English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 January 2012, 19:12   #1
moxavius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: St. Louis/US
Posts: 46
Apollo Upgrade Question

Hello,

I have an Apollo 1240 card I want to upgrade to an 060. My card has a socketed Mach130 chip. I found on ebay these for sale:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=380327751213

Can I simply replace this chip to make my card upgradeable to the 68060?

Thank you for any advice.
moxavius is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 January 2012, 19:16   #2
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 46
Posts: 2,611
I don't think it is possible to upgrade a board that contains the mach 130.
Peter is online now  
Old 05 January 2012, 19:29   #3
moxavius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: St. Louis/US
Posts: 46
Hmm.. not the answer I wanted, but thanks.
moxavius is offline  
Old 05 January 2012, 19:37   #4
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 672
the link is for a new not programmed mach131, if you find the soft for his, then can update your board
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 05 January 2012, 19:47   #5
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 46
Posts: 2,611
PM stachu100 - he will give you a definite answer and possibly all the information you need.

He upgraded both my Apollo Boards and did a fantastic job on both.
Peter is online now  
Old 05 January 2012, 21:12   #6
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 45
Posts: 2,633
nope your card cant be converted to a 1260 theres no mach 131 on board, and nope that mach 131 thats on ebay is a blank and no-one has the code for it apart from jens sconfeld.
roy bates is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 00:32   #7
moxavius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: St. Louis/US
Posts: 46
Please excuse me if this is a stupid question, but why is it impossible if someone (Jens Sconfeld) has the code?
moxavius is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 00:50   #8
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 45
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxavius View Post
Please excuse me if this is a stupid question, but why is it impossible if someone (Jens Sconfeld) has the code?



because jens has the copyright to the card, and the contents of the mach chip's codes.and would probably be not willing to share them with anyone which is understandable.(you cant read them anyway they are read protected even if you had the hardware to do so)

and no its not a stupid question at all.(some peaple even wish they could buy the mach chips pre-programmed from jens)
roy bates is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 01:04   #9
moxavius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: St. Louis/US
Posts: 46
I have a lot of catching up to do. Been out of the loop a number of years... One more dumb question if I may.

Jens owns the copyright but won't sell copies?
moxavius is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 02:03   #10
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 45
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxavius View Post
I have a lot of catching up to do. Been out of the loop a number of years... One more dumb question if I may.

Jens owns the copyright but won't sell copies?


he might sell you the pre-programmed mach131 part,try to ask thats all i can say/tell you that way you will know for sure.but he will not sell you the code just to be clear and nor would i IF i had it.


send him a email asking for the part and see if he reply's


no its not a silly question at all.
roy bates is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 02:55   #11
Amigafanboi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fareham Hampshire
Age: 44
Posts: 142
Jens will not sell the programmed Mach131.

He's happy if the Apollos phase out.

Best bet is to advertise on here or Amibay for a Mach131 from a faulty card or PM Stachu100, he may have one.
Amigafanboi is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 03:15   #12
moxavius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: St. Louis/US
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigafanboi View Post
Jens will not sell the programmed Mach131.

He's happy if the Apollos phase out.
Phased out in favor of what....?
moxavius is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 03:27   #13
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 45
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxavius View Post
Phased out in favor of what....?


sorry.....i really am.

in favour of seeing the apollo range dissapaer from the face of the planet,sorry everyone but thats what i heard.
roy bates is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 03:33   #14
moxavius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: St. Louis/US
Posts: 46
No, I'm sorry. It just seems silly. The Amiga is already a limited market. Whats the point in fracturing it further? I don't get it..
moxavius is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 03:38   #15
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 45
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxavius View Post
No, I'm sorry. It just seems silly. The Amiga is already a limited market. Whats the point in fracturing it further? I don't get it..




neither do we,to be honest lots of peaple have said this already including me,from my point of view whats the point of buying the rights to a card and discontinuing it.pointless but there you go.
roy bates is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 03:47   #16
moxavius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: St. Louis/US
Posts: 46
Thanks for the info. Man, thats a bummer... <shrug> Anyone want to buy an Apollo 1240?
moxavius is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 11:12   #17
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 45
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxavius View Post
Thanks for the info. Man, thats a bummer... <shrug> Anyone want to buy an Apollo 1240?


put an ad on eab or amibay,thats if you really want to sell it.
roy bates is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 21:58   #18
Amigafanboi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fareham Hampshire
Age: 44
Posts: 142
Jens has said time and time again how he dislikes the apollos design, especially the 600 accelerators.

Why not let them phase out when he produces new accelerators for Amigas?

Personaly i'm a great fan of Apollos, they are blisteringly fast.
Amigafanboi is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 22:53   #19
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 45
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigafanboi View Post
Jens has said time and time again how he dislikes the apollos design, especially the 600 accelerators.

Why not let them phase out when he produces new accelerators for Amigas?

Personaly i'm a great fan of Apollos, they are blisteringly fast.


yes,which brings us back to the first question.why on earth would he buy the rights to it,if he dont want it.it just dont make any sense,so he can what?stop anyone else from making them?sorry it still dont make no sense even coming from a business man,theres no competition for god's sake even if he dident like the card's disign that makes even less sense to me.its not like the aca1230 are any better?!?faster? more memory? with a fpu?
i dont think jens is a god,just a man that likes praise for his work when loads of peaple said the apollo's where crap compared to the blizzards i beleive he took it hard and this may be revenge on some sort of level or other,pure speculation i might add.
i think the days are gone when there was a phase 5 to compete withor any other company for that matter.
infact if we went back over ten years and this aca1230 card was on the market it would be "lower end" theres still peaple out there that want an 040 and 060 based card,you just dont want to make one yourself. stopping everyone else because "you"worked on it is unfair.theres nothing wrong with the aca1230"if" it's what you "want"but then agian theres no other "choice" is there?

or even the one where theres going to be cheap apollo's made in china,hmmm ok

i dont think jens hates the card at all.if one breaks down a "hole" in the market opens up for a new card.

or maybe thats the impression where being given.who knows.

Last edited by roy bates; 06 January 2012 at 23:08.
roy bates is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 23:08   #20
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 46
Posts: 2,611
I would keep the Apollo 1240 - it's still a great card and a piece of Amiga history really... you don't really get much for them on the 2nd hand market either to be honest. I really enjoy using my A1200 that has the 1240 in it.
Peter is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade Card Question? h0ffman support.Hardware 2 14 December 2010 15:38
Wanted: Apollo 1240 060 upgrade kit 8bitbubsy MarketPlace 1 16 January 2010 16:07
Serious Apollo 1240 Upgrade Pron Dimlow Hardware mods 54 15 June 2009 19:58
Help making a choice needed apollo or Blizz upgrade? DoogUK support.Hardware 2 16 February 2009 14:12
Apollo 1220 - instructions and 68020 to 68030 upgrade fc.studio support.Hardware 11 10 January 2008 21:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27178 seconds with 11 queries