English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene > Member Introductions

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 August 2011, 11:55   #1
Anderai
 
Posts: n/a
Hello...

Hi Everyone

Having lurked whilst trying to install ClassicWB in Winuae and my recently bought 1200 yesterday (I succeeded in managing both....eventually!) I thought it was time I registered.

I last had an Amiga 1200 (and a 500 before that) back in 1998 before the lure of the PC was too much and I went through a succession of desktop PCs and now eventually a laptop. I was always too much of a fan of the Amiga and despite having PS1, PS2, PS3 and Xbox 360 Slim, I still missed the Amiga.

So, recently a friend sold me his 1200 (packaged away for ten years in the loft) and that's why you're reading this....

I've been impressed with how much knowledge there is on this board and I have a feeling that I'll be counting on it again sooner rather than later.

Cheers

Andy
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 August 2011, 12:02   #2
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Hi Anderai and welcome to EAB!

Enjoy your stay
TCD is offline  
Old 11 August 2011, 20:38   #3
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Welcome, nice to have another member NOT from Englandshire!
DDNI is offline  
Old 11 August 2011, 21:32   #4
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
Hello and welcome

nice to see a fellow Scot on board
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 11 August 2011, 21:46   #5
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,206
Hi Andy, and welcome aboard!

If your new A1200 has a RAM card or accelerator with RTC in the trapdoor, be sure to check that the battery has either been removed or not leaked ASAP.

If there is any sign of leakage or corrosion, cut the battery away as quick as you can and clean up any residue with lemon juice and then wash it away with tap water and leave to dry thoroughly before reinserting it.

The battery only serves to update the system time and date.
prowler is offline  
Old 15 August 2011, 13:58   #6
Anderai
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the welcome guys and @ Prowler, I have checked the accelerator card and everything is fine. Should I remove the battery as a matter of course?
 
Old 15 August 2011, 22:47   #7
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderai View Post
@ Prowler, I have checked the accelerator card and everything is fine.
That's better news than you could ever imagine. A leaking battery can be a disaster, especially on faster processor boards where the component density is so much greater and the printed circuit is correspondingly finer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderai View Post
Should I remove the battery as a matter of course?
If it's in very good condition, and you're intending to use the machine regularly, then it should be OK to leave it connected. Just be sure to check it from time to time for changes to the appearance of the battery, such as discolouration or salty deposits. At the first sign of trouble, remove the battery and replace it with a new one if you wish.

You would also be wise to remove the battery if you plan to put it into storage for any length of time.
prowler is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.37188 seconds with 10 queries