English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 May 2011, 16:36   #1
digiflip
Registered User
digiflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 50
Which FPGA Implementation of Amiga are you looking forward too?

What Features Are looking forward too?
digiflip is offline  
AdSense AdSense  




Old 26 May 2011, 19:10   #2
digiflip
Registered User
digiflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 50
http://rmm.ath.cx:9001/foswiki/bin/view/FpgaArm/WebHome

interesting link
digiflip is offline  
Old 26 May 2011, 21:35   #3
Leffmann
Leffmann with two n's
Leffmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,472
Will be interesting to see the finished Natami with 3D-acceleration etc. though I don't think I will ever buy it, nor any of the other alternatives. I have an old A1200 and once I get around to setting that up I will have enough Amiga for my taste.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 12:41   #4
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 869
digiflip,

an ARM in FPGA is not required if you want to emulate the ARM board for Minimig. Look at the Minimig core for Chameleon: The ARM board is emulated with a second instance of the 68000 processor. The C-Code is compiled using DICE on the Amiga, and it works great. Chameleon has the functionality of a Minimig board with ARM board, and all processors are in the FPGA.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 13:36   #5
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 35
Posts: 1,525
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Yep you can see a test of my Chameleon booting ClassicWB 68k using the Minimig core (incl. ARM board) under standalone mode.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GW_k7fOZBHE
mfilos is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 14:08   #6
Oli_HD
Collector

Oli_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: North Acton, London / England
Posts: 142
NatAmi for me please, I want to see AGA and custom chips taken to the extreme.
Oli_HD is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 15:56   #7
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfilos View Post
Yep you can see a test of my Chameleon booting ClassicWB 68k using the Minimig core (incl. ARM board) under standalone mode.
Try the new core released today - it's almost twice as fast.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 16:57   #8
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 35
Posts: 1,525
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Awesome Jens. Will try it on this evening
mfilos is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 18:06   #9
moijk
License to Bubble

moijk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grimstad, Norway
Age: 37
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfilos View Post
Awesome Jens. Will try it on this evening
Out of curiosity and a bit off topic, how do you do anything with the cartridge in standalone mode? operate it through a connected pc?
moijk is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 19:36   #10
Ffin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Stoke on Trent
Age: 42
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by moijk View Post
Out of curiosity and a bit off topic, how do you do anything with the cartridge in standalone mode? operate it through a connected pc?
No, the Chameleon has I/O for mouse, keyboard and VGA, and memory and storage on-board. The PC is only needed for updates, and power when in standalone mode.

See here: http://www.vesalia.de/e_chameleon.htm
Ffin is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 19:43   #11
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 1,981
Although Natami sounds very good, an A1200 replica with '030 or '060 as an option sounds much better to me (yeah, I'm one of those purists ).
Thorham is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 19:44   #12
Ffin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Stoke on Trent
Age: 42
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
Although Natami sounds very good, an A1200 replica with '030 or '060 as an option sounds much better to me (yeah, I'm one of those purists ).
Natami in an A1200 case with real Amiga keyboard =
Ffin is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 19:50   #13
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 1,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ffin View Post
Natami in an A1200 case with real Amiga keyboard =
But a Natami isn't a replica of the hardware (emulation would be fine) and is much more powerful. I want the same specs as an A1200 with 50mhz '030 Updated connectivity and a linear Paula (no more 14 bit calibration file needed) would be a nice plus, though.
Thorham is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 19:53   #14
Ffin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Stoke on Trent
Age: 42
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
But a Natami isn't a replica of the hardware (emulation would be fine) and is much more powerful. I want the same specs as an A1200 with 50mhz '030 Updated connectivity and a linear Paula (no more 14 bit calibration file needed) would be a nice plus, though.
I wasn't making a suggestion, I was stating my own preference. Old style case, correct keyboard layout, nice new electronics. Yum.
Ffin is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 20:30   #15
moijk
License to Bubble

moijk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grimstad, Norway
Age: 37
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ffin View Post
I wasn't making a suggestion, I was stating my own preference. Old style case, correct keyboard layout, nice new electronics. Yum.
should that be possible with lyra?
moijk is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 20:30   #16
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 35
Posts: 1,362
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
Nothing beats real amiga, even this one.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 20:34   #17
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 1,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by haynor View Post
Nothing beats real amiga, even this one.
You got that right. If only I was a billionaire (not that you'd need that much), then I could just buy Amiga and start the production of Amigas again (at a loss ).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ffin View Post
I wasn't making a suggestion, I was stating my own preference. Old style case, correct keyboard layout, nice new electronics. Yum.
Thought you did because of the quote
Thorham is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 20:34   #18
Ffin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Stoke on Trent
Age: 42
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by moijk View Post
should that be possible with lyra?
Not Lyra, that's for using PC keyboards. Keyrah is the adapter you are thinking of, and it should be possible, space permitting.
Ffin is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 21:51   #19
imigger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: england
Posts: 130
fpga

hi im looking forward to the arcade board with all that lovly memory and 68060 ,i cant wait im fedup waiting i want it now pleaaaaseeeeeeeeee
imigger is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 23:38   #20
gilgamesh
Linux snob
gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 965
Amiga in a joystick.
gilgamesh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Amiga 600 FPGA Accelerator majsta Hardware mods 590 07 September 2014 20:10
Which FPGA Implementation of Amiga do you think has the best chance? digiflip Amiga scene 4 29 May 2011 08:31
Amiga on a FPGA? Narf the Mouse Amiga scene 7 25 November 2010 23:26
Best Amiga E implementation Madcrow Coders. General 1 25 June 2008 00:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20672 seconds with 11 queries