English Amiga Board Amiga Lore

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene > Member Introductions

Old 02 June 2011, 23:56   #1
scottyvdub

hi everyone

hello, i have just dug out and vacumed out, my amiga 1200, havnt even looked at it for 15 years, she fired up first time. i had a quick look around work bench played a bit of road rash and had a go on zool 2, memmorys,
any way i opend the old 1200 to hoover, hopeing to find a blizzard or some kind of goodies but what i found was not a lot. no hard drive no card and 3.0 kickstarts. this is what i do have
the commodore A1200, id num-530311, made in the philipines.
logig 3 speed mouse!
gravis game pad.
saitek megastick iv.
original zool 2 disks
original road rash discs
copys of workbench 3.0 ,the very first,the works,page stream 2.2
and like i said 3.0 kickstarts.
I am not a complete and total novice but i dont know an awfull lot about amiga, so any infomation you can give me about my machine i would be gratefull, i guess this is the commodore machine rather than the escom.
What should i do with my 1200 now, i dont want to spend loads of money on the thing so i suppose i should get a hard drive,what type do you think a flash card? and maybe workbench 3.1 should i get the 3.1 kickstarts?
this is my first post so i have probably gone on a bit, but its quite exiting playing with the old retro 1200, thinking about geting a dreamcast.but like i said any info about the old 1200 would be great
scotty

AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 June 2011, 00:45   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!

Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hi Scotty!

Firstly welcome to EAB, you've come to the right place as you'll find lots of useful info from basic upgrades to damn right crazy OTT mods

Your A1200 is a nice base to start with, 3.0 Roms are fine, you only need 3.1 Roms if you want to run OS3.5/3.9 and even then there are ways around that.