English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 October 2012, 23:58   #121
Neil79
Senior Member
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
ANOTHER UPDATE

Copied the latest 17.1 Whdload zip file into my home made directory PC in classicWB and ran the installer via classic Wb and it installed and overwrote all the old whdload files without a hitch, not a single error. Then copied over my key and my games work straight away...

Yet AIAB gave me nothing but grief and script errors when running the installer, probably because AIAB is really old. But anyway both setups working fine now
Neil79 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 October 2012, 00:52   #122
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 40
Posts: 449
One of your screenshots tells me your're using installerNG.
I'm not sure, but afaik that one isn't 100% compatible. Replacing it with installer from workbench disk or from aminet should fix it. (i hope)

greetz
tero
tero is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 01:13   #123
Neil79
Senior Member
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
installerNG either came with AIAB or WHDLOAD, when you double clicker on the installer installerNG comes up...

As i said it worked perfectly right off the bat with classicWB.

Thanks for that tip though fella, will remember for next time
Neil79 is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 03:17   #124
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
I got rid of installerNG years ago, it just wouldn't work when installing something way back then...

It was probably whdload
killergorilla is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 03:51   #125
Neil79
Senior Member
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
I got rid of installerNG years ago, it just wouldn't work when installing something way back then...

It was probably whdload
Why did it work in classicwb and not AIAB ?
Neil79 is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 03:59   #126
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
ClassicWB doesn't use InstallerNG. It uses plain old Installer.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 14:15   #127
Neil79
Senior Member
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
Ah good spot!

Would the developers of AIAB need to change the installer?
Neil79 is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 19:37   #128
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil79 View Post
Would the developers of AIAB need to change the installer?
This could be done quite easily. Installer is available from Aminet:
http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/Installer-43_3

@MadAngus: I have uploaded the AIAB-r10d-update archive to The Zone for you. It is meant to be extracted over an existing installation of r10, r10a, r10b or r10c.

It is the one uploaded by Jaybee, but with the correct readme file replacing the original.

For some reason, this archive is proving difficult to convert to zip while preserving all the directory attributes (time and date stamps). It could be done manually, but that would take much longer. Unfortunately, Jaybee uploaded only a rar archive back then, and the original has the same problem...

Last edited by prowler; 09 October 2012 at 21:59. Reason: Typo.
prowler is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 20:37   #129
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Installer 44.1 is available here: http://kg.whdownload.com/kgwhd/files.php
killergorilla is offline  
Old 10 October 2012, 01:47   #130
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
We are resurrecting it, . Hence this thread.

http://aiab.ultimateamiga.co.uk
My mistake... I thought it was merely a rehost than actual development!
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 10 October 2012, 01:52   #131
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Actually, the rehosting will be followed by development.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadAngus View Post
If your'e going to use AIAB please use the 10.6 version as it will be the basis for future development.
prowler is offline  
Old 10 October 2012, 08:06   #132
MadAngus
AMOS Documentation
MadAngus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Scotland
Age: 48
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
This could be done quite easily. Installer is available from Aminet:
http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/Installer-43_3

@MadAngus: I have uploaded the AIAB-r10d-update archive to The Zone for you. It is meant to be extracted over an existing installation of r10, r10a, r10b or r10c.

It is the one uploaded by Jaybee, but with the correct readme file replacing the original.

For some reason, this archive is proving difficult to convert to zip while preserving all the directory attributes (time and date stamps). It could be done manually, but that would take much longer. Unfortunately, Jaybee uploaded only a rar archive back then, and the original has the same problem...
Cheers for the files .

Don't worry about converting to zip, we've got it, that's what counts.

Future version will come in archive formats LHA and Zip.

I'll take note of that installer, thanks killergorilla for the newer version. Inno Setup will be used for Windows.

Redevelopment Confirmed. I'll be doing bleeding edge releases incrementally one component at a time, aiming for a full alpha release around Christmas. That's just a guide to want I'm hoping to achieve.

Please appreciate that I have other projects that people want to see releases for.
MadAngus is offline  
Old 10 October 2012, 15:16   #133
Neil79
Senior Member
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
nice work fella
Neil79 is offline  
Old 10 October 2012, 15:56   #134
MadAngus
AMOS Documentation
MadAngus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Scotland
Age: 48
Posts: 131
Just noticed this icon.library 46.4 test versions. Hopefully can make use of it as WARPpng.datatype is a 30 day trial.

Will investigate further.

Another interesting idea Windowblinds rollup shade etc.

Here's some things I'm looking at updating/getting permission for.
GlobalTrash_15a1 - AmiKit
Amistart 066c - AmiKit
DOpus416JRbin - Aminet
MagicWB21
mui38
Scalos-V1.2d or scalos-amigaos3 41.8-rc1
WHDLoad_17.1

Thinking aloud here, you can think aloud too

Last edited by MadAngus; 10 October 2012 at 16:10.
MadAngus is offline  
Old 10 October 2012, 18:33   #135
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 40
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadAngus View Post
GlobalTrash_15a1 - AmiKit
Amistart 066c - AmiKit
I think it would be a good idea to have these optional, just like AIAB's popup's for iconset etc. when installing workbenchfiles.

for everything else

greetz
tero

btw: thx for doing this
tero is offline  
Old 10 October 2012, 19:01   #136
Neil79
Senior Member
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadAngus View Post
Just noticed this icon.library 46.4 test versions. Hopefully can make use of it as WARPpng.datatype is a 30 day trial.

Will investigate further.

Another interesting idea Windowblinds rollup shade etc.

Here's some things I'm looking at updating/getting permission for.
GlobalTrash_15a1 - AmiKit
Amistart 066c - AmiKit
DOpus416JRbin - Aminet
MagicWB21
mui38
Scalos-V1.2d or scalos-amigaos3 41.8-rc1
WHDLoad_17.1

Thinking aloud here, you can think aloud too
Don't forget to ditch installerNG

Other than that, awesome!!
Neil79 is offline  
Old 10 October 2012, 20:36   #137
MadAngus
AMOS Documentation
MadAngus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Scotland
Age: 48
Posts: 131
@Neil79
Got that, see post #132, I was listening.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tero View Post
I think it would be a good idea to have these optional, just like AIAB's popup's for iconset etc. when installing workbenchfiles.
I agree with the installation system Jaybee used. I would prefer to somehow have the options available on the installation GUI which then sets a switch(s) so the script doesn't ask the questions. That way if it was an archive install the switch(s) would not be set and therefore the option questions would be asked. Best of both worlds. Another idea for the pot.

Lots of user selectable options is definitely the way to go.

Ironically I wasn't expecting this much interest in this. It just started as a passing comment to FOL that I was going to add a few updates to AIAB and then Woosh! I was in at the deep end, which as it happened, I volunteered for.
MadAngus is offline  
Old 10 October 2012, 22:04   #138
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I do like AIAB. I hadn't tried it before
Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 October 2012, 00:08   #139
Neil79
Senior Member
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadAngus View Post
@Neil79
Got that, see post #132, I was listening.
sweeeeeeeeeeeeet
Neil79 is offline  
Old 11 October 2012, 00:21   #140
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadAngus View Post
Don't worry about converting to zip, we've got it, that's what counts.
But you've removed some rar files from the download page, which gives the impression that you consider zip to be the preferred archive format!

In any case, I've almost completed converting the file manually, and may even be able to complete it this evening while I'm online.

Be careful that you don't add too too many new features to AIAB in development, or it will soon become bloated and lose its main advantage.
prowler is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Request for Amiga In A Box (AIAB) r5a prowler request.Apps 6 13 October 2008 23:42
amiga forever and aiab PurEvil New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 10 December 2005 22:20
WANTED: A600 wild weird wicked box - just the box :P Smiley MarketPlace 0 23 May 2005 18:51
Cody's 'Good Box, Bad Box' CodyJarrett Nostalgia & memories 15 02 May 2004 12:36
AIAB V's Amiga 4 Ever CPC464 Retrogaming General Discussion 19 05 March 2002 19:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.33923 seconds with 12 queries