English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 October 2011, 04:05   #41
AmigaDave
Since 1987
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Big Bear Lake/USA
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
It will fit, you just need to rise the rom sockets.
Do you sell these ROM socket risers? Will it still fit under my stock A1200 keyboard? I don't have my A1200 in a tower.
AmigaDave is offline  
Old 29 October 2011, 12:02   #42
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 43
Posts: 1,024
will these work

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5x-IC-Sock...item19c9d8c768
johnim is offline  
Old 29 October 2011, 12:32   #43
Peter
Still an Amiga user
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 50
Posts: 2,685
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=676
Peter is offline  
Old 29 October 2011, 15:57   #44
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 50
Posts: 2,824
or pin strips,the only problem ive found with these fastata's is they have round pins and the rom socket takes flat pins.making it difficult to reach the maximum speed of the device.

but then again if you can remove the old socket and replace it with a socket that has round pins you will not need the cable ties.

roy.
roy bates is offline  
Old 29 October 2011, 18:55   #45
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,663
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
or pin strips,the only problem ive found with these fastata's is they have round pins and the rom socket takes flat pins.making it difficult to reach the maximum speed of the device.

but then again if you can remove the old socket and replace it with a socket that has round pins you will not need the cable ties.

roy.
We sell both types, just ask when ordering for the flat type.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaDave View Post
Do you sell these ROM socket risers? Will it still fit under my stock A1200 keyboard? I don't have my A1200 in a tower.
It should be fine aslong as you dont go to nuts and raise it like 3 or 4 times.
FOL is offline  
Old 29 October 2011, 20:14   #46
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 50
Posts: 2,824
sorry fol, what i mean is the fastata has round pins and the 1200 has flat pins on the motherboard.

and i changed the motherboard socket to round pin socket if you know what i mean.
roy bates is offline  
Old 29 October 2011, 23:22   #47
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,663
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
sorry fol, what i mean is the fastata has round pins and the 1200 has flat pins on the motherboard.

and i changed the motherboard socket to round pin socket if you know what i mean.
Ah, yep, I know what you mean.

Think thats why they provide the cable ties. They do the job though, for people who cant do any soldering.
FOL is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FastATA 1200 manual DJBase request.Other 12 06 June 2011 11:37
Indivision AGA 1200 and FastATA 1200 - fitty or pity? 8bitbubsy support.Hardware 3 17 September 2009 05:20
Indivision ECS Pre-Ordering starts! amigakit.com News 26 29 August 2009 23:21
New drivers for FastATA 1200 MK-III Paul News 1 18 February 2005 00:54
Looking 4 Drivers for FastATA 1200 controller vpcs support.Hardware 0 04 October 2003 16:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06705 seconds with 12 queries