English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

Thread Tools
Old 22 January 2012, 00:20   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chico / USA
Posts: 18
Question How do I get Workbench running in WinUAE?

Hi, I would like to set up and use Workbench in WinUAE but I have no idea how to do that. I think I already have everything I need - many versions of Kickstart (including eight revisions of version 3.1) and six versions of Workbench (versions 1.3 through 3.1) - but I don't know where to start in terms of setting up Workbench. I would like to set up and use Workbench version 3.1.

The different versions of Workbench are in the form of six folders with names such as "WB1_3" through "WB3_1" and they each contain many files, including ADFs but also others whose filenames I do not recognize (like *DMS or *WD3,) along with several *LHA archived folders. I don't even know where to begin, do I run certain *ADF images from within WinUAE or what?

I am guessing you start by opening WinUAE and changing the hardware settings to match those of an Amiga computer designed to run Workbench 3.1, like an A1200. Like I know I currently have the main ROM file set to be "KS ROM v1.3" (for the A500, 1000 and 2000 computers,) should I set it to be "KS ROM v3.1" or something?

Aside from that, I really dunno what else to do, let alone what *ADF files to run in order to set up Workbench 3.1. Can you please help me out?
DashProject is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 January 2012, 00:56   #2
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
hi have a look at my guide

johnim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.4.1 not running Lord Riton support.WinUAE 0 06 August 2012 20:15
Running WinUAE alphagemini support.WinUAE 3 23 January 2012 13:59
Running SWOS on WinUAE highwinder support.Games 8 29 October 2009 16:00
Running T-ZerO on WinUAE Kitty support.WinUAE 55 05 October 2009 22:25
Running WinUAE from A CD RokChild support.WinUAE 8 24 May 2007 23:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:13.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14801 seconds with 11 queries