English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 September 2011, 19:43   #1
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
Best network setup?

I was wondering, what is the best network setup for the Amiga thats cheap?

I heard about Null Modem and Serial, I always assumed Serial was the best one, but a lot of people seem to use Null Modem?

In terms of compatability and price, which is best?
Dreedo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 September 2011, 19:49   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,553
Nullmodem *is* serial. You need a serial nullmodem cable to connect two computers (similar to a crossover ethernet cable).

To connect a computer to a device (e.g. a modem), you need a normal (non-nullmodem) serial cable.

You cannot connect two computers with a normal serial cable.

As you've got an Amiga with PCMCIA, best would be an ethernet network card (3com or NE2000).
thomas is offline  
Old 25 September 2011, 19:50   #3
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
Ah... well thats me told.

Thanks.

Do you need DB25F to DB25F to network 2 Amiga's?

Last edited by Dreedo; 25 September 2011 at 20:04.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 11 October 2011, 20:11   #4
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 28
Posts: 325
You could use a parallel cable, which is faster than null modem (serial) and cheaper than ethernet. But still slow compared to ethernet and probably more difficult to set up.

For a nullmodem connection I use a DB25F(Amiga) to DB9F(PC).
twiggy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CD+G setup? flibble42 support.WinUAE 21 03 September 2010 21:26
setup help Terramex New to Emulation or Amiga scene 40 14 December 2008 05:41
Networking A1200 How To Setup Network With SMB Connect crazyegg support.Apps 14 26 November 2008 04:08
PCMCIA network setup problems Bane support.Hardware 29 11 February 2008 16:58
How about this A1200 setup? Akira MarketPlace 1 10 October 2001 23:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15544 seconds with 11 queries