English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene > Member Introductions

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 August 2011, 17:39   #1
entireweb
 
Posts: n/a
Hi from Munich & ACA 630/25 question

Hi from Munich.

I used to have an Amiga 500 back in the day and have been playing around with Amiga Forever, for a while.

Any way I took the plunge recently after watching a youtube video on the Amiga 600.

[ Show youtube player ]

And I bought an Amiga 600 off ebay, a A604 Memory expansion from amigiakit and a 4GB CF flash ide off ebay as well. The idea was to create a gaming Amiga that I could plug into my TV as shown in the above video.

But I miscalculated on the availabilty and price of PCMCIA Sram cards.

I read that you need at least 4MB total ram for WHDload to work correctly. Is this true? Or will it work with just 2mb chip ram (for say the top twenty amiga 500 games)?

I saw a couple of PCMCIA memory cards on ebay. They where expensive at 43 pounds for the 2mb and 75 for the 4mb. So I thought of getting the ACA 630/25 accelerator (this is getting expensive now!) with its 32mb of fast ram. Is this overkill for a wdhload gaming machine?

Also what kickstart do I need to get the CF ide working?

If I buy a ACA 630/25 can to copy a kickstart rom image to ram using Maprom via software so I dont need to buy a new kickstart rom.

Or should I also buy a Kickstart 3.1 ROM chip for the Amiga A600?

Thanks.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 August 2011, 06:14   #2
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by entireweb View Post
Hi from Munich.

I used to have an Amiga 500 back in the day and have been playing around with Amiga Forever, for a while.

Any way I took the plunge recently after watching a youtube video on the Amiga 600.

[ Show youtube player ]

And I bought an Amiga 600 off ebay, a A604 Memory expansion from amigiakit and a 4GB CF flash ide off ebay as well. The idea was to create a gaming Amiga that I could plug into my TV as shown in the above video.

But I miscalculated on the availabilty and price of PCMCIA Sram cards.

I read that you need at least 4MB total ram for WHDload to work correctly. Is this true? Or will it work with just 2mb chip ram (for say the top twenty amiga 500 games)?

I saw a couple of PCMCIA memory cards on ebay. They where expensive at 43 pounds for the 2mb and 75 for the 4mb. So I thought of getting the ACA 630/25 accelerator (this is getting expensive now!) with its 32mb of fast ram. Is this overkill for a wdhload gaming machine?

Also what kickstart do I need to get the CF ide working?

If I buy a ACA 630/25 can to copy a kickstart rom image to ram using Maprom via software so I dont need to buy a new kickstart rom.

Or should I also buy a Kickstart 3.1 ROM chip for the Amiga A600?

Thanks.
i would say that its down to personal prefrents wether you get a aca630 or not,i would get one the a nice bit of kit.

yes whdload needs more memory i would say 6-8mb in total,4-8mb fast 2mb chipram if you want to be able to play all/most the games anyway.

a pcmcia memory card will give your system a little bit of a boost in speed on top of the extra memory but again its a personal choice,i would go for the aca 630 myself.

as for the kickstart 3.1 rom.again i would say yes,but you dont really need it if you just want to play games through whdload.
there are options.you can remap a 3.1 image to fastram with an aca 630 without the actual rom chip.
if you just want to use whdload the 3.1 image only neads to be present in devs/kickstarts.

regards roy
roy bates is offline  
Old 02 September 2011, 21:19   #3
entireweb
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
i would say that its down to personal prefrents wether you get a aca630 or not,i would get one the a nice bit of kit.

yes whdload needs more memory i would say 6-8mb in total,4-8mb fast 2mb chipram if you want to be able to play all/most the games anyway.

a pcmcia memory card will give your system a little bit of a boost in speed on top of the extra memory but again its a personal choice,i would go for the aca 630 myself.

as for the kickstart 3.1 rom.again i would say yes,but you dont really need it if you just want to play games through whdload.
there are options.you can remap a 3.1 image to fastram with an aca 630 without the actual rom chip.
if you just want to use whdload the 3.1 image only neads to be present in devs/kickstarts.

regards roy
Thanks for your advice. I bought a aca 630. I am impressed as to its quality and also the service from amigakit. It was very easy to install and doesnt get as hot as I had read/feared. Its just warm.
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ACA 630 where to buy? nixxj MarketPlace 6 20 June 2012 15:34
Wanted: ACA 630, Apollo 620, Viper 630, A608 mazsola MarketPlace 2 07 March 2012 19:31
ACA 630/25 wont boot CritAnime support.Hardware 6 03 December 2011 12:31
Quick ACA 630/25 question CritAnime support.Hardware 10 01 December 2011 00:43
My own experience with ACA 630/25MHz Predseda support.Hardware 84 01 August 2011 18:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13498 seconds with 11 queries