English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 January 2012, 14:42   #41
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,269
The poiint of this compo is to create something with just that sampledisk and resampling is not in any way a hindrance to it, rather an advantage, as the frequency range is too limited.
Quote:
Rules:
The goal is to do the whole composition with samples only from the ST-01 disk,
Totally on the rules.
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 January 2012, 15:05   #42
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
The poiint of this compo is to create something with just that sampledisk and resampling is not in any way a hindrance to it, rather an advantage, as the frequency range is too limited.

Totally on the rules.
Because the frequency range is too limited no one ever on this planet managed to create tunes with the ST-xx disks. So much for that. Anyway, won't discuss this matter further, instead I'll wait for your tune.
StingRay is offline  
Old 21 January 2012, 16:52   #43
discomeats
Just add brown sauce.
discomeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North East Englandland
Posts: 170
what about us folks that suck and use octamed soundstudio? I'm not even certain that can save .mod files (it's been a while)
discomeats is offline  
Old 21 January 2012, 17:31   #44
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by discomeats View Post
what about us folks that suck and use octamed soundstudio? I'm not even certain that can save .mod files (it's been a while)
Yes it can save 100% compatible Protracker mod files as long you only use Protracker commands on the mod. For instance new vibrato protracker command is 14xx and should be used 04xx is old vibrato Soundtracker compatible. There are others, you should consult the OctaMED docs it's all in there.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 21 January 2012, 17:53   #45
discomeats
Just add brown sauce.
discomeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North East Englandland
Posts: 170
I'll do it when I feel less sleepy (it's on the save dialog too)
discomeats is offline  
Old 21 January 2012, 17:56   #46
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Because the frequency range is too limited no one ever on this planet managed to create tunes with the ST-xx disks.
You just want to argue with me don't you?
Akira is offline  
Old 22 January 2012, 02:49   #47
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Here is a preview with a better sound, and a more advanced version ^^

[ Show youtube player ]
gibs is offline  
Old 22 January 2012, 11:45   #48
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Gibs

Good job fun stuff!

Your black amiga is the bomb.
magnetic is offline  
Old 22 January 2012, 15:48   #49
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
I could give this a go, but could I get ST-01 as a .lha instead? It would be more convenient than having to actually write it out to a floppy.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 22 January 2012, 16:04   #50
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,750
Me too. http://de3.aminet.net/mods/inst/st-01.lha
daxb is offline  
Old 23 January 2012, 00:22   #51
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Nobody has done something ???

@Magnetic: Thanks
gibs is offline  
Old 23 January 2012, 01:19   #52
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Nobody has done something ???
I'm working on it.
Akira is offline  
Old 23 January 2012, 01:52   #53
h0ffman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 469
BTW, i think it would be save to allow people to UP Sample the samples? Thats just a process of taking every other byte out of the sample, thus giving you the dynamic range you want but also enabling a coder to accommodate the function easily. just mark the sample name with a particular char and it can be supported.

I might participate, but will have to wait until after easter, got shit loads on at the moment.

Last edited by prowler; 23 January 2012 at 01:58. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
h0ffman is offline  
Old 23 January 2012, 03:33   #54
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
@h0ffman`

If you're going to participate, then I need to do better ^^
gibs is offline  
Old 23 January 2012, 11:12   #55
Crown
Demoscener
Crown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: FR
Age: 47
Posts: 306
Great stuff.

News posted on AMP's forum (http://amp.dascene.net/forum)

cheers
Crown is offline  
Old 23 January 2012, 14:45   #56
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Here is a preview with a better sound, and a more advanced version ^^

[ Show youtube player ]
Love it!
Djay is offline  
Old 24 January 2012, 14:52   #57
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,750
I`ve started but don`t know if it will ever finished.
daxb is offline  
Old 25 January 2012, 23:33   #58
bLAZER
Awesome to the max

bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 946
Sounds like fun... I think I'll participate to make some kind of crappy tune.
bLAZER is offline  
Old 26 January 2012, 01:18   #59
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
I'm writing one now!

These samples are better than I remember, or maybe working with super-short samples has changed the way I think about things!
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 03 March 2012, 23:58   #60
QBit
 
Posts: n/a
Damn......

I was in composing fever but my Protracker 3.62 crashed inside WinUAE when I wanted to copy n paste!
By the way.. WinUAE is allowed isn't it? ;-)
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protracker/Noisetracker/Soundtracker Mogilny request.Music 5 08 July 2011 13:16
Protracker to Amiga 500 calculated support.Other 0 15 January 2011 23:01
Amiga Forever&Protracker bad sound moriez support.WinUAE 14 06 January 2009 02:26
Amiga Tagline competition rkauer EAB's competition 7 21 August 2008 02:51
Competition Pro Amiga Version Available! amigakit.com News 9 13 July 2007 14:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20210 seconds with 11 queries