English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > Looking for a game name ?

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 August 2002, 11:26   #1
Big-Byte
Long time member

Big-Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 753
Game that used 'HAM' mode

As far as I recall there was only one game that used the HAM mode but what was its name?

And does it work on any emulator.
Big-Byte is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 August 2002, 11:32   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,196
Are you talking about Links, the golf sim? AFAIK it's the only game that uses HAM mode.

What an awful game
Akira is offline  
Old 20 August 2002, 11:36   #3
Tim Janssen
Junior Member

Tim Janssen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Den Bosch / The Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 1,271
Cool Pioneer Plaue

Wasn’t it Pioneer Plague? When this game was released in 1989, it was regarded as the first game using the HAM-palette to the full.
The game is pretty weird - in the same league as Captain Blood. It has an UFO flying over huge city backdrops, a 3D tunnel section and more subgames I cannot remember anymore
Tim Janssen is offline  
Old 20 August 2002, 12:05   #4
Big-Byte
Long time member

Big-Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 753
Pioneer Plague!! That was it.. Never worked out how to play it though.

Links uses HAM mode too then? Bet it was slow.
Big-Byte is offline  
Old 20 August 2002, 13:42   #5
Kodoichi
Banned
Kodoichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: I'm the smiling face on your TV, I exploit you still you love me
Posts: 514
Knights Of The Crystallion uses HAM too =|
Kodoichi is offline  
Old 20 August 2002, 20:40   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,196
There you go, you have 3 HAM games now!
Akira is offline  
Old 20 August 2002, 21:05   #7
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Question is if other games really needed the HAM mode. Take Lionheart for a shining example. I don't think that uses HAM but it looks darn good regardless.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 21 August 2002, 05:40   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,196
No, it doesn't. Lionheart just uses smart copper techniques to change the colors.

HAM is useless, specially because of "HAM fringeing"... that's the worst part about HAM imo, even worse than its pathetic speed.
Akira is offline  
Old 21 August 2002, 11:26   #9
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,926
Abandoned Places 2 uses a 64-colour halfbright mode. Is that using the HAM features? Surely no game wouldn't use the full 4096 colour HAM mode would it?
fiath is offline  
Old 21 August 2002, 12:05   #10
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Labyrinth of Time for the CD³² also uses the HAM Mode
RetroMan is offline  
Old 21 August 2002, 19:27   #11
7-Zark-7
Zone Friend
7-Zark-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 1,240
Hollywood Strip poker Pro, & I'd think just about every other strip poker type game on the Amiga would've used the HAM mode for the static digitised pics.
Didn't Links specs require at least an 68020/30 to even run??
7-Zark-7 is offline  
Old 21 August 2002, 19:57   #12
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,579
Loads of games....

Used HAM mode for static screens:

Phantom Fighter, Robocop 2, Strip Poker 1 & 2, Covergirl Strip Poker.

Pioneer Plague, Knights of the Crystallion, Links all used it (as mentioned).

Technically, HAM mode DOESN'T display all colours at the same time, but to the human eye, well, it simply doesn't know the difference. It alters the colours of the pixels to get the 4096 onscreen all the time, hence why its so bloody useless except for static pictures.

I am surprised Links was so bad, bearing in mind all it had to do was throw a dot around the screen!

But more games than you realise used HAM mode for intro screens. Quite a few Psygnosis games used them for static presentation screens, but coloured them carefully to avoid fringing (fringing occurs when the colours being swapped around in pixels close together that the human eye can detect)
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 21 August 2002, 20:18   #13
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,196
Quote:
Originally posted by fiath
Abandoned Places 2 uses a 64-colour halfbright mode. Is that using the HAM features?
Nope, Halfbrite is another mode (an ECS one).

As Galahad says, lots of games used HAM for static screens, but only a few used the mode all over the game.

I never checked this: does HAM8 have the same fringeing problem as HAM?
Akira is offline  
Old 22 August 2002, 18:03   #14
7-Zark-7
Zone Friend
7-Zark-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 1,240
Question

@Akira. If the halfbrite mode was an ECS feature, then why would Abandoned Places 2, work on A500's then?
I remember using the 64 colours half-brite mode on some of the old paint utils with the A500,(Not that a computer could ever cover up my lack of artistic talent!! ).
And there was another RPG game, from Electronic Arts from memory, Dungeon Krypt??? I dunno, that used the half-brite mode & I think that title predated A500+/600's.
7-Zark-7 is offline  
Old 22 August 2002, 19:46   #15
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,794
EHB is OCS feature (only some first A1000 models didn't support EHB)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 August 2002, 20:19   #16
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,196
Thanks for clearing that up Tony! I thought it was an ECS feature only...
Akira is offline  
Old 23 August 2002, 05:08   #17
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,135
Post HAM games

Licence to Kill and BMX Simulator title pics are both HAM.

I think there was another game from 1988 published by Ocean (and possibly beginning with E or O?) which was claimed at the time in the naff rag C+VG to be the first full HAM game.

Eco perhaps? (Never played it, just going from a sometimes very poor memory!)

I think it might have been something with planets in it.
Codetapper is offline  
Old 26 August 2002, 15:17   #18
TikTok
Registered User

TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 37
Posts: 657
What about Universe (the graphical adventure)? Or did that only claim 256 colours?
TikTok is offline  
Old 26 August 2002, 15:59   #19
Jim
 
Posts: n/a
There was a game, which I remember was advertised heavily as "4096 colours", HAM-mode, the most colours on any Amiga game etc.... etc...

It was a platform game, I think it was about a Bug Exterminator or something and had Bug in the title if I remember correctly.
 
Old 26 August 2002, 16:10   #20
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
I don't think Universe was a HAM game. It definately didn't have that many colors...I think.

Though it would explain the poor performance.
Drake1009 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which game made the best use of half bright mode? donnie Retrogaming General Discussion 41 04 July 2016 18:03
HAM game existing ? possible ? thellier Coders. General 44 28 July 2014 14:02
Help needed with HAM mode and Photon Paint trydowave support.Apps 10 12 March 2013 21:49
Quite bad graphics corruption in DPAINT HAM MODE ral-clan support.WinUAE 11 24 May 2012 03:30
indivision aga and ham mode pbareges support.Hardware 3 03 February 2009 13:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20631 seconds with 11 queries