English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 October 2011, 13:42   #1
capa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 17
paranoid new to WinUAE

Hi new here. I use to have an amiga 500 back inthe day but 3 years ago i frew it and along with 100's of games which i regret badly. The other month i brought an amiga 500 very cheap but no games. I came across this site searching for amiga forums and it looked to be a popular forum. So i signed up. Any way i come here and find that you can download alot of old Amiga games. How safe is WinUAE?. Sorry i just get abit paranoid when it comes to new things like this. I want to play all my old games what i use to have but the main games i use to play where. Operation Stealth, Adavanced fruit machine and all the dizzy games. whizzball and all other great games.
capa is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 October 2011, 13:55   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,638
Nothing to worry. Download what you need or want and have some fun.
s2325 is online now  
Old 03 October 2011, 14:06   #3
capa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Thanks for the reply.

It looks abit complicated setting it up hehe.
capa is offline  
Old 03 October 2011, 14:07   #4
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,824
*cough* http://awesome.commodore.me/forum/sh...ghlight=winuae *cough*

DH is offline  
Old 03 October 2011, 14:15   #5
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by capa View Post
How safe is WinUAE?.
Well I have used WinUAE for a decade now and neither of the PC's I've owned during that time has blown up.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 03 October 2011, 15:45   #6
capa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Thanks for all replies.

My amiga at the moment has 1.3 workbench on it. I havnt got the disc what came with it but if i brought amiga blank disc and downloaded the games such has Alien Breed 2 and then put the ADF files onto the amiga floppy disc from the pc would that work?.
capa is offline  
Old 03 October 2011, 16:23   #7
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,638
No, it's not so easy http://fellow.abime.net/old_version/.../transfer.html
s2325 is online now  
Old 03 October 2011, 17:55   #8
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 803
WinUAE is pretty safe but the games may not be - particularly if you use the TOSEC game sets out there. Some may have bootblock viruses encoded in them (as they're images of real disks) which might infect your WinUAE and ruin it.

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 03 October 2011, 17:57   #9
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,638
? Are you serious?
s2325 is online now  
Old 03 October 2011, 18:17   #10
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,915
That's the funniest thing I've heard all day.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 03 October 2011, 18:45   #11
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
WinUAE is pretty safe but the games may not be - particularly if you use the TOSEC game sets out there. Some may have bootblock viruses encoded in them (as they're images of real disks) which might infect your WinUAE and ruin it.

D.
Er... no. Just: no. An Amiga virus can never 'ruin' WinUAE.
TCD is offline  
Old 03 October 2011, 18:58   #12
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
Used WinUAE for more than 10 years.. never had a problem with it!
Djay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Paranoid by Rebels UberFreak support.Demos 6 27 March 2013 10:47
WinUAE 0.9.92 "WinUAE 1.0 public beta #3" Released! Jim News 2 23 December 2004 11:29
WinUAE - HD, and WinUAE Beats me Mr.B support.WinUAE 19 26 October 2003 17:49
WinUAE 0817r3-GUI dissappears/ WinUAE freezes. 7-Zark-7 support.WinUAE 2 23 December 2001 14:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20914 seconds with 11 queries