English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 November 2011, 06:51   #1
DeafDaz
Deafdaz
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Blackpool Egland
Age: 43
Posts: 200
Softmodding PS2?

I have been reading somewhere about softmodding an X-Box to play and use emulators. And I am interested to know if it is also possible to softmod a PS2? If so bear in mind that I currently do not have a modchip in my machine, the boody thing is sittin infront of me gathering dust. can u help? if so I chan then dust of my PS2 and have sume fun

DeafDaz

P.s.

Mods, I am not sure if i have posted in the right place feel free to move this thread
DeafDaz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 November 2011, 09:00   #2
Lord Riton
Registered User
Lord Riton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 491
I don't know for the PS2, but i did it for my xbox.

I had to buy some thing called "action replay" and they said it works only with 2 games, happily i had one of the 2 ("Splinter cell") and i had to replace a save game with the "action replay" thingy. That savegame i had to download on a site and it was in fact some executable. I guess that's also the reason why it only worked with 2 games, only these 2 probably could launch such an executable when loading a game.

Works great between, i have lots of old arcade, Neo-geo, Super nintendo, and even C64 games on my xbox HD
Only the most recent Neo-geo games are a little bit less smooth sometimes, all other games are perfectly emulated. But 99% of them are from befor the year 2000, you won't have a chance to launch recent arcade games, they need to much power.

Last edited by Lord Riton; 08 November 2011 at 09:09.
Lord Riton is offline  
Old 08 November 2011, 09:09   #3
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
i dont know how to softmod the ps2,but i know how to make it read copys without a modchip.
roy bates is offline  
Old 08 November 2011, 09:25   #4
Jerry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 196
You can softmod a PS2 using the FreeMCBoot package and a memory card. Unfortunately, emulation on the PS2 is not comparable to the fantastic XBox emulators. I for one was only satisfied with NES and Master System emulators (if I remember correctly).
For backups you either have to patch the games with ESR or use a Usb/Smb/Hd-Loader like OpenPS2Loader.
Jerry is offline  
Old 08 November 2011, 09:29   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,048
Yes you can soft-mod PS2. I think it works best with a Phat PS2 rather than a Slim one (as you can install a big FO hard drive and install all your games) but you can load anything you can fit on a USB Key.

You need :
  1. PS2
  2. PS2 memory card
  3. Retail Action Replay Max CD (or Codebreaker v8 or above)
  4. An original PSone game disc
  5. USB Key (Flash Drive)
  6. Several files and programs (IDGet, Titleman Frontend, or Free McBoot)
Optional :
  1. PS2 network adapter
  2. 3.5" PATA (IDE) hard drive

I'm not going to write a full tutorial here. There are 10's of tutorials all over the net, just googling some of the info above will get you what you need. When you're finished you can run any ELF file you like (emulators etc.) and you can install PSOne and PS2 games to the hard drive and use applications such as HDLoader/OpenPS2Loader.

Last edited by alexh; 08 November 2011 at 09:34.
alexh is offline  
Old 08 November 2011, 14:53   #6
Jerry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
When you're finished you can run any ELF file you like (emulators etc.) and you can install PSOne and PS2 games to the hard drive and use applications such as HDLoader/OpenPS2Loader.
I don't think you can actually put PSOne games to the internal hd. You could run PSOne isos with PSX emulator for the PS2 but as far as I know this thing has never left alpha stage.
Jerry is offline  
Old 08 November 2011, 16:31   #7
DeafDaz
Deafdaz
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Blackpool Egland
Age: 43
Posts: 200
Thanks for the info guys.
I some of u are sayin that the PS2 mightnot be good 4 emulation of the Miggy. As to the thread up earlier about getting the PS2 to play copied games witout modding is that similar to the PS1 method of opening the tray and swapping disks after the sony logo? I cant see that being successful as the PS2 disc drive is a tray mech.
DeafDaz is offline  
Old 08 November 2011, 16:43   #8
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeafDaz View Post
Thanks for the info guys.
I some of u are sayin that the PS2 mightnot be good 4 emulation of the Miggy. As to the thread up earlier about getting the PS2 to play copied games witout modding is that similar to the PS1 method of opening the tray and swapping disks after the sony logo? I cant see that being successful as the PS2 disc drive is a tray mech.

it does work.
roy bates is offline  
Old 08 November 2011, 16:43   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeafDaz View Post
As to the thread up earlier about getting the PS2 to play copied games witout modding is that similar to the PS1 method of opening the tray and swapping disks after the sony logo?
No. Once the softmod is installed an additional menu system is available on boot and the games run from the hard drive. No swapping.
alexh is offline  
Old 08 November 2011, 16:48   #10
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
if its without a softmod then ,yes

you have to bypass two swicthes.
roy bates is offline  
Old 08 November 2011, 18:10   #11
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 1,587
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
It was the "IndependenceCompiler" I used long ago to add the memory card exploit. You just set it up to match one of your original PS1 games, and it made a savegame file which you copy over with action replay.

Then with the memory card in, booting that original ps1 game would load the exploit on the memory card which in my case was either ElfLoader or HDLoader. (Depending on button held down).

Also allowed coping isos over to the the hd via ftp too over the nextwork which was handy
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 08 November 2011, 18:38   #12
jman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeafDaz View Post
I have been reading somewhere about softmodding an X-Box to play and use emulators. And I am interested to know if it is also possible to softmod a PS2?
PS2 can be softmodded, either Fat and Slim.

Slims however not up to the latest version:
http://freemcboot.info
jman is offline  
Old 08 November 2011, 22:41   #13
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
you have to bypass two swicthes.
Have you managed to do that without fitting Magic Keys, etc.? I've found they won't stay put for long.
prowler is offline  
Old 08 November 2011, 23:53   #14
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 880
i use freemcboot, work fine with fat ps2, don't go on slim version 900xx

on ps2 exist an exelent emulator for amiga

if you want a memory with freemcboot installed for test, send me a pm
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 09 November 2011, 02:50   #15
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 797
I've done all the tricks on my fatty ps2.
Swap magic, slide trick, flip top, hdloader disc, independence exploit...
By far the most satisfying is freemcboot, and hdloader patched with a good sized hd tucked away.
This is your ticket to hassle free imports and tiny loading times.
rare_j is offline  
Old 09 November 2011, 03:12   #16
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Have you managed to do that without fitting Magic Keys, etc.? I've found they won't stay put for long.

yes,but its a bit tricky to do on the fat one.

my best one is the is the mod i did to my ps3,i can play anything on it.
its a 60gig with 250gig hardrive and an external 1tb drive plus a remote to play copys.(dont ask)
roy bates is offline  
Old 09 November 2011, 07:58   #17
Qube
Registered User
Qube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: England
Posts: 206
If you get hold of a 2nd hand Wii, or even a new one since I'm sure they'll have some offers about for Xmas, you can softmod that and run homebrew like UAE, which doesn't run too badly - sure it has a frameskip going on I'm sure, but it was fine to play IK+ on a big tv the last time I checked lol

More info - http://wiibrew.org

Q;
Qube is offline  
Old 09 November 2011, 14:12   #18
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,048
Getting a Wii is mad when you can get an old XBOX for £5-£10
alexh is offline  
Old 09 November 2011, 23:28   #19
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
yes,but its a bit tricky to do on the fat one.
Aww... Come on then, spill the beans. Mine's a slim!
prowler is offline  
Old 10 November 2011, 10:35   #20
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Aww... Come on then, spill the beans. Mine's a slim!
I seem to remember that this is the method for the slim models http://freemcboot.info/armax.html

Of course seeing as the exploit is memory card based, I modded my gf's slim by just doing it on my fat model then giving her the memory card.
deicidal is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PS2 Keyboard and AMIGA1200 snowman support.Hardware 21 03 August 2015 21:57
x-box - softmodding Anubis Retrogaming General Discussion 750 11 November 2014 02:17
swap ps2 for webhead Swapshop 0 24 July 2009 14:35
Sensible Soccer (SWOS) on PS2!!!!! Playaveli Retrogaming General Discussion 41 20 April 2006 11:04
PS2 Mouse adaptor Methanoid support.Hardware 1 06 July 2004 02:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09114 seconds with 12 queries