English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 May 2011, 22:50   #21
NathanTolbert
Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 42
Quick question about the two clockports. Can they both be used simultaneously or just one at a time? Just curious.
NathanTolbert is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 May 2011, 22:57   #22
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Both clockports can be used at the same time - if you can find the space for two add-ons. You may end up removing the floppy drive anyway :-/

The second clockport has a new address (0xd90001) that is currently only supported by a special version of the subwayusb.device (which I'll publish when the A604 is out), but any other driver can also use that address.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 20 May 2011, 05:26   #23
NathanTolbert
Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 42
Thank you for the reply. In my case, this won't be an issue for me as I'm expanding my A600 into a desktop case. Just the right size to expand the joystick ports out the right side, and the PCMCIA out the left. I will definitely pick up at least one of these when they come out.
NathanTolbert is offline  
Old 20 May 2011, 06:14   #24
AmigaDave
Since 1987
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Big Bear Lake/USA
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by NathanTolbert View Post
Thank you for the reply. In my case, this won't be an issue for me as I'm expanding my A600 into a desktop case. Just the right size to expand the joystick ports out the right side, and the PCMCIA out the left. I will definitely pick up at least one of these when they come out.
I heard from one guy who put his A600 into an A500 case and modified it to use the A500 keyboard. Strange to me, as I think the A600's appeal is the small size (in addition to all the great new hardware that Jens has made for it), but you might want to do the same, if you are only looking for a little extra space.
AmigaDave is offline  
Old 20 May 2011, 22:29   #25
ChrisUnionNJ
Amibay Mod/Staff

ChrisUnionNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Union NJ
Age: 55
Posts: 191
Great stuff there Jens now I can stop looking for a A603!!

Chris
ChrisUnionNJ is offline  
Old 24 May 2011, 19:22   #26
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
Looking forward to the A604 - good news
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 24 May 2011, 19:25   #27
Amigaman
Registered User
Amigaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
Looking forward to the A604 - good news

Indeed! I see you have it listed for pre order. Good job
Amigaman is offline  
Old 24 May 2011, 19:29   #28
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
Thanks, I think this one will be popular as we have had many requests for it.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 27 June 2011, 17:35   #29
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
A604 shipments to all resellers have left the building.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 27 June 2011, 17:50   #30
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Awesome news Jens!!! Thanks for the update
mfilos is offline  
Old 27 June 2011, 18:59   #31
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 332
Nice to hear!


If only I had a working A600 motherboard...
duga is offline  
Old 27 June 2011, 21:40   #32
Omolungo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Livorno, Italy
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
A604 shipments to all resellers have left the building.

Jens
OT

What can you say us about ACA520?

/OT
Omolungo is offline  
Old 27 June 2011, 23:18   #33
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Devil's Advocate...
"Just wait for an awesome announcement like the A604 was"... Out-of-the-blue!
mfilos is offline  
Old 30 June 2011, 16:25   #34
hyami
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
The second clockport even reaches 60% more transfer speed, which translates either to higher USB transfer rates, or to lower CPU load.
60% more transfer speed... That actually makes me wonder; what's the maximum throughput of a normal clockport (both theoretical and practical)?
 
Old 30 June 2011, 16:33   #35
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
The A604 Memory Expansion is now in stock and available from AmigaKit.

We will start to process the pre-orders for this product immediately.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 01 July 2011, 11:23   #36
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyami View Post
60% more transfer speed... That actually makes me wonder; what's the maximum throughput of a normal clockport (both theoretical and practical)?
Theoretical values are only good for dishonest marketing. That's not how I do business. Here's real-world numbers:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Portspeed.jpg
Views:	291
Size:	42.2 KB
ID:	28972

When I described the production process and the new tools we've built for the A604, the question came up if the "old tools from A603" could be put up for auction now. The thing is: The were no special tools for A603! I introduced new methods for the A604, especially because we've had trouble like this during the A603 production:

Click image for larger version

Name:	A603_drowned_panel.jpg
Views:	419
Size:	108.1 KB
ID:	28973

This drowned panel is now up for auction over at a1k.org - current bid is 70,- EUR. It's unique, there is no other panel like this. The thing is only good for "having", but it will never ever work because of missing parts, unprogrammed CPLDs and the obvious "solder in the wrong places". Invoice for the thing will be written for "electronic waste, 265grams", shipping goes on top. I'll sign the thing if the winner wants me to. 50% of the money (after VAT) goes to a charity organisation that I'll name on monday or tuesday (you may want to wait before placing your bid until I have decided which one).

http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=27520

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 02 July 2011, 00:14   #37
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
Got my 604 today, working great Thanks Jen and Amigakit for fast delivery

DonAmiga is offline  
Old 02 July 2011, 00:42   #38
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
Glad your A604 arrived safely and quickly.

Thanks for your order- much appreciated
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 02 July 2011, 13:21   #39
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
wow nice to see you do that with those dead boards jens, that is indeed one big blob of solder
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 03 July 2011, 21:20   #40
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 276
Ordered, and I hope this one hold my Flicker Fixer better as with my A603, it seems REALLY sensitive and I constantly have to open up my 600 and adjust it to get a proper display. Also I could never get my Subway to work before, I even had to shave off some of the plastic to make the cable it fit under the Flicker fixer and plug in proper. I kinda gave up on trouble shooting all that so hopefully this will resolve those issues as well.

Can't wait to receive it and check it out, thankx!

P.S. Does this mean that the USB will now be a lost closer to USB 2.0 speeds? I.E. would CD or DVD burners be a possibility?
XDelusion is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ChipMEM Bug. FOL support.WinUAE 4 09 January 2013 23:41
Possible Problem with Second Hand A604 scu98rkr support.Hardware 3 26 November 2012 15:55
A604 & v1.3 mobo alenppc support.Hardware 1 29 September 2012 23:14
F/S Upgraded Amigas (A4000D Mirage Pro/Mediator/CSMkII & A600+A604/4mbSRAM) +more!! fitzsteve MarketPlace 1 13 May 2012 17:11
ChipMEM and FastMEM on A500 Iznougoud support.Hardware 6 20 June 2008 13:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.37753 seconds with 12 queries