English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 September 2012, 17:37   #901
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 603
Hi and thanks for your help olesio, i just tried your startup sequence and i can't get it to work in either winuae, or on my real amiga.
It just stops on a grey screen and won't go any further.

I don't know what i am doing wrong, i think i might give up on this.

Thanks a lot anyway mate, Han.
hansel75 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 September 2012, 19:00   #902
olesio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 337
No problem. I cannot help and explain you more because I do not know what you have done. You must give valid and existing path and filename to TinyLauncher executable, but under WinUAE Tiny Launcher as far as I know and test it - cannot be run from harddisk mounted as directory because it detect not valid filesystem it must be runned from hdf filepartition because hdf files formated under WB type system contain filesystem informations and are portable format to use it as pseudo real hard disk. Data from Hdfs can be even transfered to real Amiga by tools like TSGui from Aminet. Anyway, you can try delete some files from WB 2.1 adf and place Tiny Launcher executable there and try to boot only adf and run Tiny Launcher by adding it to s-s file or from cli or click on file from loaded WB. It should be not problem to run Tiny Launcher under WinUAE following two conditions: 1. Tiny Launcher exec must NOT be run from harddisk mounted as directory, 2 you need more than 1 MB Chip Memory set in WinUAE's Ram settings tab. Try once again. I tried and this is not too difficult if you have basic Amiga WB and WinUAE usage knowledge. In my opinion times when people use adf and wait many minutes to oad games from emulated floppies should past by, WHDLoad should be standard and people should make their life when want to play games as much easiest as possible. And ofcourse in my opinion Tiny Launcher make this much more easy to do. Under real Amiga also because you can use only joystick/keys to navigate.
olesio is offline  
Old 18 September 2012, 22:59   #903
SuperNashwan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 75
Whoever banned Gibs really needs to get over themselves.

He was developing a great piece of software. He's passionate about what he does. Someone pissed him off so he had a go at them. So what?

He deserves an apology and and his account reinstated. Although if I were him I'd never look at EAB again.

A real shame as in the few months I've been a member here it seems to have been a decent, productive place. Was hoping this would be sorted out sensibly. Instead it's actually embarrassing.
SuperNashwan is offline  
Old 18 September 2012, 23:11   #904
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperNashwan View Post
Whoever banned Gibs really needs to get over themselves.

He was developing a great piece of software. He's passionate about what he does. Someone pissed him off so he had a go at them. So what?

He deserves an apology and and his account reinstated. Although if I were him I'd never look at EAB again.

A real shame as in the few months I've been a member here it seems to have been a decent, productive place. Was hoping this would be sorted out sensibly. Instead it's actually embarrassing.
For those who may have missed the events leading up to Gibs' banishment from EAB, here is a brief summary:

Gibs was banned for a month following repeated warnings about his sniping at JimNeray whenever a new version of his X-bEnCH launcher is released.

We cut him some slack because of his sterling work on Tiny Launcher, but he nevertheless carried on firing insults at JimNeray whenever the opportunity arose.

So, on the contrary, it is Gibs who has caused all the embarrasing incidents and who needs to get over himself.

Let's hope he's more focussed when he returns.
prowler is offline  
Old 13 October 2012, 23:45   #905
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I'm wondering if a month has already passed and if Gibs can get out of the jail
Retrofan is offline  
Old 13 October 2012, 23:47   #906
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
When you check his user title you see it's not 'Banned' anymore, so he can post here again if he wants to.
TCD is offline  
Old 13 October 2012, 23:52   #907
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
And he already read here after the ban. Come on Gibs, all this beef about copycat software or evil mods isn't really mature. Post some new betas, i'm looking forward to test them.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 13 October 2012, 23:53   #908
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
If I always believe what the user title says I would be in a madhouse, being the "Ruler of the Universe" jeje. I mean that in other forums I've seen banned just written by themselves (or that is what I believe).

Edit: Yes, Gibs this time we won't sing you a song, but we can make you a Tatoo for being in prison...

Last edited by Retrofan; 14 October 2012 at 00:00.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 13 October 2012, 23:53   #909
olesio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 337
Me too. Please Gibs come back to us ASAP I give you info at your e-mail.
olesio is offline  
Old 13 October 2012, 23:55   #910
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
If I always believe what the user title says I would be in a madhouse, being the "Ruler of the Universe" jeje. I mean that in other forums I've seen banned just written by themselves (or that is what I believe).
Right, he's not banned anymore, okay?
TCD is offline  
Old 13 October 2012, 23:58   #911
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
I mean that in other forums I've seen banned just written by themselves (or that is what I believe).
You're quite right. Check out CU_AMiGA, who is one such member here on EAB.

He is definitely not banned either.
prowler is offline  
Old 14 October 2012, 00:08   #912
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
You're quite right. Check out CU_AMiGA, who is one such member here on EAB.

He is definitely not banned either.
Ok, great. So now you know Gibs: You can change your tittle to Banned and also your avatar. I was talking about giving you a tatoo as a gift. Perhaps you'll like this for the avatar:

http://www.dba-oracle.com/images/tattoo_prison.jpg

(Just a little of understanding with my mate)

Last edited by Retrofan; 14 October 2012 at 00:14.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 08 November 2012, 05:48   #913
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 588
Quote:
Originally Posted by fgh View Post
I'm having some trouble making a compilation, following the steps above..

Booting WinUAE from the TLPreconf directory, I have recreated the databases, TL says Boot:CD, and both ECS and AGA games are working.
In ISOCD I selected source and destination, added Volume ID and CD32.TM under options, then clicked 'Examine' and finally 'Build'.
When running the ISO under WinUAE (v2410, CD32 quickstart), TL starts, but when launching games it says Loading 'game' and then returns to TL. (immediate return, no reboot)

Your included startup-sequence has 'cd dh0:' in it, and the TL config points to 'Amiga:'.
But I tried both volume ID 'DH0' with TL paths DH0:TLDATAS... and volume ID 'Amiga' with 'cd Amiga:' in startup-sequence, so this should not be related.

Any ideas?

By the way, there is a CD32 optimized version of WHDLoad that leaves more memory and doesn't require a key.
There are also some CD32 memory optimization tips. Have a look at whdload.de.
(I didn't use any of these now. just following your instructions...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
For the CD32 compilation, I forgot to told you to ACTIVATE the RAD (and I'm very sorry).
Can you try on emulation ?

Boot: CD / RAD:Engaged

I didn't remind why I did like this, but if I still don't know in the next days I will make it work without the RAD activated too. Maybe I was thinking about stock CD32 or stock CDTV.
I've been playing with this again now. (in WinUAE)

Here is what I've tried:
1: Following instructions from your main post
2: Tried enabling RAD
3: Tried deleting the database as you suggested to amiman99
4: Tried using Amiga: and CD0: in TL config (ISO volume name is 'Amiga')
5: Tried with Tinylauncher v2.1
6: Tried copying makedir and assign commands to C:

Nothing helps so far, it reboots when selecting a game, but the game still doesn't start, it just returns to TL.

You didn't give many instructions for ISOCD..
All I've done is set Volume ID to Amiga, select CD32.TM as TM file, click examine and then build the iso.
Did I miss any steps?

Hope you can figure it out, as TL would be the perfect CD32 game browser
fgh is offline  
Old 08 November 2012, 13:11   #914
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by fgh View Post
I've been playing with this again now. (in WinUAE)

Here is what I've tried:
1: Following instructions from your main post
2: Tried enabling RAD
3: Tried deleting the database as you suggested to amiman99
4: Tried using Amiga: and CD0: in TL config (ISO volume name is 'Amiga')
5: Tried with Tinylauncher v2.1
6: Tried copying makedir and assign commands to C:

Nothing helps so far, it reboots when selecting a game, but the game still doesn't start, it just returns to TL.

You didn't give many instructions for ISOCD..
All I've done is set Volume ID to Amiga, select CD32.TM as TM file, click examine and then build the iso.
Did I miss any steps?

Hope you can figure it out, as TL would be the perfect CD32 game browser
I tested the RAD device under similar circumstances sometime ago and was left with the same problem.

I think gibs has only tested it on an expanded CDTV/32.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 08 November 2012, 13:32   #915
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I've found very interesting things in his blog, where he's got a part for Tiny Launcher.

http://ohmygibs.free.fr/ohmygibs/TinyLauncher.html

Dunno why I have the idea he won't come back here...
Retrofan is offline  
Old 23 November 2012, 00:40   #916
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,386
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
Hi guys..
I have this working on my Pandora...
I`ve copied my games across.. made a dir on my hdf called Devs and inside that a dir called Kickstarts and put kick130.rom and kick310.rom in there..

Whatever game I try it gives me the guru error ( file no found )

can it not find the games or the kickstarts??
stainy is offline  
Old 23 November 2012, 17:11   #917
olesio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 337
You do this wrong. In Devs/kickstarts directory you need at least these files. And most of WHDLoad games which new kickstart files should work.
Code:
Kick40068.a1200
Kick40068.a4000
Kick33180.a500
Kick34005.a500
Kick33180.a500.rtb
Kick34005.a500.rtb
Kick40068.a1200.rtb
Kick40068.a4000.rtb
On net you should be able to find these files in correct version and *.rtb files can be downloaded from Aminet. See example information on readme of some game which need any kickstart Image. For example this one: http://whdload.de/games/Franko.html
olesio is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 23:45   #918
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,386
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
ok thanks for that..

Now on my hdf file on the Pandora.. I have those files ( except the A4000 ones ) in a folder called Kickstarts which is in a folder on the root called Devs.

My problem now is that any ECS game I try... gives me a red flashing screen..
stainy is offline  
Old 25 November 2012, 01:04   #919
olesio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 337
If this hdf works properly on WinUAE probable is it some problem of other emulator, not a hdf issue.
olesio is offline  
Old 25 November 2012, 01:37   #920
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,386
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
nah it`s the same on both...

I just got some verified kickstarts... put them in Devs/Kickstarts..

same thing... slow flashing red screen
stainy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiny Launcher 1.7 gibs News 53 27 April 2014 22:48
CDTV Tiny Launcher gibs Amiga scene 68 16 September 2013 05:23
Wii Backup Launcher 0.3 beta Released! seuden Retrogaming General Discussion 4 27 October 2008 13:41
Tiny PAL LCD for A500 Photon support.Hardware 14 12 December 2006 02:05
Tiny Troops Maverick357 support.Games 4 29 July 2001 19:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27130 seconds with 12 queries