English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 January 2013, 11:18   #81
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
I thought that WAS a download link
When you gonna release it?
Bamiga2002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 January 2013, 13:24   #82
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
I thought that WAS a download link
When you gonna release it?
It's on AmiNet of course, been there for ages

If you liked the last video I did, you're going to love this one -> [ Show youtube player ]


NovaCoder is offline  
Old 14 January 2013, 14:40   #83
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Thanks for the heads-up about Back To Saturn Good new levels that
TCD is offline  
Old 14 January 2013, 15:08   #84
spajdr
Old fart
spajdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ostrava/Czech Republic
Age: 39
Posts: 310
Send a message via ICQ to spajdr
How about porting Ultima Underworld I,II to 68K?
spajdr is offline  
Old 14 January 2013, 17:59   #85
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by spajdr View Post
How about porting Ultima Underworld I,II to 68K?
Or port DosBox, might be easier

Last edited by NovaCoder; 14 January 2013 at 23:14.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 14 January 2013, 20:13   #86
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
i know this sounds like a silly question(very really)but anyway,do you think halflife could be ported to the amiga?

isent it an adaptation/iteration of the quake engine?
roy bates is offline  
Old 14 January 2013, 20:21   #87
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Valve settled on a concept for a horror-themed 3D action game using the Quake engine licensed from id Software. Valve eventually modified the engine a great deal, notably adding skeletal animation and Direct3D support a developer stated in a PC Accelerator magazine preview that seventy percent of the engine code was rewritten.
GoldSrc (the Half-Life engine) isn't open source like Quake 1 and 2 are now IIRC.
TCD is offline  
Old 14 January 2013, 20:23   #88
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
GoldSrc (the Half-Life engine) isn't open source like Quake 1 and 2 are now IIRC.

ahh,ok thanks.
roy bates is offline  
Old 14 January 2013, 23:39   #89
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
ahh,ok thanks.
Bummer hugh?

Next to DOOM, Half-Life is my favorite FPS series.
XDelusion is offline  
Old 17 January 2013, 13:12   #90
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Dropping by to leave some Kudos, just tested Boom AGA on my A1200 060/66 was shocked to see how smooth it was running back to Saturn TC. I was expecting it to stutter along.

Nice work
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 17 January 2013, 13:52   #91
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,433
Thanks Steve, glad you like my work

Let's see how an overclocked 060 goes with Quake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 17 January 2013, 20:05   #92
meckert
Registered User

meckert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Posts: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Thanks Steve, glad you like my work

Let's see how an overclocked 060 goes with Quake 2 AGA

hmm.. on my 060@75 Hmz with Voodoo III Q2 is barely playable. Maybe 10-12 fps average, with lags when there is a lot of objects on screen. I don't know what is the poing of AGA version.

I'd like a decent Duke 3d port though.
meckert is offline  
Old 18 January 2013, 00:05   #93
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by meckert View Post
hmm.. on my 060@75 Hmz with Voodoo III Q2 is barely playable. Maybe 10-12 fps average, with lags when there is a lot of objects on screen. I don't know what is the poing of AGA version.
If I can't get it running at a playable speed on my own A1200 then I won't release it, same deal as all of my ports.

Quote:
Originally Posted by meckert View Post
I'd like a decent Duke 3d port though.
So would I, but I don't have the time for any more Amiga coding.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 20 March 2013, 23:02   #94
Reynolds
Alien Breeder
Reynolds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szigetszentmiklos / Hungary
Age: 40
Posts: 539
Send a message via Skype™ to Reynolds
I tried Quake2Doom with ADoom v1.3 and 1.4 but both versions freezes in the first level of the 2nd chapter. can it be fixed somehow? (It means the 4th or 5th level) It's so bad, as I really like this TC, I think it is the best so far... dunno if Boom can handle it, so will give a try, but can be some special thing in any TC which can not be handled by an Amiga port?
Reynolds is offline  
Old 21 March 2013, 01:42   #95
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,433
BOOM AGA supports the most total conversions, give it a go

Check out [ Show youtube player ]


Last edited by NovaCoder; 21 March 2013 at 03:03.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 March 2014, 20:05   #96
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 580
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
BOOM AGA supports the most total conversions, give it a go

Check out [ Show youtube player ]

For gods sake, why your ports are missing RTG support ? If the original ADOOOM had the code there, and all conversion had RTG support before AGA C2P, why, why, why, you are not supporting it? It's just such a pain when you have a GFX card on a SVGA monitor.
Michael is offline  
Old 04 March 2014, 02:56   #97
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael View Post
For gods sake, why your ports are missing RTG support ? If the original ADOOOM had the code there, and all conversion had RTG support before AGA C2P, why, why, why, you are not supporting it? It's just such a pain when you have a GFX card on a SVGA monitor.
Because I'm underpaid and overworked

The BOOM source code is available on AmiNet, should only take you 5 mins to add RTG support if you really want it

My new [ Show youtube player ] will use both RTG and AHI and my old [ Show youtube player ] already supports RTG with Paula.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 04 March 2014, 04:04   #98
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 580
That's much, much better news!

Why so many different versions of the DOOM engine ?!

Anybody willing to update Duke3D ? A proper PPC version and W3D support version for 68K/PPC will be very nice for the classic.
Michael is offline  
Old 04 March 2014, 04:21   #99
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael View Post
That's much, much better news!

Why so many different versions of the DOOM engine ?!
BOOM was my first DOOM port, and it turned out very well

ZDOOM was an attempt at porting a more modern DOOM port to 68k, it didn't really turn out too good because of stupid Endian and compiler issues.

Odamex compiled a lot cleaner than ZDOOM and it should be the most advanced 68k port (if I can ever finish it).


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael View Post
Anybody willing to update Duke3D ? A proper PPC version and W3D support version for 68K/PPC will be very nice for the classic.
I've got an updated version of [ Show youtube player ] on my HD, just don't have the time to finish it
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 04 March 2014, 04:47   #100
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,123
a little off topic, but could we expect from you by exemple : megadrive or snes or pcengine emulators. Some have source code available. Or why not finally a good atari st ste emulator for the amiga ???
turrican3 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DosBox v0.74 AGA 68k Port NovaCoder Amiga scene 2 02 June 2013 13:06
BOOM - New AGA DOOM Port NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 55 16 June 2012 13:13
Possible to port Alien Breed 3D maps to Doom? (I know AB3D has features Doom can't) dex Coders. General 2 21 January 2012 22:06
ScummVM (v1.0.0) 68K Port NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 7 04 September 2010 12:58
Is there a 68k Quake 2 port for the Amiga? Ironclaw request.Other 7 22 September 2006 20:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25288 seconds with 11 queries