English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 May 2011, 11:36   #1
Van Denhawk
 
Posts: n/a
How to boot up with 3.1 Workbench install disk?

Hi

I have a new Amiga A1200 which I can't wait to use. I am new to the Amiga scene after owning an Amiga 500 many years ago. However I need help to boot the 3.1 install workbench disk. I have the install adf file which I have copied onto a normal floppy and inserted into my A1200. The Amiga is reading the disk but nothing is happening, What is wrong?

Thanks for any help
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 May 2011, 11:43   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Van Denhawk View Post
Hi

I have a new Amiga A1200 which I can't wait to use. I am new to the Amiga scene after owning an Amiga 500 many years ago. However I need help to boot the 3.1 install workbench disk. I have the install adf file which I have copied onto a normal floppy and inserted into my A1200. The Amiga is reading the disk but nothing is happening, What is wrong?

Thanks for any help

You need to write the ADF back to the disk with an app like 'ADF Blitzer' the ADF is an image of the disk.

http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/adfblitzer

This has to be done on a real Amiga with a DD Floppy (unless you have an Catweasel for PC)
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 28 May 2011, 14:50   #3
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
You will also need the other 5 disks to install WB to a hard drive(HD). If you have no HD then you need the workbench disk not the install disk. Alternately you could set up a HD using your PC and WinUAE and then transfer it to the 1200.
Arnie is offline  
Old 28 May 2011, 16:07   #4
Ffin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Stoke on Trent
Age: 45
Posts: 44
Why not buy the real disks from Amigakit, it's only 21. They also sell the 3.1 ROM for 17.
Ffin is offline  
Old 28 May 2011, 16:53   #5
Van Denhawk
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the replies


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ffin View Post
Why not buy the real disks from Amigakit, it's only 21. They also sell the 3.1 ROM for 17.
That's what I was going to do but they have none in stock atm

Can I buy the disks from anywhere else?

I have just found that they are selling just the HD Install 3.1 Disk which is in stock. Will I still need to write the ADF's of the other 5 disks back to the disk on the real A1200 with ADF Blitzer for the installation of workbench? (btw I am using a Compact Flash card installed on my A1200 as my hard drive)

Last edited by Van Denhawk; 28 May 2011 at 18:00. Reason: Another question
 
Old 28 May 2011, 17:58   #6
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,017
You can just Google up the freely available .ADF files and write the disk images to some spare floppies, it works just as well and only takes a few minutes to do.

EDIT: actually I would recommend to just get a small Sandisk Compact Flash card and a CF to IDE adapter (together they work like an SSD for the Amiga), and check out ClassicWB and install the whole thing from WinUAE on your PC. It'll be much more convenient to use than having to use your floppies every time.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 28 May 2011, 18:10   #7
Ffin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Stoke on Trent
Age: 45
Posts: 44
Doh! I blame the hangover. Analogic are selling it via ebay, no pictures though, so I don't know if they are legitimate copies.
Ffin is offline  
Old 29 May 2011, 15:30   #8
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 564
I would recommend http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=440
1time is offline  
Old 29 May 2011, 18:26   #9
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,017
I would get f.ex the Edup 5-in-1 PCMCIA adapter from dealextreme.com instead, it's only 6 with shipping included. The one at Amigakit costs 10 more, shipping not included, and seemingly only accepts Compact Flash cards.
Leffmann is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: Workbench 3.0 Install Disk?? Aezeroony MarketPlace 1 07 February 2013 11:15
workbench 1.3 on hd + disk install Nova support.Other 5 09 October 2012 15:13
WTB: Workbench 2.05 Install disk Melonfish MarketPlace 3 14 April 2010 18:17
wanted: amiga workbench install disk steve_uktv MarketPlace 22 01 February 2010 10:26
Workbench Install 3.1 Disk squonk request.Apps 2 01 August 2009 13:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23061 seconds with 11 queries