English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 July 2011, 11:37   #1
Cooljerk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston, USA
Posts: 63
Buying my first Amiga product ever - a CD32. Help?

I'm brand new to the world of Amiga, and after dicking around with WinUAE for a few years now, my desire to buy a real, tangible Amiga to play with has grown strong enough that I'm about to pull the trigger on a CD32.

The thing is, I want to have access to the entire game library, not just limited to the NTSC software. I live in the US, so obviously the subject of PAL->NTSC conversion is bound to come up, hence the point of this topic. I've been reading a bunch of posts, and the general trend I've found is that people recommend NOT getting a PAL CD32 unless you absolutely must. Let's just put it aside, I'm probably not gonna get an NTSC console. I can't find them, for one reason, while I can find the PAL CD32s easily.

That said, I want to make sure I do everything correctly to make sure I can play the PAL CD32 on my NTSC tv. To clarify, I have an LCD HDTV, which accepts a VGA input. It's 60hz, and NTSC. I've seen a ton of direct references to this product in particular:

http://www.sourcingmap.com/digital-c...aign=usfroogle

It claims to be able to convert from a PAL s-video input to an NTSC VGA output. However, I've also read that you should be weary of converters, as sometimes they only convert the color information, not the frequency of the output, so I might have correct NTSC color, but it'll still output at 50 hz. Is that going to be a problem with the above converter? If I start a CD32 without putting it in NTSC mode (which is just a 60hz switch without converting the color format, right?) and use that adapter, will it still work on an NTSC LCD monitor?

In other words, will a stock PAL CD32 in NOT ntsc mode output to an NTSC LCD 60hz monitor without problems using that converter? If the answer is yes, then I'll pull the trigger on a CD32 right now.

Sorry for being so verbose, I want to make sure I communicate my concern carefully. I hate wasting money, ha.
Cooljerk is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 July 2011, 11:42   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Are you sure your TV dosent support PAL already?

All my PAL LCD TV'S support NTSC :-)

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 12:29   #3
Cooljerk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston, USA
Posts: 63
After gogling the specs of my (shitty) tv, it does not... I think. It is a vivitek 40" lcd, and it lists ntsc and atsc as the tv modes. Under the vga specs, though, it accepts an input of 50-100 khz vertical, and 30-80 hz horizontal. Sooo... I dunno. Either way, does that converter work as I described above?
Cooljerk is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 12:31   #4
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 737
If your TV has a hdmi port, plug in a pc with hdmi and see if you ca set the display to 50hz in windows. If it can, forget about the cd32 and use winuae with a small pc. This will be much more flexible and less restrictrive.
rare_j is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 12:38   #5
Cooljerk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston, USA
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by rare_j View Post
If your TV has a hdmi port, plug in a pc with hdmi and see if you ca set the display to 50hz in windows. If it can, forget about the cd32 and use winuae with a small pc. This will be much more flexible and less restrictrive.
This is currently my setup, although I use vga. I want a real amiga. My pc won't list any 50hz modes when connected.
Cooljerk is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 23:38   #6
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 737
Apologies, in that case, perhaps you have some other equipment you can test the tv with, through the svideo socket, like a dvd player or camcorder that can be set to pal output? Its entirely possible yout tv will just display it.
rare_j is offline  
Old 25 July 2011, 04:23   #7
Cooljerk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston, USA
Posts: 63
Unfortunately I do not, and sorry for being non-verbose in my last few replies, they were sent from my phone.

In any case, I just ordered a PAL CD32 so looks like I'm committed to this. Anyone have experience with one of those TFT->VGA converters?
Cooljerk is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying a CD32 compatible gamepad is cool but... Mounty Retrogaming General Discussion 2 04 August 2013 16:02
Advice on buying a CD32 antonvaltaz support.Hardware 22 14 October 2010 22:43
Help identifying Commodore product ! Foul request.Other 9 25 April 2010 04:17
Need a manual for a Commodore product? Paul_s support.Hardware 13 07 December 2006 17:20
Buying an Amiga Mr Softy Retrogaming General Discussion 28 16 January 2003 21:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12801 seconds with 11 queries