English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 May 2014, 23:53   #61
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by spannernick View Post
How about using it on a VM..?
I dont want to use VM, wanted it in my current triple boot.
FOL is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 May 2014, 13:44   #62
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
I dont want to use VM, wanted it in my current triple boot.
I looked it up on the net and it looks like linux has a problem with that type of board,its the first time I have heard of it,is there a fix for linux mint maybe I can sort it..?

what happens when you try to install it or run from live CD..?
spannernick is offline  
Old 01 June 2014, 01:52   #63
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by spannernick View Post
I looked it up on the net and it looks like linux has a problem with that type of board,its the first time I have heard of it,is there a fix for linux mint maybe I can sort it..?

what happens when you try to install it or run from live CD..?
It definately effects all types of linux, I cant boot ubuntu 13.10 because they forgot to enable option at compile time.

I didnt know either until I tried installing it. There is a kernel fix for it, but I cant remember what it was. You have to compile with a certain kernel option.
It has something to do with the way it checks boot drive, it just doesnt find it if you have an SB600 chipset.

Live CD boots but hangs on scanning for bootable media after kernel is loaded. It then gives up and says it cant find bootable drive.
If you want, I can dig out DVD and try it again to get exact error.

EDIT:
Just checked again and now I remember.
Apparently the ATI SB600 ACHI controller starts after the bios and linux kernel misses it.
So it gives this;

ata1: Softreset failed (device not ready)
It then gives up and tries to continue with this;

/init: line 3: can't open /dev/sda: No medium found
It then repeats this over and over until it fails "/dev/sdb, /dev/sdc, /dev/sdd etc etc".

Workaround is to disable the PMP support for SATA;
CONFIG_SATA_PMP=n

Last edited by FOL; 01 June 2014 at 02:39.
FOL is offline  
Old 05 June 2014, 13:11   #64
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
It definately effects all types of linux, I cant boot ubuntu 13.10 because they forgot to enable option at compile time.

I didnt know either until I tried installing it. There is a kernel fix for it, but I cant remember what it was. You have to compile with a certain kernel option.
It has something to do with the way it checks boot drive, it just doesnt find it if you have an SB600 chipset.

Live CD boots but hangs on scanning for bootable media after kernel is loaded. It then gives up and says it cant find bootable drive.
If you want, I can dig out DVD and try it again to get exact error.

EDIT:
Just checked again and now I remember.
Apparently the ATI SB600 ACHI controller starts after the bios and linux kernel misses it.
So it gives this;[B]

ata1: Softreset failed (device not ready)
It then gives up and tries to continue with this;

/init: line 3: can't open /dev/sda: No medium found
It then repeats this over and over until it fails "/dev/sdb, /dev/sdc, /dev/sdd etc etc".

Workaround is to disable the PMP support for SATA;
CONFIG_SATA_PMP=n
Have you tried the Workaround you spoke of..??

I see it trying to look for the drive but can't find it ,why do they have to change things..

And have you tryed puting it on a usb drive that where mine is (using it right now)..?

I need some help,I would like to make a update repository for it so if anyone can help it would be appreciated..

Last edited by spannernick; 05 June 2014 at 13:22.
spannernick is offline  
Old 05 June 2014, 14:01   #65
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by spannernick View Post
Have you tried the Workaround you spoke of..??

I see it trying to look for the drive but can't find it ,why do they have to change things..

And have you tryed puting it on a usb drive that where mine is (using it right now)..?

I need some help,I would like to make a update repository for it so if anyone can help it would be appreciated..
Im using DVD boot disc.
I haven't got linux setup for compiling the kernel. So I haven't tried workaround, but I know it works as 12.04 ubuntu boots and works fine.
FOL is offline  
Old 05 June 2014, 14:41   #66
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,074
Change name too Commodore OS 32-bit v1.3 (Beta 8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Im using DVD boot disc.
I haven't got linux setup for compiling the kernel. So I haven't tried workaround, but I know it works as 12.04 ubuntu boots and works fine.
Can you do me a favour,can you change the name of the thread from " Anyone interested in a 32bit version of Commodore OS Vision" to "Commodore OS 32-bit v1.3 (beta 8)" please,I have changed it in the first post but it has not changed..thanks..
spannernick is offline  
Old 05 June 2014, 15:30   #67
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by spannernick View Post
Can you do me a favour,can you change the name of the thread from " Anyone interested in a 32bit version of Commodore OS Vision" to "Commodore OS 32-bit v1.3 (beta 8)" please,I have changed it in the first post but it has not changed..thanks..
I cant change it, you need a mod.
FOL is offline  
Old 05 June 2014, 23:43   #68
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by spannernick View Post
Can you do me a favour,can you change the name of the thread from " Anyone interested in a 32bit version of Commodore OS Vision" to "Commodore OS 32-bit v1.3 (beta 8)" please,I have changed it in the first post but it has not changed..thanks..
Done!
prowler is offline  
Old 06 June 2014, 12:52   #69
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Done!
Thanks..
spannernick is offline  
Old 18 July 2014, 21:51   #70
mobetter59
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by spannernick View Post
I need beta testers for the OS so if you like to test it post here to let me know and I pm you the link to it,Let me know what you think of it..cos it 32 bit it will work on a 64bit too..
hello spannernick i would like to beta test your latest os.
siempre298@yahoo.com

mobetter59
 
Old 13 June 2015, 16:30   #71
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,074
For the latest news and to tryout COS32Bit v 1.5 goto.. https://www.facebook.com/groups/commodoreos32bit/
spannernick is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Way to Convert 32-bit Signed Value to 16 Bit? AGS Coders. Asm / Hardware 31 29 December 2013 14:58
32-bit access on 16-bit bus? NorthWay Coders. Asm / Hardware 7 04 September 2013 01:46
Commodore COS 32 Bit zeke1312 support.Other 7 22 February 2013 22:42
REQ: 17-Bit Artwork 2 (1988-04)(17-Bit Software) Sea7 request.Demos 5 13 May 2011 02:07
8 bit to optimized 6 bit palette histogram improvements needed NovaCoder Coders. General 0 14 April 2011 03:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18835 seconds with 12 queries