English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 January 2012, 01:20   #1
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,594
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
MAME for PPC

Hi: I was going to try it, but I've got a message "Requires ppc.library version 46".

I've installed some ppc.library versions 46.15 and 46.19 and it keeps asking the same.

Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 January 2012, 01:29   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Which OS are you using?

I think the Mame for PPC is only for OS4.1, I know it works on Classic but it's too slow to be of much use, only very old Games like Pac Man/Space Invaders are playable.

In fact Mame 060 which works on OS3.9 is almost as fast

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 16 January 2012, 01:43   #3
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,594
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Thanks. It's in OS3.9. Do you think? There's another version for OS4 which I was trying (without a nice result).

I've just installed the 060 version and it works... although the delfina plays the same (not worse) horrible sound than the Paula.

EDIT: No, it's better. Going to make a video
EDIT: Shit shit shit. Oh it's horrible... that I haven't got my camera here. I've had to make an horrible video with the lowest resolution, and my mobile loves to low the volume making it a shit always...

Last edited by Retrofan; 16 January 2012 at 03:02.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 16 January 2012, 02:09   #4
clauddio
Banned
clauddio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saturn
Age: 45
Posts: 279
mame is really slow for a 060 or for any PPC 603e or 604e
don't waste your time
clauddio is offline  
Old 16 January 2012, 02:25   #5
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,594
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Here you are:
[ Show youtube player ]

Sorry I coudn't play right while recording. It doesn't go full speed (but not as slow as it seems), but surely I can configure it to run faster, and surely I can change the resolution too. The video was mostly to show the sound with Delfina. I'm using BVision too.

Last edited by Retrofan; 16 January 2012 at 03:04.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 16 January 2012, 04:12   #6
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Which OS are you using?

I think the Mame for PPC is only for OS4.1, I know it works on Classic but it's too slow to be of much use, only very old Games like Pac Man/Space Invaders are playable.

In fact Mame 060 which works on OS3.9 is almost as fast

Steve.
I remember playing nice games at high speed on my 604e-233 using some warpup version of mame.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 16 January 2012, 04:27   #7
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,594
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Are you saying this? http://caesar.logiqx.com/php/emulator.php?id=warpmame

What do I need to run it?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 17 January 2012, 02:43   #8
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Yes I think this was the one I used. I used it with 060-50 , 603e-233 , 128MB 60ns RAM , CVisionPPC

I found a directory full of Warpxxx related to WarpMame. (like WarpNess, WarpNeoMame)

I think I downloaded them from the same webpage back in the day.

Last edited by ancalimon; 17 January 2012 at 03:01.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 17 January 2012, 15:51   #9
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
WarpMame isnt too bad. I used to play neogeo games, street fighter2, strider, and other games of that ilk on my old bppc system (175mhz 603e + 25mhz '040).
Classic amigas running os4 + os4 version is quite slow, but that's due to mame itself getting slower and slower with time. The old versions of mame which warpmame is based on are much, much faster.
fishyfish is offline  
Old 17 January 2012, 16:00   #10
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Cool, so there is a version for OS3.9

I'll have to try it :-)
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 17 January 2012, 17:10   #11
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,594
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Ok, try it ... and explain it to me later, as it seems it doesn't have a GUI and you have to run the games from the shell it opens if I'm not wrong.

I found this on the Web about it:
" A few quick last minute notes about this prerelease. Sorry for this
crap documentation, but I am flying to Europe in one hour and wanted
to rush this prerelease out for people to play!

- You must ensure that you use a stack of at least 1 Meg. Future
versions will automaticall increase the size of the stack

- There is no GUI yet, so you must start it with "WarpMAME gamename"

- Keyboard mappings are slightly different on the Amiga - Del turns
the FPS counter on/off and Help does a snapshot

- You can make screenshots in different directories using the
-screenshotdir command line option, and can hide resolutions which
are too small to play the chosen game in the RTGMaster requester,
by using the -hidesmall command line option

- The -soundcard option works slightly differently on the Amiga. Even
though there is no Sound code available yet, the Sound hardware is
still emulated internally, as many games rely on it. If you specify
the option "-soundcard 0" then this will disable the internal
Sound hardware emulation, usually giving you a nice speedup.
However, some games may not work properly with this option, so use at
your own risk!
"

It wasn't working for me... I mean with warpmame Galaga or others, and I put the roms in the same directory. Perhaps must be in another. Don't know.

Last edited by Retrofan; 01 February 2012 at 03:24.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 18 January 2012, 13:42   #12
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 689
As I'm not home to test it, I think Amidog's version uses warpos and was the best I had tried

http://www.amidog.com/

and played almost everything it supported (it's an old version - 0.37b2, but most classics are there, even Street Fighter 2!) at nearly full-speed or faster on my 603@175mhz - I'd have to check how they perform now after I upgraded it to 330mhz I suppose!

Edit:
I also *think* that's the most consistent GUI I had found and used:
http://aminet.net/misc/emu/mamegui.lha
vulture is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 01:11   #13
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Retrofan I'm a club member of Blizzard PPC Bvision now

If you succeed to setup a screen to have mame runing fullscreen tell me
I ran the warpup version under 3.1
gibs is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 01:17   #14
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Cool - I shall give this a try on my PPC Amiga's

Thanks for sharing the links vulture
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 01:34   #15
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,594
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I'll try. I've spent some days very worried 'cause after I changed some cables and taked out the cooler to change the fan of the BPPC (as I found that the 10mm height fan I'd put was perhaps too much for the keyboard to close -original is 6,5mm-, so I've put an 8mm one) it wasn't booting, but today I've discovered that as I have the Delfina sticked to the kickstarts and it had moved a little, when I lifted it and put it right I had twisted a leg of one of the kickstarts, leaving it disconnected, so now it has to work again (I'll try tomorrow).

Anyway, what (off topic) I would like to try first is the web browser Voyager V3 with Os3.9 and NetSurf with OS4.1, as I liked it in Amikit.

So have you become a member? The next step is to buy both...

Last edited by Retrofan; 31 January 2012 at 09:01.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 02:17   #16
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
off topic : this is the end of the ibrowse era for us
gibs is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 04:21   #17
clauddio
Banned
clauddio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saturn
Age: 45
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by vulture View Post
As I'm not home to test it, I think Amidog's version uses warpos and was the best I had tried

http://www.amidog.com/

and played almost everything it supported (it's an old version - 0.37b2, but most classics are there, even Street Fighter 2!) at nearly full-speed or faster on my 603@175mhz - I'd have to check how they perform now after I upgraded it to 330mhz I suppose!

Edit:
I also *think* that's the most consistent GUI I had found and used:
http://aminet.net/misc/emu/mamegui.lha
are you sure that street fighter 2 runs on mame ppc on a 175mhz at full speed without frameskip?

can you make a youtube video ? which show ssf2 and ghost'n goblins or rastan or any other game of the era
clauddio is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 13:51   #18
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 689
@clauddio

No, what I said is that it plays *almost* everything it supports at *nearly* full speed or faster and that all classics -including SF2- are supported by that version. That's 2 different things, but I guess my wording could be clearer.
SF2 and other CPS games are not in that category as they're the heaviest of the banch. However, with a frameskip of 1 or 2 (iirc) and sound disabled, it was enjoyably playable. I'll have to check it again today and bb to you on that.
vulture is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 16:15   #19
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Just leave MAME emulation for your ghz-crazy PC . The emulators are much more developed and most games run at fullspeed. Same goes for Winkawaks. I abandoned these heavy classic Amiga emus long time ago (now only emulating C-64 with MagiC64).
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 16:21   #20
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Just leave MAME emulation for your ghz-crazy PC . The emulators are much more developed and most games run at fullspeed. Same goes for Winkawaks. I abandoned these heavy classic Amiga emus long time ago (now only emulating C-64 with MagiC64).
Have you tried Frodo on your ppc? A much more compatable emu then Magic64 especially with protected .d64 games. It ran full speed even on my lowly bppc175.
Mad-Matt is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Blizzard PPC 060@66MHz/PPC@330MHz with SCSI + 128MB RAM stachu100 MarketPlace 3 23 November 2011 11:42
FS: Blizzard PPC 060@66MHz/PPC@330MHz + 128MB RAM (no SCSI) stachu100 MarketPlace 0 07 April 2011 07:45
FS: Blizzard PPC 060@66MHz/PPC@330MHz with SCSI + 128MB RAM stachu100 MarketPlace 1 15 March 2011 23:46
Sale: Phase 5 Blizzard PPC 603e+ 68040/25 PPC 240 Mhz wizard66 MarketPlace 6 09 February 2007 17:34
SALE: Amiga Blizzard PPC card PPC@160 , 68040 @25 MHz morka MarketPlace 3 12 October 2006 00:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29311 seconds with 11 queries