English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 January 2012, 00:24   #1
arpz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 25
This fake demo is not possible on ECS... But AGA?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WRLN-altyM0

What do you guys think?

Last edited by arpz; 26 January 2012 at 00:24. Reason: can't embed youtube
arpz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 26 January 2012, 00:33   #2
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,043
Perfectly possible on OCS.
StingRay is offline  
Old 26 January 2012, 00:37   #3
Schlachtwerk
68k RULEZ
Schlachtwerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 75
I think this is not possible on AGA.
Schlachtwerk is online now  
Old 26 January 2012, 00:40   #4
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,043
This is perfectly possible even on OCS, the effects are very simple, starfield, rasters, scroller and sine scroller. And it looks quite ugly too!
StingRay is offline  
Old 26 January 2012, 00:42   #5
arpz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 25
It looks like too many colours, though?
arpz is offline  
Old 26 January 2012, 00:46   #6
Samurai_Crow
Team Chaos Member

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Loveland, CO USA
Age: 39
Posts: 258
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlachtwerk View Post
I think this is not possible on AGA.
Why not? The smooth parts of the color gradients in the color bars were opaque so you could disable the display DMA while they were being displayed to get fast copper. The backdrop would probably be blitter-based. The moving text in the middle would be sprites and therefore would be unaffected by the display DMA being disabled for the color bars.

I say it's perfectly doable on AGA. It's even possible on OCS if you didn't have the smooth color gradients used on the color bars.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 26 January 2012, 00:55   #7
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 34
Posts: 13,501
I think it's OldSkool Demo Maker for PC.
s2325 is offline  
Old 26 January 2012, 01:38   #8
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,043
Of course it is, the effects say it all.
StingRay is offline  
Old 26 January 2012, 08:19   #9
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 1,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by arpz View Post
It looks like too many colours, though?
That's probably the crappy encoding quality causing the gradients to become smooth.

You could try cracked Shadow of the Beasts 2 adfs in WinUae and see if any of them have this intro.
Thorham is online now  
Old 26 January 2012, 08:26   #10
pmc
rebooting...
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,593
I second StingRay - definitely do-able on OCS.

Personally though, I'd get rid of, or at least modify, the 3d star effect. The stars that become large circles firing quickly past the front of the screen make things look messy in my opinion.
pmc is offline  
Old 26 January 2012, 08:35   #11
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
You could try cracked Shadow of the Beasts 2 adfs in WinUae and see if any of them have this intro.

That's a PC "demo" made with Oldschool Demomaker.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmc
The stars that become large circles firing quickly past the front of the screen make things look messy in my opinion.
The whole thing looks messy IMHO.
StingRay is offline  
Old 26 January 2012, 08:46   #12
pmc
rebooting...
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay
The whole thing looks messy IMHO.
You meanie
pmc is offline  
Old 26 January 2012, 11:34   #13
arpz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
That's probably the crappy encoding quality causing the gradients to become smooth.

You could try cracked Shadow of the Beasts 2 adfs in WinUae and see if any of them have this intro.
nah, the guy actually stated that its fake elsewhere.

as for the everyone else, yes, I don't really like the stars, I'm not massively impressed or anything but the smoothness of the bars had me wondering if it could be achievable.
arpz is offline  
Old 26 January 2012, 11:54   #14
khph_re
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northampton/UK
Posts: 219
The copper bars are multi coloured, but the copper can change (I think) up to 16 palette entries per line. Everything else on there looks pretty standard for OCS.
khph_re is offline  
Old 26 January 2012, 19:18   #15
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 834
Quote:
Originally Posted by khph_re View Post
The copper bars are multi coloured, but the copper can change (I think) up to 16 palette entries per line. Everything else on there looks pretty standard for OCS.
Nobody has yet suggested that HAM might be being used here... if you put a single pixel of say colour 1 on the left and put component-change codes along the rest of the line to make a gradient, you'd only have to change one palette entry and the whole line would change.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 26 January 2012, 19:47   #16
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 1,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by khph_re View Post
but the copper can change (I think) up to 16 palette entries per line.
OCS/ECS can change a color (or other chipset register) per eight lowres pixels, as long as the screen is 16 color lowres (don't know how many colors for highres, but less than 16). This means you can get reasonably close to the copper bar effect in this intro.
Thorham is online now  
Old 26 January 2012, 20:38   #17
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 38
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
maybe this is good idea for a little project, make an "Amiga" version of this cracktro

could be a joint effort or a compo for the leet coders?
Djay is offline  
Old 26 January 2012, 20:42   #18
Leffmann
Leffmann with two n's

Leffmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,466
Gradients would have to be much more coarse, and you'd never get the same frame rate if you were to do all the drawing going on in the video, with the stars in the background zooming up to large filled circles.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 26 January 2012, 22:50   #19
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 834
Not necessarily true Leffmann it's only one bitplane, it's only half-height and you could draw all the outlines first and fill the whole thing on one go. Although where two circles overlapped they'd cancel out, not sure if there's an easy way round that.

The gradients could easily be dithered with a clever use of bitplanes.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 26 January 2012, 23:22   #20
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 1,286
I think it's pretty cool. Plus you could cheat (and be lame) and pre-render the star bit (say 20 frames of half-screens), thus leaving everything else to be done in realtime


Regards,
Lonewolf10
Lonewolf10 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fpga for ecs -> aga turrican3 support.Hardware 17 14 August 2013 00:09
give your best 10 ecs and aga demos turrican3 support.Demos 5 07 November 2010 06:11
AGA/ECS centering Zandig support.WinUAE 8 02 May 2010 21:31
OCS/ECS , AGA Diffrencies Kyon New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 10 June 2009 11:43
Heimdall 2 AGA vs ECS PiCiJi support.Games 0 28 September 2005 19:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21196 seconds with 11 queries