English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 August 2011, 05:12   #1
paul2004v
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hinckley, Leicestershire, UK
Posts: 31
Writing ADF's back to floppies

Ok so I've read plenty of threads on here regarding the subject and as far as I can tell it should be as easy as install TSGui, tell it where the .adf lives and write it back to the floppy.

The thing is, I'm having no joy. The .adf's in question (Xenon II) work fine in WinUAE so I know they're ok but when I write them to the disks and reboot to test them, the boot sector loads into AmigaDOS and then I get an error stating that the disk is not a DOS disk.

Well Duh! It's a game, it's highly unlikely to be a DOS disk...

So what am I missing? I've tried adf2disk, ADF Blitzer and TSGui and all have failed with the same result.

TIA

Paul
paul2004v is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 August 2011, 05:21   #2
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,027
I had problems with certain non dos disks until I used tracktool by codetapper. There may be others that do non-dos disks just as well but thats the one I know of.

You place it in C and then call it from the CLI.
Tracktool WRITE xenon2.adf DF0:

Tracktool Download Page


Or if you are using WB2 and up you could try diskwiz on the same page.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 27 August 2011, 05:30   #3
paul2004v
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hinckley, Leicestershire, UK
Posts: 31
Thanks for the pointer... No dice I'm afraid.... I've just tried TransDisk too and they all produce the same result :-/

Very puzzled...

Paul
paul2004v is offline  
Old 27 August 2011, 05:36   #4
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,027
ok, try this. eject the disk just after its done, write protect it and then insert it again after resetting the amiga.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 27 August 2011, 05:48   #5
paul2004v
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hinckley, Leicestershire, UK
Posts: 31
Hmmmm..... Still not playing

I can write adf files of discs that I've imaged myself back to disk with no problems.

This is the first time I've tried to write adfs that aren't ADOS format back to floppies and I'm failing miserably

Paul
paul2004v is offline  
Old 27 August 2011, 10:39   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2004v View Post
when I write them to the disks and reboot to test them, the boot sector loads into AmigaDOS and then I get an error stating that the disk is not a DOS disk.
If the disks originally had a custom boot block but after writing to disk boot into AmigaDOS, then this could be caused by a virus. The virus overwrites the boot blocks with itself and imitates a DOS bootblock. With normal DOS disks this won't be recogised, but for custom boot blocks it is deadly.
thomas is offline  
Old 27 August 2011, 16:14   #7
paul2004v
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hinckley, Leicestershire, UK
Posts: 31
Well I've scanned the entire hard drive and the two floppies I've been using using VirusZ from vht-dk.dk and it reports 0 viruses on the system.

Looking at the boot sector it doesn't look like a ADOS boot sector so its definitely non-standard...

I think I'm going to try some other adfs to see if I have success with those...

Paul
paul2004v is offline  
Old 27 August 2011, 16:25   #8
tomse
We need more scans!

tomse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 42
Posts: 282
you could try and see if they work in UAE, the problem could also be the adf image you have is defective.

tsgui is a nice tool too but in general I think they all use the trackdisk.device

just my 5 cent :-)
T
tomse is offline  
Old 27 August 2011, 16:31   #9
paul2004v
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hinckley, Leicestershire, UK
Posts: 31
Hi tomse. I did mention in my OP that the adfs work in WinUAE. That's why I figured it would be easy enough to write them to disks and have a quick blast on a real Amiga... It's just proving trickier than I'd expected :-/

Paul
paul2004v is offline  
Old 27 August 2011, 16:36   #10
tomse
We need more scans!

tomse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 42
Posts: 282
so you did, also mentioned the tsgui.. sorry I forgot that while reading through the replies..

I'm not sure if it is possible but:

mount the ADF file, use xcopy (if it's possible) or some other disk-to-disk copy to copy from the mounted adf to the diskette.

an alternative, and alittle off topic, you could use whdload if you have enough mem
tomse is offline  
Old 27 August 2011, 18:27   #11
paul2004v
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hinckley, Leicestershire, UK
Posts: 31
Ok, I appear to have fixed it.

I simply re-copied the adf image files from my NAS and tried again. Everything worked first time. So it seems that the first attempt to transfer the files mauled the images in some way.

Xenon 2 is now working :-)

Thanks for all your suggestions and help

Paul
paul2004v is offline  
Old 28 August 2011, 00:35   #12
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by T_hairy_bootson View Post
All attempts to download DiskSalv4 from this webpage will result in a corrupted file due to failure of Tripod's HTML interface to treat files with DMS extension as binaries. Files with LHA extension are not similarly affected.

As a consequence, all instances of '<B' and '<F' in the downloaded file will be replaced with '<b' and '<f', respectively. In addition, there will be some HTML code appended to the file.

This problem affects all DMS files downloaded from webpages hosted by Tripod. It is for this reason that all releases of the A-Max software available for download from the A-Max homepage, are not really ZIP archives at all, but DMS disk images renamed ZIP.

I attach a fixed DiskSalv4.dms file here.
Attached Files
File Type: zip DiskSalv4.zip (209.6 KB, 387 views)
prowler is offline  
Old 28 August 2011, 03:35   #13
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,027
Thats codetapper's page, so you may want to let him know.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 28 August 2011, 21:22   #14
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Thanks, I wasn't entirely sure. I'll send him a PM.
prowler is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making Turrican 3 backup and writing it back to diskette. Mendel support.Games 12 11 June 2013 20:39
Writing a HDF back to a Hard Drive Cauterize support.Hardware 6 12 October 2011 00:41
Problems writing ADF daznic support.Hardware 22 09 August 2011 14:23
Need a good ADF-Tool for writing back onto disk Alf support.Apps 7 01 July 2007 17:18
ADF/IPF reading/writing on a PC? cappuchok support.Hardware 19 03 October 2006 05:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23682 seconds with 12 queries