English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 July 2011, 23:29   #1
amiga_user
 
Posts: n/a
AmIRC is now FREE !

AmIRC has now been released FREEWARE (NO keyfile required) !Get it from here:http://biclodon.com/software/amirc/
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 July 2011, 23:40   #2
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Thats some kinda Awsome right there !
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 07 July 2011, 00:18   #3
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 332
Nice, except for that the 68k/OS3 version eats all my 2+32 MB memory when I try to connect.
duga is offline  
Old 07 July 2011, 01:35   #4
_psy
Registered User

_psy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Thessaloniki/Greece
Age: 37
Posts: 116
Great! i'll try it for sure , i have a long time to go irc ....
_psy is offline  
Old 07 July 2011, 02:37   #5
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,668
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by duga View Post
Nice, except for that the 68k/OS3 version eats all my 2+32 MB memory when I try to connect.
Minimum requirements to use it? Any advice to use it?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 07 July 2011, 13:13   #6
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Minimum requirements to use it? Any advice to use it?
Of course there's some kind of bug or I am doing something very wrong. It crashes when I try to use the Settings menu.
duga is offline  
Old 07 July 2011, 13:18   #7
Skope
Protracker
Skope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: 8364
Posts: 381
Good news. Wouldn't mind a freed up MiamiDX either.
Skope is offline  
Old 07 July 2011, 13:45   #8
amiga_user
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by duga View Post
Nice, except for that the 68k/OS3 version eats all my 2+32 MB memory when I try to connect.

It happens for me, as well. It must be some bug.
 
Old 09 July 2011, 01:37   #9
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 332
3.5.30 is out, try it!
duga is offline  
Old 09 July 2011, 02:15   #10
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,668
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Well... I'm sorry I'm a real newbie about it. I've never used a IRC.
I connect Genesis (I use to use Ibrowse), and I open AmiRC, I select server name irc.abime.net, port 6667. What I have to do now? Any password? What?
And sorry for knowing nothing about it.
It only shows "Looking up host "irc.abime.net"...
"Unable to lookup host "irc.abime.net". You probably spelled the name wrong?"

But it's the same if I select any of the IRC servers already there.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 09 July 2011, 03:36   #11
Rebel-CD32
Amiga will never die!
Rebel-CD32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 516
Send a message via MSN to Rebel-CD32
Try irc.freenode.net and ##Amiga, irc.amigaworld.net (or .no or .fi if .net doesn't work) and #AmigaWorld and #Amiga68k, or #Amiga on irc.qeast.net (Efnet).

It seems like the memory leak bug has been fixed with this new version release too, but there are new bugs like it crashed when opening Settings - Setup...
Rebel-CD32 is offline  
Old 09 July 2011, 04:33   #12
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,668
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel-CD32 View Post
Try irc.freenode.net and ##Amiga, irc.amigaworld.net (or .no or .fi if .net doesn't work) and #AmigaWorld and #Amiga68k, or #Amiga on irc.qeast.net (Efnet).

It seems like the memory leak bug has been fixed with this new version release too, but there are new bugs like it crashed when opening Settings - Setup...
Thanks a lot, Rebel. I was thinking about you some minute ago... weren't you going to launch some new navigation icons for Ibrowse? I've got no hurry, just was remembering it.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 09 July 2011, 05:11   #13
Rebel-CD32
Amiga will never die!
Rebel-CD32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 516
Send a message via MSN to Rebel-CD32
I'm working on a few packs of graphics for Workbench which I'll upload to Aminet and the Amiga-Look website when I've finished them. I'll try and release what I've done so far soon though, sorry for taking so long with this stuff. I guess I should touch up some of my old custom images for AmIRC and put them on there too, now that I can start using it again.
Rebel-CD32 is offline  
Old 09 July 2011, 08:04   #14
laffer
Zone Friend

laffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Age: 36
Posts: 1,335
Cool, going to have to try this out in WinUAE one of these days.

If only they would also release a browser capable of displaying most webpages, even pages such as Youtube and such (I'd gladly pay for this), then I could pretty much just stay within WinUAE at all times
laffer is offline  
Old 09 July 2011, 10:38   #15
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Awesome news Rebel mate!!! Your work can make a grown man burst into tears LOL
Can't wait for the icons and more work of yours?
Is there a way we can support ya for your work?
mfilos is offline  
Old 09 July 2011, 13:19   #16
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel-CD32 View Post
It seems like the memory leak bug has been fixed with this new version release too, but there are new bugs like it crashed when opening Settings - Setup...
I'm experiencing the Settings - Setup crash in both .29 and .30. But at least I'm able to connect with the .30 release.
duga is offline  
Old 09 July 2011, 17:14   #17
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,668
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I don't know about the settings, but I've connected to irc.freenode.net . The thing is I don't know anybody there by it's names. What Amiga IRC works better?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 09 July 2011, 19:32   #18
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
I always used AmIRC 3.5 and it worked like a charm. Haven't tried the new versions yet but I will soon.
mfilos is offline  
Old 10 July 2011, 02:18   #19
Rebel-CD32
Amiga will never die!
Rebel-CD32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 516
Send a message via MSN to Rebel-CD32
There's always WookieChat, which has a few more features than AmIRC like server tabs, but it needs a bit more RAM: http://wookiechat.amigarevolution.com/wookiechat/

And Grapevine still works too: http://aminet.net/package/comm/irc/grapevine

AmIRC was always my preference back in the day, although due to that memory leak bug it's had for years I've been using WookieChat.

I remembered an old hangout of mine, and it's still running but just a little quiet: #AmigaZone on irc.oz.org
Rebel-CD32 is offline  
Old 10 July 2011, 17:10   #20
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 332
3.5.31 is out.
duga is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmIRC key location blitter1 support.Apps 3 20 March 2010 16:18
Registering amirc? pan1k support.Apps 8 10 July 2006 17:15
AmIRC?? BarrySWE support.Apps 2 30 September 2005 10:43
Amirc ^SnOoPy^ request.Apps 6 31 August 2005 00:59
AmIRC getting started???????? backtoskooldaze support.Apps 9 05 October 2002 22:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20957 seconds with 11 queries