English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 June 2011, 08:40   #1
joufflu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: nice / France
Posts: 15
Green Amiga Alien guide - Problem with ClassAct

Hello,

I am trying to restore my A1200 3.1 ROM (with ACA1230/28), and I have some problems enhancing workbench display.

I followed the Green Amiga Alien guide, but I have a problem after ClassAct installation (classactdemo2). Installation is well but I have this error when I try to change classAct prefs (by cliking on the icon) : "Unable to open window.class".
I don't know why I have this error as the window.class file has been well copied in the Classes directory. The lha archive have been extracted directly in the Amiga.


So after that, newicons installation does not work perfectly too.


Perhaps I did something wrong or forgot a step ??

Thanks for your help If you encountered such a problem in the past !!!

Bye
joufflu is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 June 2011, 12:47   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Can you run the ClassAct prefs?
thomas is offline  
Old 10 June 2011, 13:45   #3
joufflu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: nice / France
Posts: 15
Hi,

No, I got the error message 'Unable to open window.class' when I click on the icon classact prefs in the Prefs folder.
Whereas if I execute c:CAPrefs (which is a different program ??) in the shell, it gives some information and leave without an error.
joufflu is offline  
Old 10 June 2011, 14:47   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Open a Shell window and enter these commands (blue colored):

Code:
3> assign exists libs:
LIBS           Workbench:Libs
             + Workbench:Classes
3> list sys:classes/window.class
Directory "sys:classes" on Freitag 10-Jun-11 
window.class               29316 ----rwed 11-Mai-97  01:51:48
1 file - 59 blocks used
3> version sys:classes/window.class
window.class 42.66
3> avail 
Type  Available    In-Use   Maximum   Largest
chip    1162976    933152   2096128   1031312
fast          0         0         0         0
total   1162976    933152   2096128   1031312
3> version
Kickstart 40.68, Workbench 40.42
3>
and copy the results here like I did.
thomas is offline  
Old 10 June 2011, 19:18   #5
joufflu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: nice / France
Posts: 15
Hi Thomas,

Thanks for your help, here are the commands results :


3> assign exists libs:
LIBS Workbench 3.1:Libs
+ Workbench 3.1:Classes
+ Workbench 3.1:System/MUI/Libs

3> list sys:classes/window.class
Directory "sys:classes" on Sunday 01-Jan-78
window.class 29316 ----rwed Future 01:51:48
1 file - 59 blocks used

3> version sys:classes/window.class
window.class 42.66

3>avail
Type Available In-Use Maximum Largest
chip 1788344 307784 2096128 1786048
fast 64337472 2771392 67108864 64318376
total 66125816 3079176 69204992 64318376

3>version
Kickstart 40.68, Workbench 40.42

Except Mui, the only difference is the window.class date in the future.
joufflu is offline  
Old 10 June 2011, 20:36   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
The file's date is not in the future, your system date is in the past (01 Jan '78). Did you perhaps forget to put the battery into the ACA1230? Anyway you should use Prefs/Time to set the current date and time and then save it.

But I doubt that the wrong date is the cause of your problem.

Please download, unpack and run SnoopDOS: http://aminet.net/package/util/moni/SnoopDos

When the SnoopDOS window opens, first click on Functions and change System and AmigaDOS from "Selected" to "All", then click on Use.

Leave the SnoopDOS window open and run Prefs/ClassAct. Once you get the error message, go back to SnoopDOS, click on Disable and choose Buffer / Save Buffer from the menu. Attach the resulting file here.
thomas is offline  
Old 11 June 2011, 09:44   #7
joufflu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: nice / France
Posts: 15
Hello,

I bought the ACA 1230 without the RTC kit. Anyway it does not work too when I change the system time/date.

Please find the snoopdos log in attachment.
Attached Files
File Type: txt SnoopDos.txt (3.9 KB, 119 views)
joufflu is offline  
Old 11 June 2011, 11:43   #8
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Seems like the reason is that datatypes.library is missing. How did you install WB 3.1 that this library can be missing?

Please check the presence and version of libs:datatypes.library with the List and Version commands like above with window.class. Also check if sys:classes/datatypes directory exists and is filled.

If all is there, please make a new SnoopDOS log for running Utilities/Multiview.
thomas is offline  
Old 11 June 2011, 13:46   #9
joufflu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: nice / France
Posts: 15
The classes/datatypes folder is existing with the following content :

8svx.datatype amigaguide.datatype
anim.datatype animation.datatype
ascii.datatype cdxl.datatype
ilbm.datatype picture.datatype
sound.datatype text.datatype

Here are the commands with the datatypes.library lib :

List:
Directory "sys:libs" on Sunday 01-Jan-78
datatypes.library 15592 ----rwed Future 12:38:57
1 file - 32 blocks used

Version:
datatypes.library 40.6

I remember that since some time I cannot open guide file for instance (that is using Multiview)

Please find the snoopdos log in attachment for multiview (I clicked the icon but nothing happened)
Effectively there is a fail trying to open datatypes.library.

I installed WB3.0 first on the machine with the old disks. Then I upgraded to WB3.1 using diskimage and the Tosec 3.1 workbench.
Attached Files
File Type: txt SnoopDosMultiview.txt (1.4 KB, 100 views)
joufflu is offline  
Old 11 June 2011, 15:25   #10
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
Please find the snoopdos log in attachment for multiview
I don't see a reason why datatypes.library shouldn't open. There is nothing else missing.


Quote:
I remember that since some time I cannot open guide file for instance
datatypes.library is essential for Multiview. Do you remember what you did before this happened for the first time?
thomas is offline  
Old 11 June 2011, 16:08   #11
joufflu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: nice / France
Posts: 15
Unfortunately I don't remember.
Perhaps it was after the 3.1 upgrade because it was working well in 3.0.

I think the most simple will be to reinstall everything and check step by step if the problem occurs again.

Many thanks for your help !
joufflu is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Green Amiga Alien Guide update August 2006 Paul News 1 16 August 2006 02:22
Green Amiga Alien Guide Page design Paul project.Green Amiga Alien GUIDES 19 16 July 2005 18:22
Green Amiga Alien AmigaSYS 1.7 install guide Paul News 2 23 February 2005 08:17
Green Amiga Alien guide - Problems Peanutuk project.Green Amiga Alien GUIDES 17 02 June 2004 10:50
The Green Amiga Alien's guide Paul project.Jambo! 20 02 March 2003 16:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22183 seconds with 12 queries