English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 October 2011, 15:07   #1
Gilloo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grenoble, Isère, Rhône-Alpes, France, Europe, Earth
Posts: 154
Unicode on AmigaOS3.1

I spent a few evenings tinkering Topaz 8 to unicode for ucode system.
For now there is Latin-1, Russian, some Greek characters, most mathematical symbols and frames (under testing ...)

http://aminet.net/package/text/bfont/UcodeTopaz8

and the trick to read unicode files and UTF-8
http://aminet.net/package/dev/c/UReader

It should only work AmigaOS3.1 and up, need the ucode package and some glyphs (or thirty megabytes). Just assign ucode: where it is, and it works without changing anything more in the system.
I forgot to say that these marvels run on a 68000 (Minimig !)
So I can say today: No, the Amiga is not dead, you can even use unicode on it.
Gilloo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 October 2011, 05:33   #2
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,644
No thanks, Unicode is totally unnecessary and just bloats everything.
Minuous is offline  
Old 07 October 2011, 10:27   #3
Gilloo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grenoble, Isère, Rhône-Alpes, France, Europe, Earth
Posts: 154
@Minuous, tsss...
You have no idea, because you are english brained. World is not english, World is unicode, my friend. :P
Gilloo is offline  
Old 07 October 2011, 13:25   #4
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 40
Posts: 468
Ti be fair I give it another 50 years tops and the common language will be english
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 07 October 2011, 14:41   #5
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Nice project Gilloo I'm sure there are more folks around that'll find it useful.
TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAR XAD - AmigaOS3 ? ancalimon request.Apps 6 19 January 2012 13:53
A4000T AmigaOS3.1, WB disk! 4pLaY request.Other 8 10 March 2010 16:54
Help with AmigaOS3.9 and WinUAE 2.00RC3 problem ma693541 support.Apps 3 08 December 2009 13:26
A1200 + RandyRom + AmigaOS3.9 Drake008@ support.Hardware 6 20 March 2007 17:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12326 seconds with 11 queries