English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 April 2012, 23:16   #341
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
'Objects in platforms' bug - FIXED!
That's great news


Regards,
Lonewolf10
Lonewolf10 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 April 2012, 00:15   #342
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
Thanks for the suggestions on that - it was pretty easy after that, I was just trying to complicate things too much for some reason
Graham Humphrey is online now  
Old 06 April 2012, 04:12   #343
DJCruicky
Gone, but not forgotten
DJCruicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Tyneside, England
Posts: 80
That is great .

I'll throw some ideas at you and see what will stick :-

Did you get the music bug sorted. If not, maybe instead of having Blitz2 play the music, instead use 'noiseplayer' in the background. I got the idea from watching one of s2325's early videos of your game. Maybe make a script that starts the music, installs the font, then runs the game. (don't ask me how )

[ Show youtube player ]

Happy you liked the border chain idea.
I made a 3x8 size chain shape, maybe you would like to try that instead? (attached below). Use commands Blit 100,1,paste: Blit 100,317,paste

Maybe have the fruit float up at a different speed to the platforms. Change in red.
If \active=-1
If \collect=-1 OR \y<(scrolly-15) Then \active=0,0,0,0,0,0,0
\y+.2 ; float speed
EndIf
Don't forget to change variable type from .w to a .q at the start of your program.
That would have also had fixed your objects in platforms' bug - but you said you fixed that, you sod .

Like I said just throwing some ideas out, don't have to use them.

Happy Easter to all.

DJC
Attached Files
File Type: zip Chain.zip (250 Bytes, 40 views)
DJCruicky is offline  
Old 06 April 2012, 09:47   #344
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJCruicky View Post
Did you get the music bug sorted. If not, maybe instead of having Blitz2 play the music, instead use 'noiseplayer' in the background. I got the idea from watching one of s2325's early videos of your game. Maybe make a script that starts the music, installs the font, then runs the game. (don't ask me how )
This can work, but it is a bit lame and also it cannot be used if the game music shall change during the game (for example in hiscore table). I hope Graham will find a way how to fix it.
Predseda is offline  
Old 06 April 2012, 11:26   #345
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
Thanks for the ideas! I might use the chain so thanks. I'll put it in and see how it looks

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJCruicky View Post
Did you get the music bug sorted. If not, maybe instead of having Blitz2 play the music, instead use 'noiseplayer' in the background. I got the idea from watching one of s2325's early videos of your game. Maybe make a script that starts the music, installs the font, then runs the game. (don't ask me how )
Happily I appear to be well on the way to fixing this. I've put some code in to check what Kickstart the game is running on and if it's older than 2.0, it'll use Blitz's standard music commands (LoadModule/PlayModule) instead. This does work but I've failed to take into account the commands are rubbish so it's a bit of a pig to get the music on/off key working absolutely correctly but at least the game loads and plays as it should which is a big relief.

Quote:
Maybe have the fruit float up at a different speed to the platforms. Change in red.
If \active=-1
If \collect=-1 OR \y<(scrolly-15) Then \active=0,0,0,0,0,0,0
\y+.2 ; float speed
EndIf
Don't forget to change variable type from .w to a .q at the start of your program.
Thanks. I quite like how it is now though so I don't think I'll change it although I might try it to see what it's like. PS: surely it should be \y-.2 if it's moving upwards

Quote:
That would have also had fixed your objects in platforms' bug - but you said you fixed that, you sod .
Sorry

Cheers for the ideas though, you've been a great help to me during the development of this game, I'm sure I'd still be struggling with some of the bugs otherwise
Graham Humphrey is online now  
Old 06 April 2012, 12:24   #346
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
Okay, further to my comments about using the standard Blitz music commands (LoadModule/PlayModule/StopModule), I've found out why it's not been working quite as it should.

It seems like the StopModule command doesn't work properly. I did a little test where I tried to stop it when the actual game started but it had no effect, and this is why the music goes a bit nuts when you press M to turn it off because it attempts to play it again without actually stopping it.

Unless there's a way round this, I'm probably going to have to leave the music on permanently on pre-Kickstart 2 setups, or not bother with it at all...
Graham Humphrey is online now  
Old 06 April 2012, 12:55   #347
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,515
Still better than have the game silent
Predseda is offline  
Old 06 April 2012, 15:06   #348
DJCruicky
Gone, but not forgotten
DJCruicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Tyneside, England
Posts: 80
What I write is not always what I mean. You should know me better by now .
I do mean floating down, even-though they still start at the bottom of the screen, huh .
Thanks for the thanks
DJCruicky is offline  
Old 06 April 2012, 21:21   #349
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
Thanks for the suggestions on that - it was pretty easy after that, I was just trying to complicate things too much for some reason

Glad I could help

Regards,
Lonewolf10
Lonewolf10 is offline  
Old 07 April 2012, 18:26   #350
Reynolds
Alien Breeder
Reynolds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szigetszentmiklos / Hungary
Age: 40
Posts: 540
Send a message via Skype™ to Reynolds
I've tried the WIP11. Due to an unknown reason it didn't have music at all. The config was EscomA1200, KS3.1, BLizzPPC w/040@25 and 603e@240MHz, 64 MB Fastram. not tried with disabled card...
Reynolds is offline  
Old 07 April 2012, 19:08   #351
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,515
And it worked? And what about sound-effect? Everything works fine with Blizzard 1230-IV.
Predseda is offline  
Old 12 April 2012, 13:59   #352
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,515
We are proud to announce that

WE ARE FINALLY THERE!



DownFall is finally finished and you can download it from its official website.
Predseda is offline  
Old 13 April 2012, 03:01   #353
DJCruicky
Gone, but not forgotten
DJCruicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Tyneside, England
Posts: 80
Well done guys. Nice to see it finished. . Thank you for your hard work. Good game.

DJ
DJCruicky is offline  
Old 13 April 2012, 09:31   #354
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Nice game, just tried it. Strangely addictive....
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 13 April 2012, 16:36   #355
keitha1200
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tayside
Posts: 181
Well done It's looking very sweet
keitha1200 is offline  
Old 20 April 2012, 10:17   #356
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
I've started the AGA version now and will be uploading a WIP at some point in the near future

We've now got a parallax-scrolling background (which has its own palette of 16 colours in addition to the actual game's graphics) and this, I hope, will also be changing colours every few levels to liven it up a bit. We've also got a new score panel which uses 16 colours rather than eight.

Also, the title and high score screens have been enhanced with a 256-colour palette so they look a lot nicer. The credits and Remainder Software logo will follow the same route.

I'm also planning to have a separate in-game tune too. There wasn't enough memory to do this on the normal version as it wouldn't all fit into 1MB but it should hopefully work here. Hopefully Reynolds will do the same sterling job as he did with the title music

The big change, though, is I'm going to add support for CD32 pads (so pausing, quitting etc can all be done via joypad) - which also means you can use a pad or stick to enter your name on the high score table as well as the keyboard. I might need a bit of help getting this feature to work correctly as I'm not really sure how to go about it at the minute.

Hopefully, when done, this will mean that if you have a stock CD32, you can load and play the game normally just like you can on a regular Amiga.

In the meantime, here are a couple of hasty WIP photos, taken with my phone from my old TV which is connected to my A1200...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DownfallAGA1.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	430.7 KB
ID:	31323   Click image for larger version

Name:	DownfallAGA2.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	506.0 KB
ID:	31324  
Graham Humphrey is online now  
Old 20 April 2012, 10:46   #357
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,515
I would keep the ingame music as is and add a new intro tune instead. I like playing with that current music.
Predseda is offline  
Old 20 April 2012, 10:48   #358
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
How about audio-cd option?
s2325 is offline  
Old 20 April 2012, 11:20   #359
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,515
Or MP3, for MAS-Player owners (like me)
Predseda is offline  
Old 20 April 2012, 11:30   #360
whitegiant89
Lone CBM user

whitegiant89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atherton / Australia
Age: 46
Posts: 136
Send a message via MSN to whitegiant89 Send a message via Skype™ to whitegiant89
i hope this will work on an unexpaned a1200, i'v never been able to afford a ram expansion
whitegiant89 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga's Downfall? lordofchaos Retrogaming General Discussion 44 19 May 2013 03:13
EAB/Lemon Super League 2013: Round 4 - Downfall Graham Humphrey EAB's competition 82 15 April 2013 23:27
Downfall - new game released Graham Humphrey News 30 24 April 2012 14:04
Uridium 2 : Diary of a Game silkworm Amiga scene 15 09 August 2011 10:00
Part Diary of an ASM Learner BippyM Coders. Tutorials 157 03 September 2010 22:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.34284 seconds with 12 queries