English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Demos

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 August 2002, 08:00   #1
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
Ascii Junkie

Has anyone managed to get Ascii Junkie working in WinUAE? If so, what config, etc?

If you don't already have it, download it from http://www.crsn.com/ss2/files/SS2-ASCJ.LHA
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 August 2002, 11:19   #2
LordBug
Registered User
LordBug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Someplace
Posts: 88
Well, I've managed to get it to partially work:

020 FPU setup. Kick 3.1, OS 3.1. CPU/Chipset timing set to 1-4 (tried all). No JIT (it crashes WinUAE on me anyway). AGA mode. I found it doesn't work at all on ECS. Sound at 100%.

I can get to where they are spelling out ASCII, but I lose the video part during the second spelling anim. The music continues on. If I try my usual, "fastest possible, but maintain timings", I have no video after "r u ascii junkie?", but I do have sound.

Very unique demo, for sure. Too bad I can't see the back half of it.
LordBug is offline  
Old 23 August 2002, 12:22   #3
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for your help LordBug

Looking at your settings, there's 2 differences, those being 020+FPU and CPU/Chipset timing set to 1-4....

My config is as follows:

Ram: 2mb Chip, 8mb Fast, 1mb Slow, 512mb Z3 Fast, 32mb RTG
Rom: Kickstart 3.1 (40.069) (A1200) (Commodore) (1993)
CPU: 68040. Fastest Possible but maintain chipset timing..No JIT (I've never touched JIT, so I have no idea if it's good or not)
Misc: BSD Socket Library Emulation
Chipset: AGA. Immediate Blits. Fast Copper. Collision Level: Full
Sound: Enabled. 100% Accurate. Sound Buffer 3

Out of all that, the only thing I need to change to get the demo running is the chipset timing...The CPU can stay at 68040, but when I change the chipset timing to 4 (didn't try the others), it works....

But...I also lose the video at the second spelling part...It is definately a shame. I really like this demo.

I know the demo works fine on a real Amiga because I used to watch it alot years ago

If anyone else can help, I (and possibly even Lordbug), would appreciate it

Thanks
 
Old 23 August 2002, 12:27   #4
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
I got to here before it crashed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image1.gif
Views:	237
Size:	62.8 KB
ID:	3377  
Paul is offline  
Old 23 August 2002, 12:37   #5
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Yep Thatīs exactly the place where it also crashes for me
RetroMan is offline  
Old 23 August 2002, 12:48   #6
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
ah

You guys made it alot further....
What differences are there between my config and a working config? (if any)
 
Old 23 August 2002, 12:59   #7
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
I will post my config as soon as I get home this evening Maybe Paul is faster
RetroMan is offline  
Old 23 August 2002, 13:19   #8
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Good news, I got it working in Winuae 21r4 as well and that pic is the end.

Try this config (remember to change dir paths)
Attached Files
File Type: uae demo.uae (4.2 KB, 128 views)
Paul is offline  
Old 23 August 2002, 13:28   #9
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
hmm. I tried your config Paul and got the same result that I did at the beginning of this thread. I mucked around and tweaked settings and the same.

Oh well. That's life I guess
 
Old 23 August 2002, 13:45   #10
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
@Amigaboy

Thatīs weird
RetroMan is offline  
Old 23 August 2002, 17:01   #11
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,957
Time to turn on the Amiga, meegaboy
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ello' n thanks (and a EAB ascii from me :) ne7 Amiga scene 8 31 December 2008 10:57
OldskoolUK Ascii News#5 - out now! DaZZaBoY News 2 20 April 2007 21:26
OldskoolUK Ascii News#4 - released DaZZaBoY News 6 03 March 2007 02:19
OldskoolUK Ascii Newsletter#3 - OUT NOW! DaZZaBoY News 14 02 February 2007 23:55
ASCII One Chip MSX Cancelled adolescent Retrogaming General Discussion 1 01 September 2005 03:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14545 seconds with 12 queries