English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene > Member Introductions

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 July 2011, 03:54   #1
Gandalf
Registered User
Gandalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Manitoba / Canada
Posts: 17
Hello from Canada!

Hi all,

My name is Shaun and I live in Manitoba. I started using an Amiga back in the A1000 / A500 days (1988 I believe, would have been 9 then). I currently own an A500 and an A1200 (Blizzard 060/50 w/ SCSI add-on). Not sure where they are currently in the house though, lol. I have an old amiga page which lists my A1200 parts for my system.

http://web.archive.org/web/200502101....net/~fabsced/

My only regret with my amiga is moving the 1200 from the desktop casing into a tower. Since then, the system randomly locks up and gives various colored screens of death. My only reason for moving it to a tower was for the zorro interface for a toaster card I purchased (for using a webcam and video production). Unfortunately the card was defective and I couldn't bring myself to move the motherboard back into the desktop casing after spending the money on the tower.

I used to hang out on IRC a lot back then in the amiga channels, mainly on Undernet and Galaxynet I believe. I helped Beta-test YAM for a bit, until someone hacked my amiga and stole the program. I was then removed from the testing list. I messed around with eggdrop bots, ran an RPGBBS server over telnet via telserd.device (if I recall the device name). I also used to stream music online via AmiPhone. A bunch of us would chain our amiphones together and it would stream to everyone in the chain. Those were the good ole days.

I have a Retail copy of AMOS Pro but never really got into it. Wasn't sure where to start for learning to program in it (not a gfx person). I did read through the BASIC manual when I was 12 and wrote all the tutorials it had in AmigaBASIC (WB 1.3).

I believe I was around 18-20 when I moved over from the amiga to using windows-based computers. The software for the pc was advancing past what the amiga could do, and trying to use a 1200 that kept randomly crashing was too much for me. I was able to ftp most of my amiga DH0 onto the PC which I use in WinUAE.

I'm sure this is way more then what you all would expect for a simple 'hello', but that is just me saying hello, lol.

On a side note, the ribbon for my Dataflyer XDS needs replacement. The sides of the IDE connector that connect the ribbon to the xds unit broke and I'm using electrical tape to hold it together. Is there a place to buy replacement ribbons for this device or get replacement clips?
Gandalf is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 July 2011, 04:22   #2
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gandalf View Post
I'm sure this is way more then what you all would expect for a simple 'hello', but that is just me saying hello, lol.
No! Keep on telling...


A joke.... jeje... Welcome here!
Retrofan is offline  
Old 16 July 2011, 04:41   #3
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
Hello from MANITOBA!!!!!

lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 16 July 2011, 05:57   #4
Muzkat
Into the Wonderful
Muzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earthrealm
Age: 36
Posts: 1,279
Greetings, and enjoy your stay.
Muzkat is offline  
Old 16 July 2011, 05:58   #5
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,491
hi, from up north
kipper2k is offline  
Old 16 July 2011, 09:44   #6
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Welcome to EAB Gandalf and enjoy your stay
TCD is offline  
Old 16 July 2011, 09:57   #7
Skope
Protracker
Skope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: 8364
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gandalf View Post
My only regret with my amiga is moving the 1200 from the desktop casing into a tower.
Same here mate. Only mine didn't crash, it just became boring and didn't feel like an Amiga anymore. It had a Mediator and Voodoo2 3000 in it and just felt like any PC, only with bad web browsing. Sold it eventually and got me an A500 now. Lovely.

Enjoy your stay!
Skope is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Collection of Amiga Hardware / Software Canada Raqoon MarketPlace 0 17 June 2013 19:56
Source of brand new AT PSUs for Canada/USA alenppc Hardware mods 1 03 May 2013 05:57
For Sale- NTSC A2000HD- USA and Canada Only quarkx MarketPlace 6 27 September 2012 22:05
World of Commodore Still Alive in Canada Wammy News 0 23 November 2009 06:07
looking for a xrgb-2 box in canada... pbareges support.Hardware 6 24 September 2005 22:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12952 seconds with 11 queries