmware/Station.
mfilos is offline  
Old 18 March 2012, 08:25   #8
melbourneben!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: adelaide
Posts: 44
thanks mfilos, If I have no luck with kickstart 3.1 I might try upgrading the firmware, I saw a link on how to do this on your blog. BTW, your blog makes interesting reading
melbourneben! is offline  
Old 18 March 2012, 14:17   #9
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 38
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Hehe cheers mate. If you need anything just gimme a PM shout
mfilos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wifi Card driver Djay support.Hardware 9 12 March 2011 04:37
Problems with AIRLANCER MC-11 wifi pcmcia card on amiga 1200 piemmeweb support.Hardware 1 04 June 2010 02:34
EasyNet or AmiTCP for A600 WiFi? Photon support.Hardware 4 19 October 2009 20:44
WTB: Any Prism2 wireless card and 32mb simm ram Smiley MarketPlace 2 31 May 2006 13:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13346 seconds with 11 queries