English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 November 2011, 18:30   #261
olesio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 337
Thank you for credits. Everything works fine and exe file have nice sice 232232 bytes
olesio is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 November 2011, 23:57   #262
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Yes, I have noticed yesterday
gibs is offline  
Old 29 November 2011, 09:55   #263
pmc
rebooting...
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,595
232232 bytes is nice, but as this is a Tiny Launcher maybe 148496 bytes is nicer?

I was curious to see what would happen so I compressed TinyLauncher with ProPack.

Check the attached - takes a little longer to start than the original because of the extra time needed for decrunch but is only 64% of its size.

Last edited by pmc; 04 August 2012 at 12:56.
pmc is offline  
Old 29 November 2011, 12:26   #264
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Back in time, I would have compressed it but nowadays it's useless considering the price of the media storage
gibs is offline  
Old 29 November 2011, 13:22   #265
pmc
rebooting...
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,595
pmc is offline  
Old 29 November 2011, 17:37   #266
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
I hope this one is bug-free : http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1566495/Tiny...uncher18b8.exe

KGWHD demoscene ? or demo games ?
You seems the only one interested
Hey, I'm interested too! Just watching this on the side...
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 30 November 2011, 03:12   #267
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
@Bamiga2002 hehehe

Well here is a new screen I'm working on (video):
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1566495/Tiny...r/IMG_3979.mp4
gibs is offline  
Old 05 December 2011, 18:50   #268
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Hey, I'm interested too! Just watching this on the side...
Me too, just keep finding bugs and work on improvements your efforts are appreciated.
In near future I will install it on my A600 with ACA630.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 09 December 2011, 21:50   #269
torturedutopian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: France
Posts: 88
Salut Gibs ! Very cool & useful launcher, thanks a lot for your work :-)

May I ask you a few questions with some ideas ?

1) Important one for me ;-) Is it possible to make "screens transitions / animations" faster than they are today ? I guess I'm not patient enough ;-)

2) Would it be possible to have pictures that look "less retro" for games / demos / etc., more in the style of the demoscene for instance ? The current ones are cool, but don't pay justice to the Amiga ;-)

3) Would it be possible to auto-load a module file ? <-- would be pretty awesome

4) Would it be possible to make the sound effects less loud / less agressive ?

5) Would it be possible to have more categories (custom ones ?) than just "ECS" and "AGA" ? Maybe game genres like action / strategy / shmup... ?

6) Would it be possible to show previews (or the icon maybe ?) of the currently selected game, when the user releases the joystick for one second (not to slow down the menu) ?

7) is it possible to add an option not to exit TinyLauncher when starting a game, so that, after exiting the game, you don't have to reload TinyLauncher in order to make things slightly faster ?

8) Is it possible to force WHDLOAD to use the same "exit" key all the time and other useful options ?

Well, many ideas, but it's already pretty cool the way it is, thanks & keep up the great work Definitely great to use the Amiga in a Arcade Cabinet !

Last edited by torturedutopian; 09 December 2011 at 21:56.
torturedutopian is offline  
Old 09 December 2011, 22:33   #270
olesio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 337
I'm not GIBS, but I can reply my opinion.
Quote:
Originally Posted by torturedutopian View Post
3) Would it be possible to auto-load a module file ? <-- would be pretty awesome
Good idea.
Quote:
5) Would it be possible to have more categories (custom ones ?) than just "ECS" and "AGA" ? Maybe game genres like action / strategy / shmup... ?
Not needed in my opinion, as far as I remember other launcher can do that.
Quote:
8) Is it possible to force WHDLOAD to use the same "exit" key all the time and other useful options ?
Use S:WHDLoad.prefs file a following tooltype in this file: QuitKey=$59 Quits as F10 key, more information you can find in WHDLoad documentation.
olesio is offline  
Old 10 December 2011, 00:47   #271
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
1/ yes I can add this feature.
2/ I plan to switch the demo (maybe by the Devil from the Doc demo)
3/ Yes it's already in the code since 1.4, but not activated (Why? because I needed to try on a real A500 with 1MB of RAM).
5/I'm working on something more interesting. you'll see.
7/ I could but from the beginning, Tiny launcher is for low memory computers.

Thanks for your appreciation.
gibs is offline  
Old 10 December 2011, 11:31   #272
torturedutopian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: France
Posts: 88
Gibs : pretty cool, thanks !
torturedutopian is offline  
Old 10 December 2011, 14:21   #273
torturedutopian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: France
Posts: 88
Oh by the way, I have an issue : I run TinyLauncher at the beginning of my startup-sequence, and after exiting a game I get an error similar to "Device not found" (I'll double check to give you the exact error message). And, thus, for some reason, I cannot store the return code to check if TL was exited or if a game was exited and thus if it has to be put in a "loop" or if I can carry on loading the Workbench.

I get the same error when I start TL without startup sequence. (I don't get the error if I exit TL without selecting a game).

A last question : is it normal that the "workbench screen" appears for a fraction of a second if I start TL at the beginning of the startup-sequence ? Shouldn't the screen remain black all the time ?

Cheers & thanks again !

BTW : I have a 2 MB A1200, ATM, with a modified "3.9 rom" which seems to eat more memory (many things preloaded, like Kingcon etc. even with no startup sequence ;-)" and really few games (even ECS ones) work. Well, it's not your fault

Last edited by torturedutopian; 10 December 2011 at 14:29.
torturedutopian is offline  
Old 10 December 2011, 15:18   #274
olesio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 337
@:torturedutopian: try following code (change DH1:Path to your TinyLaunhcer Path)
Code:
assign >NIL: T: RAM:
assign >NIL: ENV: RAM:

IF EXISTS S:tl_startup
  execute S:tl_startup
EndIf

LAB LOADTL
set >NIL: Reply `DH1:TINYLAUNCHER/TinyLauncher.exe`
IF $Reply not eq "5"
  skip LOADTL BACK
EndIf
A S:tl_startup file contain only
Code:
assign >NIL: TLGECS: DH1:GAMES/!ECS
because I'm using TLGECS: in some *.tl script for few games to change directory to it. I own real Amiga 1200 with 3.0 kickstart, 4 MB Ram Extension and Classic WB Lite installed. I got only error about CON: process when I executed set command without ">nil:". So are you sure you do not have something wrong in your startup-sequence file after executing Tiny Launcher? I'm not OS 3.9 expert because I never use it, but maybe it is something wrong with your system components. Try the same config and system installed under WinUAE to easyiest debug process than real Amiga. But maybe I'm wrong and someone other here can help you better in this case.
olesio is offline  
Old 10 December 2011, 15:39   #275
torturedutopian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: France
Posts: 88
Actually my "ROM 3.9" is just a ROM 3.1 with some built-in patches like kingcon etc. ; it has nothing to do with AOS 3.9

So when using your script, it makes no difference actually, I was doing the same thing.

- If I quit TL directly, I get "Error in command name" and the startup sequence stops (just after calling TL, then)
- If I quit a whdload game I get :

"Device not available. DH1:Games/Games/TinyLauncher/TinyLauncher.exe returncode 20
Error in command name"

Thanks for your reply !
Cheers

Last edited by torturedutopian; 10 December 2011 at 15:58.
torturedutopian is offline  
Old 10 December 2011, 15:46   #276
torturedutopian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: France
Posts: 88
Also, in the "Mods player" I noticed some filenames were truncated (I use the "library mode"). If I select them and move to a different page, it leads to a crash.

Finally, some .mod file are not played properly, but I guess you cannot do anything about it, it's due to the library AMOS calls to play mods

Cheers !
torturedutopian is offline  
Old 10 December 2011, 23:26   #277
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
1/ Refresh the library by pressing F1 if you update your files.
2/ it's a protracker player, so open the files with protracker and save them again.
gibs is offline  
Old 12 December 2011, 17:21   #278
Lobotomika
Registered User
Lobotomika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: in the past and present
Posts: 122
TBH I'm not following this project for two pages but I'm not ashamed to say that I think it may be a good idea to split this project into two forks:

TinyLauncher and gibslauncher then add non essential features to the latter while keeping the Tiny one well... tiny (in features, not talking about file size here)

And by features I mean just game/demo slave launching without weird folder limitations.

Edit: tried the latest version now and decided I were a bit pessimistic while writing this. It still seems to be in the tiny and cool territory for now but I'm still worried that it's about to change

Last edited by Lobotomika; 12 December 2011 at 20:49.
Lobotomika is offline  
Old 13 December 2011, 22:25   #279
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Here is the 1.8.2: http://aminet.net/util/misc/TinyLauncher182.lzh

It can now play a music module at launch.
(just put mod called 'TLMusic.mod' in S:TinyLauncher/

Also if someone want to purpose a gfx for the demo menu, so Lobotomika won't call it uglylauncher again ^^
gibs is offline  
Old 14 December 2011, 16:13   #280
mombasajoe
Registered User

mombasajoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D
Age: 42
Posts: 522
Does it also work on a stock CD32 as a games compilation CD with fast navigation?
mombasajoe is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiny Launcher 1.7 gibs News 53 27 April 2014 22:48
CDTV Tiny Launcher gibs Amiga scene 68 16 September 2013 05:23
Wii Backup Launcher 0.3 beta Released! seuden Retrogaming General Discussion 4 27 October 2008 13:41
Tiny PAL LCD for A500 Photon support.Hardware 14 12 December 2006 02:05
Tiny Troops Maverick357 support.Games 4 29 July 2001 19:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.76039 seconds with 12 queries