English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 January 2012, 15:44   #21
StevenMarshall
Registered User
StevenMarshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: EU
Age: 41
Posts: 47
Floppy disk origins... the "retro style"

The original idea was actually to submit a song, rather than a module. That way a user loads a song which then loads samples off the ST-01 disk. The "retro style". That was original thought for this game/competition. (Unfortunately Song would be a little bit tricky to play on stand alone player, hence the module in the end.)

In other words: let's see what one can compose, rather what one can do in sound design department.


Bottom line:
The whole accent here is on retro 100%. Original Soundtracker did not have resample function.

Last edited by StevenMarshall; 06 January 2012 at 15:56.
StevenMarshall is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 January 2012, 16:35   #22
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Resampling is *hardly* "sound design"
Akira is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 17:11   #23
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,752
I is important to make clear rulez. So long it makes no sense to start anything. Make a deadline. For example end of year if you don`t want to make a deadline. Write the rulez down. Incl. samples have to stay original...
daxb is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 18:27   #24
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
YEah that's something else: you would have to include the list of samples intended for use. Those ST-XX disks have been tampered with many times. There's no assurance what one has the other one does.
Akira is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 18:37   #25
musojon74
Registered User

musojon74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dereham, United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 469
Resampling isn't sound design. It's allowing enough note range to compose. Actually I will just compose using samples from st 01 and dump it on my webspace. The. If it doesn't qualify - meh.
musojon74 is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 19:36   #26
mazxim
Registered User

mazxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 53
Hells calls hell. May Olof Gustafsson's soul be with you! It is expected nothing than awesomeness

(it's still something unexplained to me how that guy made that Pinball Fantasies's intro without FL Studio..)
mazxim is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 20:36   #27
StevenMarshall
Registered User
StevenMarshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: EU
Age: 41
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by musojon74 View Post
Resampling isn't sound design. It's allowing enough note range to compose.
Yes, that's true. But you can also combine several notes with Protracker into a chord which then gets resampled and classifies as "resample". Who guarantees some other ppl won't use that function as well.

Anyway, you got me thinking about this issue and i think the best "retro" catch would be - to require for the track to be composed in original Soundtracker.

I've just installed one and will spend some time testing and seeing which features are "missing" from the Protracker that we are all used to. If too many, then i guess we should leave it to Protracker and pitch-resampling as well.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
YEah that's something else: you would have to include the list of samples intended for use. Those ST-XX disks have been tampered with many times. There's no assurance what one has the other one does.
I thought this problem was solved in the first post of this thread. No?
StevenMarshall is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 20:42   #28
StevenMarshall
Registered User
StevenMarshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: EU
Age: 41
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
I is important to make clear rulez. So long it makes no sense to start anything. Make a deadline.
I'm in the process of gathering ppl first. I will try to bring some old Amiga names as well.

Once we count our numbers then we together agree on the deadline. The winner gets a virtual sixpack of nice cold beer.
StevenMarshall is offline  
Old 06 January 2012, 20:47   #29
musojon74
Registered User

musojon74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dereham, United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenMarshall View Post
Yes, that's true. But you can also combine several notes with Protracker into a chord which then gets resampled and classifies as "resample". Who guarantees some other ppl won't use that function as well.

Ahh ok I see your point. Well I'm in if I can just double the pitch of a sample (that's what I meant by resample). I won't do any of that making a chord out of a sample stuff!
musojon74 is offline  
Old 07 January 2012, 18:36   #30
StevenMarshall
Registered User
StevenMarshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: EU
Age: 41
Posts: 47
Ok, i've just tried the old Soundtracker and.... OMG. Near impossible to work after getting used to Protracker and all the commands and UI.

So i guess we'll shift to the Protracker and resampling as an allowed option. Taper (small fade in/out) at the sample ends to smooth out the (clicky) loop should be allowed too.

Last edited by StevenMarshall; 07 January 2012 at 18:44.
StevenMarshall is offline  
Old 08 January 2012, 13:18   #31
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,752
Suggestion: If someone edit samples then he/she has to write it in the sample text for easy check. E.g. smp #5 removed click.

Btw. I can`t download the zip with IBrowse. Can someone lha the samples and put it into TheZone?
daxb is offline  
Old 09 January 2012, 00:38   #32
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
Btw. I can`t download the zip with IBrowse. Can someone lha the samples and put it into TheZone?
Try this instead:
http://aminet.net/mods/inst/st-01.lha
prowler is offline  
Old 09 January 2012, 11:06   #33
StevenMarshall
Registered User
StevenMarshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: EU
Age: 41
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoonay View Post
Post info on modules.pl too
EDIT:

I've contacted Adam (i think is his name), he appears to administrate the site, and got informed that the post has been open in there.

Last edited by StevenMarshall; 09 January 2012 at 20:33.
StevenMarshall is offline  
Old 09 January 2012, 11:10   #34
StevenMarshall
Registered User
StevenMarshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: EU
Age: 41
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Yup! That will work. This is from where i got my samples from.
StevenMarshall is offline  
Old 09 January 2012, 12:05   #35
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Thanks!
daxb is offline  
Old 10 January 2012, 19:15   #36
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenMarshall View Post
Yes, that's true. But you can also combine several notes with Protracker into a chord which then gets resampled and classifies as "resample".
Nah, that's the CHORD function, not resample :P Also I don't think 2.3D has it.

Sountracker doesn't work on anything, it would be ridiculous to use it. I think settling on PT1.3 or 2.3d, which are the most popular ones and run on almost every computer, should be good.

(didn't see the ST-01.zip file on the original post. Woops! :P)
Akira is offline  
Old 21 January 2012, 03:07   #37
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
A preview of what I've just done while I was at the phone tonight

[ Show youtube player ]
gibs is offline  
Old 21 January 2012, 03:24   #38
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
You're using PT1.3 or Soundtracker?
Nice one!
Akira is offline  
Old 21 January 2012, 04:24   #39
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Pt2.3d
gibs is offline  
Old 21 January 2012, 14:09   #40
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I don't want to use new samples, I was talking about resampling, as in taking the sample into Protracker and resampling it so I can get a new range of the freq-spectrum. You understand what I mean?
Yes I did.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
It is well understood only the samples from the ST-01 disk are allowed, but what I propose is something you can do with them inside PT once you have loaded them.
Which means they are not the original ST-01 samples anymore. What exactly was the point of this very compo?
StingRay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protracker/Noisetracker/Soundtracker Mogilny request.Music 5 08 July 2011 13:16
Protracker to Amiga 500 calculated support.Other 0 15 January 2011 23:01
Amiga Forever&Protracker bad sound moriez support.WinUAE 14 06 January 2009 02:26
Amiga Tagline competition rkauer EAB's competition 7 21 August 2008 02:51
Competition Pro Amiga Version Available! amigakit.com News 9 13 July 2007 14:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27739 seconds with 11 queries