English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 September 2011, 23:47   #1
ocean
Rookie Amiga user
ocean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Forssa / Finland
Posts: 28
Send a message via MSN to ocean
Exclamation Amiga A600HD/40

Sorry for starting new thread, but I didn't manage to get info anywhere else...

Well, the story goes like this: I bought an a600 and started cleaning it. In the middle of taking pen stains out of the surface I noticed that the case has two badges on it!? I carefully removed the top sticker (that said usual "Commodore A600") and noticed that the original sticker has "Commodore A600HD/40" on it! :-O

As I have been looking A600 HD for a while I was stunned! WTF? Does the /40 mean that it had 40 mb hard disk on it? What about the rarity? I have never seen a logo like that. Or am I just too excited to see the obvious? :-P And why on earth someone will re-stamp this with standard a600 logo? (Maybe the same guy who rip the HD off...)

Well, here's the photo of it (it really needs some retr0bright, but the keys had to go first...). Please tell me, if someone does have any information on this...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0350_small.jpg
Views:	443
Size:	108.2 KB
ID:	29413  
ocean is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 September 2011, 23:56   #2
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
I have seen logos like that but on A1200.
Never seen one (even in photo) of an A600HD/40!

It's indeed means an 40MB HD inside (same as A1200HD/40).
mfilos is offline  
Old 07 September 2011, 12:20   #3
ocean
Rookie Amiga user
ocean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Forssa / Finland
Posts: 28
Send a message via MSN to ocean
Well, it looks like it could be quite rare. It has even swe/fin keyboard layout ;-)

The twin-sticker is still a mystery. Maybe this one is factory refurbished? Broken HD removed and re-branded as ordinary A600? :-D
ocean is offline  
Old 07 September 2011, 13:04   #4
discomeats
Just add brown sauce.
discomeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North East Englandland
Posts: 170
it must be worth at least $500 now!!!
discomeats is offline  
Old 07 September 2011, 13:18   #5
bbsteal
Registered User
bbsteal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 27
Send a message via MSN to bbsteal
Cool , never see too A600HD/40...

The A600HD itīs rare too ?
bbsteal is offline  
Old 07 September 2011, 14:21   #6
ocean
Rookie Amiga user
ocean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Forssa / Finland
Posts: 28
Send a message via MSN to ocean
Well, I've seen A600 HD's in ebay going for about Ģ 100, but those sticker just says "Commodore A600 HD" (like this: http://www.amigahistory.co.uk/commodore/a600hd.jpg ). Maybe I should try to get an original 40 Mb HD instead of CF-card inside this... :-D
ocean is offline  
Old 08 September 2011, 09:52   #7
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
I don't think the HD versions are so rare. I have one myself as well but I have seen occasionally on eBay HD versions with no difference than the normal ones
mfilos is offline  
Old 08 September 2011, 12:19   #8
ocean
Rookie Amiga user
ocean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Forssa / Finland
Posts: 28
Send a message via MSN to ocean
I know the HD versions are not rare, but I have never seen a sticker with "/40" on it. That's what I was originally wondering... Inside there's rev 2D motherboard with 2.05 (37.350) kick rom, so nothing special.
ocean is offline  
Old 08 September 2011, 14:37   #9
mikele
Registered User
mikele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: poland
Posts: 293
congrats ocean, you've got a real gem! I've seen hundreds of A600's in my life, dozens of A600HD's, but never /xx models.
mikele is offline  
Old 08 September 2011, 15:23   #10
Gordon
Settler

Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikele View Post
congrats ocean, you've got a real gem! I've seen hundreds of A600's in my life, dozens of A600HD's, but never /xx models.
maybe in all those Amiga 600's you have seen some of them were /xx models too becuase you didnt peel of the case badge like Ocean?
Gordon is offline  
Old 08 September 2011, 18:08   #11
ocean
Rookie Amiga user
ocean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Forssa / Finland
Posts: 28
Send a message via MSN to ocean
Well, after googling a while I've seen at least two other "/40" models, one of them were in Dutch site. I guess these kind of badges was used in latter versions of HD-models and therefore they are more rare than a600 or even a600hd badges.

Afterall, I'm starting to restore this baby. As you can see from the picture, it's running smoothly from a 4 gb cf from ebay... Anyone with a spare 40 mb hd and willing to sell it? ;-)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0361_pieni.jpg
Views:	302
Size:	342.3 KB
ID:	29419  
ocean is offline  
Old 08 September 2011, 18:57   #12
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 237
Send a message via MSN to voyager
Maybe visit the retro bright topic and put some B Blonde Cream Peroxide on here and whitin a day she is all ivory white again.
voyager is offline  
Old 08 September 2011, 20:04   #13
ocean
Rookie Amiga user
ocean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Forssa / Finland
Posts: 28
Send a message via MSN to ocean
I have been trying to retrobright the keys (they are a little bit whiter than the case), but I've run out of h2o2... :-D Today I installed a 601 extra mem just to realize that it's only 512 kb, not 1 meg and no rtc battery at all... :-(

Thanks for all the comments, now I'm twice as wise about a600:s as I was before! :-D
ocean is offline  
Old 26 March 2014, 01:28   #14
daver
 
Posts: n/a
Hi ! today i found a A600HD/40 too in a thrift shop here in sweden
 
Old 27 March 2014, 11:18   #15
ocean
Rookie Amiga user
ocean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Forssa / Finland
Posts: 28
Send a message via MSN to ocean
Congratulations! Is it working? Does it have that noisy 40 Mb HD in it?
ocean is offline  
Old 27 March 2014, 14:49   #16
daver
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks ! Yes it works perfectly and it has the noisy 40 hd in it
 
Old 27 March 2014, 20:53   #17
ocean
Rookie Amiga user
ocean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Forssa / Finland
Posts: 28
Send a message via MSN to ocean
Lol I bought an another HD for my A600 as the factory apparently removed the first one. When I first started the machine I was scared as hell and thought that I was sold a broken HD. Well, there it goes, screaming like a circular saw but working . It's a beautiful little machine!

Nowadays I have a friend for it, an A1200 HD/40
ocean is offline  
Old 27 March 2014, 22:07   #18
daver
 
Posts: n/a
cool
yes they are very noisy, i wonder if the 20 mb hd was as loud ?
congratulations on your A1200HD/40 i hear they are even more rare
btw have you manage to get more info about the A600HD/40 ? is it a very late model or is it part of an bundle that didn't sell much ?
 
Old 27 March 2014, 22:40   #19
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by daver View Post
cool
yes they are very noisy, i wonder if the 20 mb hd was as loud ?
Indeed it was.
FOL is offline  
Old 27 March 2014, 23:33   #20
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
My first HD for an Amiga (2000) was 20Mb
Then upgraded to a 40Mb one and after I bought an A1200 I had a whoppin' 350Mb! Had to cut the red wire from hd cable though...
Bamiga2002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just bought an A600HD clownstyle MarketPlace 49 12 January 2013 18:52
Reinstalling on A600HD SurferJoe New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 06 March 2010 03:23
Trying to fix a Amiga A600HD Ioncannon support.Hardware 38 20 October 2009 20:19
ClassicWB on A600HD. prart project.ClassicWB 30 01 June 2009 18:07
wb disks for A600hd L8-X request.Apps 0 03 March 2003 21:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.64701 seconds with 12 queries