English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 January 2012, 00:20   #421
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
diablothe2nd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 January 2012, 00:22   #422
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
put the "setpatch" command before runing TL
gibs is offline  
Old 11 January 2012, 00:31   #423
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
I'm only using a bare 3.1 on that partition... didn't know what i could/should remove so stuck the launcher on at the end

Code:
; $VER: Startup-Sequence_LD 40.3 (31.8.93)
; Startup-Sequence for low-density floppies

C:SetPatch QUIET
C:Version >NIL:
C:AddBuffers >NIL: DF0: 15
FailAt 21

C:MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards RAM:ENV RAM:ENV/Sys
C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC: RAM:ENV ALL NOREQ

Resident >NIL: C:Assign PURE
Resident >NIL: C:Execute PURE

Assign >NIL: ENV: RAM:ENV
Assign >NIL: T: RAM:T
Assign >NIL: CLIPS: RAM:Clipboards
Assign >NIL: REXX: S:
Assign >NIL: PRINTERS: DEVS:Printers
Assign >NIL: KEYMAPS: DEVS:Keymaps
Assign >NIL: LOCALE: SYS:Locale
Assign >NIL: LIBS: SYS:Classes ADD
Assign >NIL: HELP: LOCALE:Help DEFER

IF NOT EXISTS SYS:L
  Assign >NIL: L: Extras3.1:L DEFER
EndIF

IF NOT EXISTS SYS:Fonts
  Assign FONTS:
EndIF

BindDrivers
C:Mount >NIL: DEVS:DOSDrivers/~(#?.info)

IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors
  IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
    DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
  EndIF

  C:List >NIL: DEVS:Monitors/~(#?.info|VGAOnly) TO T:M LFORMAT "DEVS:Monitors/%s"
  Execute T:M
  C:Delete >NIL: T:M
EndIF

SetEnv Language "english"
SetEnv Workbench $Workbench
SetEnv Kickstart $Kickstart
UnSet Workbench
UnSet Kickstart

C:AddDataTypes REFRESH QUIET

IF "`C:Avail TOTAL`" GE "1250000" VAL
  C:LoadResource LIBS:diskfont.library LIBS:iffparse.library LIBS:asl.library LIBS:commodities.library

  C:IPrefs

  IF NOT $Language EQ "english"
    CD LOCALE:Catalogs/$Language
    C:LoadResource Sys/workbench.catalog Sys/libs.catalog Sys/prefs.catalog Sys/commodities.catalog Sys/utilities.catalog
    CD SYS:
  EndIF
Else
  C:IPrefs
EndIF

C:ConClip

Path >NIL: RAM: C: SYS:Utilities SYS:Rexxc SYS:System S: SYS:Prefs SYS:WBStartup SYS:Tools SYS:Tools/Commodities

IF EXISTS S:User-Startup
  Execute S:User-Startup
EndIF

Resident Execute REMOVE
Resident Assign REMOVE

Sys:TinyLauncher187b5.exe

;C:LoadWB

EndCLI >NIL:

Last edited by diablothe2nd; 11 January 2012 at 00:36.
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 11 January 2012, 00:38   #424
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
mine is :

Code:
setpatch >NIL:
anticlick
cd dh0:
tinylauncher.exe
reset
that's all
if you want to do multiple startup-sequence, you can download amiga boot selector.
it's free
gibs is offline  
Old 11 January 2012, 00:46   #425
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
is that reset the reset found here?

http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/AbcsAmigaReset
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 11 January 2012, 00:55   #426
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Don't remember.
It's just a Reset, so I start TL from ABS, when I quit TL, it reset and go back to ABS so I can choose what to do... make sense ?

does the games are working now ?
gibs is offline  
Old 11 January 2012, 00:59   #427
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
it makes sense, but what doesn't make sense is why i'm getting no window to select the table. it just kicks back to TL. Anything needing a window kicks back.

this ABS... I take it that it's not actually a bootloader like Lilo and Grub? and that it simply launches a different startup-sequence from the same or similar partitions?

I'm wondering if my "lite" workbench install simply isn't enough and I've actually gotta install the whole darn thing to work, even if it's not loaded

I'll look at it again tomorrow after a good sleep
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 11 January 2012, 01:25   #428
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
It's not a bootloader, but 'mfilos' managed to boot MorphOS on another partition.

You should not need to use anything else that I put in the code.
and FI, I only have kickstart 3.1
gibs is offline  
Old 11 January 2012, 10:49   #429
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Well it's not rocket science to Boot MorphOS (PuP) from everywhere

Since MorphOS boots by just using a Bootloader command you can boot it from every partition you want (even from a loaded OS 3.9). You just issue the bootloader command and a reboot occurs. Based on the bootdevice that you declare on the bootloader, your MorphOS partition will load just fine.

So it was really easy to just make a small Startup for ABS to just load the Bootlader of Morphos and be done with

I suspect you can also Boot OS 4.1 from ABS the same way, although you'd need to select the OS4.1 partition from OS4.1's kickstart Early Startup Menu once ABS loads the bootlader and reboot occures. Unless you start messing around with Thomas's excellent ChangeBootPri command that is kinda more hardcore but more effective solution inside ABS's startups.
mfilos is offline  
Old 15 January 2012, 01:45   #430
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
Hi gibs

Congrats on getting your Tiny Launcher in the first colour edition of the Amiga Future Mag and nicely written up by Graham Humphrey

All the best

Don
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 16 January 2012, 06:23   #431
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Thanks DonAmiga

BTW 1.8.8 is here : http://aminet.net/util/misc/TinyLauncher.lzh
gibs is offline  
Old 17 January 2012, 03:08   #432
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Remember in 2010 ?
[ Show youtube player ]

Here is the FastNav (for those who have a huge list of games)
This is done by holding 1-2 second the joystick/key 'up'

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1566495/Tiny...%2000%2047.mov

Well...I need to tune it a bit
Edit: Done!

Last edited by gibs; 17 January 2012 at 04:38.
gibs is offline  
Old 17 January 2012, 09:05   #433
olesio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 337
Did I undestand correct - is FastNav is available in 1.8.8? Or it will be available in next version. Because I can not use it. I must hold up direction or what? Forgive me asking.
olesio is offline  
Old 17 January 2012, 11:55   #434
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by olesio View Post
Did I undestand correct - is FastNav is available in 1.8.8? Or it will be available in next version. Because I can not use it. I must hold up direction or what? Forgive me asking.
No. It's for the incoming version.
I plan to remove the 'online' scan too: if the database isn't created, it will create it automatically.
gibs is offline  
Old 23 January 2012, 22:28   #435
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
I did a video to explain the "Jump" function:
[ Show youtube player ]

I also started a documentation (with videos):
http://ohmygibs.free.fr/ohmygibs/TinyLauncher.html

A 2.0 preview : [ Show youtube player ]


Last edited by gibs; 27 January 2012 at 03:41.
gibs is offline  
Old 29 January 2012, 22:48   #436
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 588
Awesome work!
Would it be possible to add support for games organised in subdirectories?
Lots of people are organising WHDLoad games in one drawer per letter like with ClassicWB and AG-Launch.
fgh is offline  
Old 30 January 2012, 13:24   #437
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Hi gibs, tried Tiny Launcher and it is indeed an awsome bit of kit. It's come really far! Currently the best boot time launcher I'm sure!

As with the last poster, it would be great if it could scan a simple assign, like A-Games:, which points to a drawer with letter subdirectories.

Ok, I'm bias as that's how the ClassicWB packs are setup - games sorted by letter drawers. But I can at least ask!

Impressive work however - much appreciated.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 30 January 2012 at 13:32.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 30 January 2012, 17:55   #438
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Thanks.
For some reasons (I can't explain here), I'm going to release the last version of Tiny Launcher.
gibs is offline  
Old 30 January 2012, 18:00   #439
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Sad to hear there will be only a last release (version 2.0 I'm guessing), but what you've given us so far is top draw and its pretty darn usable as it is.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 30 January 2012, 18:12   #440
torturedutopian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: France
Posts: 88
Oh no :-/

Would you consider providing the source code (releasing as GPL for instance ?) so that we can carry on your project ?

If nobody wants to do it, I would definitely be willing to. (Indeed, I'm building an "amiga arcade cabinet" that was to be used with TinyLauncher, so I have a strong motivation

Cheers & thanks for your work !
torturedutopian is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiny Launcher 1.7 gibs News 53 27 April 2014 22:48
CDTV Tiny Launcher gibs Amiga scene 68 16 September 2013 05:23
Wii Backup Launcher 0.3 beta Released! seuden Retrogaming General Discussion 4 27 October 2008 13:41
Tiny PAL LCD for A500 Photon support.Hardware 14 12 December 2006 02:05
Tiny Troops Maverick357 support.Games 4 29 July 2001 19:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31909 seconds with 12 queries