English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 August 2002, 09:06   #1
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
WHDLoad question

This is not a problem per se...

I was wondering.. I have a few games that run through WHDLoad and have slowdowns. The slowdowns should not be there, since my machine has an accelerated processor. So why are they? They play just like in my A600.

For example, R-Type 2. When lots of stuff gets on the screen, it just slows down like my A600... Shouldn't this be "fixed" in a much faster machine?
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 August 2002, 00:22   #2
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,128
Post Wasting DMA cycles

Galahad might correct me on this but I think this is what happens!

The game on an accelerated Amiga runs the code a lot faster as you would expect. But the blitter is a lot slower in comparison to the CPU. On the A500, the blitter was very fast, but not so on accelerated Amigas.

The game therefore gets to the point where it needs to blit some data and it starts into a loop saying "are you finished yet?" OVER and OVER! Just like when somebody is watching over your shoulder, this doesn't exactly help and actually slows down the blitter as DMA time is wasted while checking that the blit operation is finished so often.

There is a BlitWait macro in WHDLoad which tests CIAA which can avoid some blitter slowdown so this should be used in cases like this where heavy blitter usage occurs. Also moving some code to fast memory can avoid the slowdown in some cases. (I believe Galahad has done this for SWOS).

And yes this is bloody annoying I agree!
Codetapper is offline  
Old 17 August 2002, 01:07   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
Hey, is not that it works worse than on an A500, it works about at the same speed, which surprised me!

Would it be possible to use the CPU as the blitter, like the Fblit program does?
Akira is offline  
Old 17 August 2002, 04:05   #4
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,128
Post FBlit instead of the blitter

The short answer is no.

Because the operating system is generally killed in games, the FBlit program won't work in WHDLoad installs.

Most games setup for a blit by loading the hardware registers $dff044 to $dff074 and then writing to $dff058 starts the blit. Some games use nice subroutines to do their blitter operations, so in theory if you could load the FBlit code into fast memory you could patch the game to use it.

So basically it's not possible at the moment but it's not impossible!

Every game would need special patching (but of course you might only need this on the 5% of games which go REALLY slow under WHDLoad) or perhaps some magic by the MMU commands in WHDLoad could convert the blitter operations to FBlit's format and call them.
Codetapper is offline  
Old 17 August 2002, 06:34   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
Re: FBlit instead of the blitter

Quote:
Originally posted by Codetapper
The short answer is no.
Because the operating system is generally killed in games, the FBlit program won't work in WHDLoad installs.
Nah, I'm not a dummy, I know this. I was asking if a similar function could be implemented in WHDLoad. Not using FBlit and Whdload . The last part of yoru reply answered me perfectly, thanks a bunch
Akira is offline  
Old 17 August 2002, 10:43   #6
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,524
Codetapper is correct

simple maths.

A500 Blitter is faster than processor
A1200 030/040/060 processor is faster than blitter

The slowdown occurs because the processor will execute more code in a routine quicker than an a5oo, and will encounter a blitwait sooner.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 20 September 2002, 00:01   #7
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
I'm another victim of this problem, isn't there anthing that can be done?
 
Old 20 September 2002, 06:01   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
I think that, as Galahad says, not. Unless the WHDLoad coders decide to include a module for blitter emulation through CPU (much in the way FBlit works).

That would make the games run smooth, I presume!
Akira is offline  
Old 20 September 2002, 09:45   #9
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
It's hard to accept this incompatibility. After all WhdLoad's purpose is to make old, incompatible, badly written games run on modern amigas.
 
Old 20 September 2002, 10:10   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
Hey, they RUN, but they slowdown! . It's not an incompatibility problem.
Akira is offline  
Old 20 September 2002, 10:13   #11
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
They run but sometimes they decide to walk I thought WHDLoad is for compatibility problems!
 
Old 20 September 2002, 16:33   #12
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Its the reason to still collect the disks/adfs...
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 20 September 2002, 20:56   #13
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
Quote:
Originally posted by Burseg
I thought WHDLoad is for compatibility problems!
Yep! As I said, the games run, are compatible with your new Amiga. But run badly

The disk/adfs wont even run on accelerated Amigas, me Twister. it's good to hve them but they are mostly useless in an expanded Amiga.
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whdload question imigger support.WinUAE 3 22 February 2013 09:56
Question about whdload jolly11 project.WHDLoad 2 22 January 2011 21:34
Question Regarding the WHDload Packs solamnic project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 11 16 March 2007 15:34
whdload question/s guardiansknight New to Emulation or Amiga scene 48 09 January 2006 23:35
whdload question. ricflairandy project.WHDLoad 5 09 November 2005 22:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.32196 seconds with 11 queries