English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 November 2011, 02:22   #1
CritAnime
Registered User
CritAnime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wakefield/UK
Age: 35
Posts: 387
To whdload or not to whdload.

that is the question.

I have never really played around with this program and was wondering if it was worth investing in.
CritAnime is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 November 2011, 02:37   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by CritAnime View Post
that is the question.

I have never really played around with this program and was wondering if it was worth investing in.
100% without a doubt, bert (Wepl) and all the authors are awesome.
Its well worth the money. Im sure everyone will agree with me.
FOL is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 08:58   #3
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,230
Go for it , it's fantastic !!
lolafg is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 09:18   #4
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 37
Posts: 3,412
Get it!
viddi is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 09:34   #5
pmc
rebooting...
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,595
I'd never really bothered with WHDLoad either until recently when I bought a license for it and installed it on my real A1200.

It's great!

I don't play a huge amount of games cos I don't get time but when I do it's cool to have a fully fixed game working from hard drive - quick loads, no disk swapping.

Definitely worthwhile in my opinion. You should give it a go.
pmc is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 09:53   #6
HOL2001
Amigamaniac

HOL2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neheim / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 465
Do it!
HOL2001 is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 10:16   #7
rockersuke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madrid / Spain
Age: 50
Posts: 253
Try with the unregistered version for a while, and if you like what you see (and I bet you will!) send the bucks!

--
rockersuke is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 10:41   #8
Gordon
Settler

Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,159
The are two things certain in life.....death......and WHDLOAD satisfaction.
Gordon is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 13:13   #9
CritAnime
Registered User
CritAnime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wakefield/UK
Age: 35
Posts: 387
Cool. Just a couple of quick questions then. 1) how do games that save work with it and 2) will it work on a 600 without the accelerator. I have the a604 installed so I have more ram.
CritAnime is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 13:23   #10
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by CritAnime View Post
Cool. Just a couple of quick questions then. 1) how do games that save work with it and 2) will it work on a 600 without the accelerator. I have the a604 installed so I have more ram.

1)WHDLoad redirects saves to the HDD.

2)Most should work, but it would be ideal to have Fast RAM.
FOL is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 13:25   #11
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
You will really need some fast ram to see the benefit.

2MB is the absolute minimum but 4MB is preferred. I only had 2MB of Fast ram in my old A600 and I found that I could not run quite a few whdload installed games... fast ram is the answer unless you want to configure every game install to try and get it to run.

Game saves are just stored on your hard drive in the games own folder.

It is definitely worth registering WHDLoad.

Last edited by Peter; 16 November 2011 at 13:50.
Peter is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 15:29   #12
CritAnime
Registered User
CritAnime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wakefield/UK
Age: 35
Posts: 387
Thanks guys. What I will do is register it anyway then I will run it on emulator so I get the hang of it. Then as soon as I can afford the accelerator from amigakit I will transfer everything over to my 600. I have 100 saved up so shouldn't be long lol.
CritAnime is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 17:54   #13
CritAnime
Registered User
CritAnime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wakefield/UK
Age: 35
Posts: 387
Well I have sent the money off via PayPal. I just need to wait for my keyfile now.... Hope it turns up soon

If not I may just cry
CritAnime is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 18:02   #14
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
Put the key file in your S drawer in Workbench.
Peter is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 18:05   #15
CritAnime
Registered User
CritAnime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wakefield/UK
Age: 35
Posts: 387
Roger that

Will wait patiently lol. Maybe play some Skyrim while I wait.....
CritAnime is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 18:07   #16
thgill
Registered User

thgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, Ohio / USA
Age: 42
Posts: 360
unless Bert is off on Holiday, it shouldn't take but a couple days at most to get your keyfile.


WHDLoad is one of a very few programs I have ever purchased a licence for and its worth every cent.
thgill is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 18:08   #17
Gordon
Settler

Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by CritAnime View Post
I just need to wait for my keyfile now.... Hope it turns up soon

(
You can use WHDLOAD without a keyfile.
Gordon is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 18:22   #18
CritAnime
Registered User
CritAnime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wakefield/UK
Age: 35
Posts: 387
Woot It Came
CritAnime is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 18:29   #19
thgill
Registered User

thgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, Ohio / USA
Age: 42
Posts: 360
Damn that was quick.
thgill is offline  
Old 16 November 2011, 18:46   #20
CritAnime
Registered User
CritAnime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wakefield/UK
Age: 35
Posts: 387
He must have been near his computer. Anyway just installing pinball fantasies
CritAnime is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE - Unregistered WHDLOAD : WHDLOAD.KEY - FIX Neil79 support.FS-UAE 14 29 January 2013 23:34
help me executing an whdload-installed game without whdload Gaula92 support.Games 7 26 January 2011 22:44
whdload instructions? [where to put WHDLoad games for GameBase Amiga v1.4] luke_70it project.MAGE 8 28 October 2009 07:36
WHDload issues (Complete WHDload nub, apologies in advance) dire_wolf project.WHDLoad 31 09 October 2009 21:41
http://www.whdload.de/whdload/vip/ Crank79 project.WHDLoad 37 11 April 2007 17:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.34465 seconds with 11 queries