English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 February 2012, 23:36   #1
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,179
Caps Lock issues under Wine

Hi,

Is anyone else seeing problems with Caps Lock when running WinUAE under Wine?

Boot with no startup-sequence, then keep pressing letter keys, occasionally pressing Caps Lock. The results I get are pretty messed-up running under Wine, with the case of the letters not reflecting the caps lock state.

Testing in a Windows XP VM things were mostly okay, though I did get some results like this when pressing Caps Lock once (while holding down Y obviously): yyyyyyyyyYYyYYYYYYYYYYY
Does that happen on a real Amiga?
mark_k is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 01:13   #2
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
Hi,

Is anyone else seeing problems with Caps Lock when running WinUAE under Wine?

Boot with no startup-sequence, then keep pressing letter keys, occasionally pressing Caps Lock. The results I get are pretty messed-up running under Wine, with the case of the letters not reflecting the caps lock state.

Testing in a Windows XP VM things were mostly okay, though I did get some results like this when pressing Caps Lock once (while holding down Y obviously): yyyyyyyyyYYyYYYYYYYYYYY
Does that happen on a real Amiga?
Well, I can confirm there a known issue that the Caps Lock indicator on the keyboard doesn't reflect the Caps Lock state as perceived by the emulator. This happens on various flavours of Windows and isn't a WINE-related issue.
Minuous is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 16:07   #3
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,179
I don't think that's the issue I'm seeing. When I run WinUAE under Wine, typing various keys while pressing Caps Lock sometimes can result in a string like this:

[caps lock on] hGFhGFhGFhGFhGFhGF [caps lock off] hgfhgfhgfhgf [caps lock on] hGFhGFhgFhGFhGF

Something's going wrong somewhere, but I don't know whether it's with Wine or the window manager, or something else. I'm testing with Lubuntu 11.10 here which uses the Openbox window manager. So I'd like to know whether anyone else is seeing the same issue, and if so which Linux distribution and window manager they are using.
mark_k is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 22:04   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,558
Does Wine support raw input? WinUAE by default uses raw input for everything now unless it is not supported = fallback to old DirectInput.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 February 2012, 00:11   #5
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
I remember having quirks with caps under wine. But I got the feeling that the behaviour was not random. (Turning caps lock off exclusively via left shift or something.)

The problems with the control mask are a more pressing issue for wine users. Once you press F12, you can only restart the machine. But this is OT of course.
gilgamesh is offline  
Old 24 February 2012, 09:15   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,558
I forgot, obviously raw input is not supported because F12 getting stuck can't happen in rawinput code path.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 February 2012, 14:25   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,558
There appears to be separate wine rawinput patch (search "wine rawinput")

Changelog includes:

"Also I need to note the lack of applications that make extensive use of the raw input API. There are just a few games and they are convenient with just the mouse movement data"

I think winuae would be good test case. It uses all rawinput features, mouse, keyboard and USB HID devices. (including multiple mice and keyboards at the same time)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 29 September 2012, 12:32   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,558
It seems wine 1.5.13 includes official rawinput support. In theory it should fix all wine winuae keyboard problems.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 30 September 2012, 11:26   #9
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,179
In theory maybe, in practice no.

Testing with Wine 1.5.14 there's no change; the caps lock and reappearing settings window problems are still there. It looks like Wine's rawinput support isn't too great yet.

Part of the output on running winuae.exe -log (the 2nd line is printed by Wine):
Code:
RawInput enumeration..
fixme:win:GetRawInputDeviceList (pRawInputDeviceList=(nil), puiNumDevices=0x3f0f88c, cbSize=8) stub!
RAWINPUT: found 0 devices
mark_k is offline  
Old 30 September 2012, 11:58   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,558
Right, so Wine finally supports listening for rawinput events but it does not allow to enumerate rawinput devices. WinUAE needs it to detect from which device events come from, no devices detected -> fallback to DirectInput which has different issues in Wine..

I guess games that use rawinput don't need to care about it.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 30 October 2012, 12:30   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,558
GetRawInputDeviceList is now marked as implemented in 1.5.16.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 30 October 2012, 19:04   #12
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,179
I tested WinUAE 2.4.1 with Wine 1.5.16. Because WinUAE now defaults to using raw input, the caps lock issue is "fixed". Even better, the old reappearing settings window problem doesn't show up either! So WinUAE is now much more usable under Wine.

(I wrote fixed in quotes, because both bugs are still present in Wine; they show up if you run WinUAE with -norawinput option.)
mark_k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Specification for A1200 Caps Lock LED? rikbliz support.Hardware 7 20 January 2013 01:59
A600 caps lock LED majsta support.Hardware 2 14 February 2012 01:04
Slow startup, hangs with Caps-lock lit. e5frog support.Hardware 26 10 January 2011 14:12
Flashing red caps lock light on a500 amigafan1200 support.Hardware 5 30 October 2009 18:28
A4000 and blinking CAPS-LOCK (also dead kb) keropi support.Hardware 3 23 January 2008 11:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07722 seconds with 12 queries