English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 December 2011, 16:02   #1
endre1952
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 47
Japanese CDTV

http://page14.auctions.yahoo.co.jp/j...ion/s246468266

I just bought this item. Does anybody know anything about it? If the Babelfish translation makes sense, the unit does power up.
endre1952 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 December 2011, 16:46   #2
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 861
google traductor:
Manufactured by JOS
Type the formula JOS -1000
Product Name Product CDTV ◆ ◆ junk
No power cord and other accessories ※ There is no product that comes with.
I only see the merchandise entering the state power.
In addition, detailed confirmation is not guaranteed because it does not work.
Also, please note it in your scratched / dirty little used for.
Others know about this product is a difficult question to answer because there are no a third.
Yen »1160 national uniform« transmission charges
Management number 1000001125824
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 20 December 2011, 16:56   #3
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,779
Looks like a licensed clone - theres no commodore badge I hope you post more about it when you get it.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 20 December 2011, 17:05   #4
endre1952
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 47
Yahoo! Babel Fish sounds more like "Unit powers up, but was not tested any further"

I will post more info about it when I get it.

Last edited by endre1952; 20 December 2011 at 17:10.
endre1952 is offline  
Old 21 December 2011, 03:50   #5
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
I'm going to remove the commodore badge on mine and put ohmygibs.free.fr instead ^^
gibs is offline  
Old 22 December 2011, 19:43   #6
dirk_the_daring
Registered User

dirk_the_daring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alicante / Spain
Posts: 118
Hummm... I read long ago an on-line article about a 3th party CD32 developed in china inside a CDTV case... I thought it was my imagination since I've nefer found anymore info when I searched information years later, but seeing this I'm quite sure that it was not any dream.
dirk_the_daring is offline  
Old 22 December 2011, 20:27   #7
Oli_HD
Collector

Oli_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: No longer active
Posts: 157
Vesalia also sold JOS CDTV IR remotes a while back, not seen a JOS CDTV though. O_O Cool find!
Oli_HD is offline  
Old 29 February 2012, 16:22   #8
endre1952
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 47
I got it today. The CD caddy is missing, so I haven't been able to test the CD-ROM drive yet, but floppy loading does work from an external drive with an SD-card based floppy emulator inside.

It's definitely an Amiga! NTSC, has Kickstart 1.3. Software switching to PAL works.

I can post pictures or anything, if someone is interested.

Last edited by endre1952; 29 February 2012 at 20:03.
endre1952 is offline  
Old 29 February 2012, 20:01   #9
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,779
id be interested I was just thinking today what happened about this

You would think some Japanese software existed ?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 29 February 2012, 20:08   #10
endre1952
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 47
I have no idea if Japanese software exists.

I will take some photos soon.

This is my first CDTV ever (I do own a PAL CD32), however, this version doesn't seem to have a keyboard connector. Fortunately, the usual 23-pin RGB video port is present. I'm using the official CDTV remote I got off the web.

I could make a dump of the kickstart ROM I guess...
endre1952 is offline  
Old 29 February 2012, 22:16   #11
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,028
Is there any difference in the CDTV extended roms? Japanese language etc?

I cant imagine the kickstart roms would be different.

The CDTV requires a different keyboard, its a standard mini din but it is wired differently so a regular amiga keyboard wont work with an adapter.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 29 February 2012, 22:31   #12
endre1952
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 47
I think you're right, the kickstart roms must be the same.

When you see photos of this particular CDTV unit, you will recognize the keyboard connector is missing (not broken, never built into the device). There are only composite, S-VHS and 23-pin RGB video ports, stereo RCA audio connectors, a disk drive port, a serial and a parallel port.
endre1952 is offline  
Old 29 February 2012, 22:49   #13
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 861
the cdtv have 2 port similar s-vhs but one is for keyboard and the other for remote
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 29 February 2012, 22:52   #14
endre1952
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 47
There is "S-VIDEO out" written under the one that looks like an S-VHS port...
endre1952 is offline  
Old 29 February 2012, 23:01   #15
endre1952
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 47
I was wrong. The ports are there, they were just covered by a piece of paper. The midi in and out ports as well. However, there is actually an S-VIDEO OUT port.
endre1952 is offline  
Old 29 February 2012, 23:03   #16
endre1952
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 47
You know what, it just looks like a modified American CDTV. The Commodore logo may have been replaced after the unit was built as well.

But -- I'm happy to own a CDTV, provided that the CD-ROM drive actually works...
endre1952 is offline  
Old 29 February 2012, 23:18   #17
endre1952
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 47
Can I connect an NTSC CDTV to a 220V wall outlet? I've been using a 110V transformer and it works that way. Would I blow the device?
endre1952 is offline  
Old 29 February 2012, 23:30   #18
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 861
the psu is a switching and normally function 110 and 220 volt and 50/60 hertz, but read if write the tension input under or rear

p.s.
i have sale a cd caddy for 5 € yesterday, sorry
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 11:48   #19
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
Waiting on pictures

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 14:44   #20
endre1952
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 47
You can see that some of the ports were hidden for some reason...

Last edited by endre1952; 13 March 2012 at 19:33.
endre1952 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone understand Japanese? Jawsykilla Retrogaming General Discussion 19 02 April 2010 22:26
Japanese Console/Computer RPG discussions Retro-Nerd Retrogaming General Discussion 2 02 April 2009 02:32
Japanese 78 year old FPS fan... MazinKaesar Retrogaming General Discussion 13 07 December 2008 00:32
good site about japanese snes roms rsn8887 Retrogaming General Discussion 2 24 February 2007 10:38
Japanese edutainment games? ethylene Retrogaming General Discussion 5 02 August 2002 11:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.36084 seconds with 11 queries