English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 August 2002, 00:04   #1
madduck
Junior Member
madduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Izmir / Turkey
Age: 31
Posts: 40
Virtual PC

have you ever tried connectix virtual PC
that program rocks; you should try...
well no amiga anyway

http://www.connectix.com
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	vpc.jpg
Views:	496
Size:	23.7 KB
ID:	3315  
madduck is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 August 2002, 00:20   #2
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
I looked at it and decided that though it looked nice I didn't really want to pay to be able to play my old dos games when Dosbox (http://dosbox.zophar.net) seems to be aiming to do that whenever it gets around to it. Then there's bochs which will allow you to do the same, just for free and probably more system intensive as it emulates the x86 processor.

I tried Connectix playstation emulator, and next to bleem it has got to be the worst emulator I've seen, so I'm not sure how well their virtualPC will run.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 16 August 2002, 00:30   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Ohh great! You can run all those henious OSes at the same time on an awful PC!

Akira is offline  
Old 16 August 2002, 00:33   #4
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Yes isn't it great Akira? Imagine the ad campaign.

"If XP should happen to leave you with some free memory why not let Windows 2K take care of the rest for you. No more need to find some program to slurp up resources. No more need to have 1 crashing OS running. Now with Connectix virtualPC you can have as many OSes crashing simultaneously as you want."

Pure stroke of genius.

-In which environment do you want to crash today?
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 16 August 2002, 00:56   #5
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
I have it for my Mac running Xp. Funny how Windows XP is MORE stable on my iBook than on my PC
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 16 August 2002, 02:07   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Quote:
Originally posted by Drake1009
"If XP should happen to leave you with some free memory why not let Windows 2K take care of the rest for you. No more need to find some program to slurp up resources. No more need to have 1 crashing OS running. Now with Connectix virtualPC you can have as many OSes crashing simultaneously as you want."
Bwahahahahaha
Akira is offline  
Old 16 August 2002, 07:59   #7
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
For all of the following, the target was Microprose Soccer (since that's the only PC disk sitting in front of me). I want to test DOS emulation. If you want to use Windows on Windows (eg. 9x on 2k), the results may be better, but I'm only interested in getting DOS programs working.

Commercial Full Version : Connectix Virtual PC 5 - Bombs back to Windows
Commercial Full Version : VMWare Workstation 3.1 - Bombs back to Windows
xxxxxxware : DOSBox - Yet to try....I'll wait until the emulation progresses some more
xxxxxxware : Bochs - Can't remember, but sucked if memory serves correctly

Verdict..They all suck at the moment. If they can't run a shit game like Microprose Soccer, how the hell will they handle newer games.
If you want to play DOS games, pick up a DOS box for cheap

I would like to hear how they perform, with for example, Windows 98 on a Windows 2000/XP machine....Compatibility with games/software (softice anyone? )
 
Old 16 August 2002, 08:29   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Have you tried MESS? I think it emulates an old PC.
Akira is offline  
Old 16 August 2002, 08:47   #9
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
I've treid Bochs, it's geared towards the techhead like me, but even I gave up tweaking it to gain more speed, it's slow as hell and this is on an Athlon XP 2000+ machine

As for Virtual PC, I've tried out v4.xx and it seemed to be much faster then Bochs was and not as much tweaking involved. All I did however was to create a virtual 1GB hard file, format it and install MS-DOS 6.22 which worked just fine.

Moral of the story, well I've not tried them all out either but since I have a dedicated DOS box for just playing old dos games, well this is good enough for me. It's nice having a KVM switchbox to connect all these machines to one monitor, keyboard and mouse
jmmijo is offline  
Old 16 August 2002, 09:23   #10
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
I don't have room for a dedicated dos box around here. Already had to take my C128 away from connection.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 16 August 2002, 09:38   #11
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Well I'm lucky then, I have the entire second floor to myself, two bedrooms and a bath

One bedroom is used for sleeping and my PC's and the other for my sanctuary, the Amiga's and other CBM machines, oh and my MAC clone is in there too
jmmijo is offline  
Old 16 August 2002, 09:42   #12
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
I have my main game rig in my room (along with the consoles), all the other computers are in the basement and I still need more room.

I have virtual pc 5 but never bothered to run it because I have a DOS box anyway. I always say if you can get/make room for/ and afford the original system they buy it and use it for games. If you cant or dont have it yet then an EMU is your other option.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 16 August 2002, 09:47   #13
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Took this info off MESS' site. Perhaps you can runs some stuff with it?

Quote:
IBM AT
------
extended IBM PC

Mess Emulation State
--------------------
basically the same as ibmpc emulation
rough emulation of keyboard controller
rough emulation of keyboard
rough emulation of dma chips
rough emulation of pic chips
incomplete emulation of cpu
no support for high density disks
no support for at harddisks
needs i80286 v1.5
Quote:
IBM PC
------
the grandfather of the now common personal computer

Mess Emulation State
--------------------
rough emulation of the keyboard controller
rough emulation of the pic chip
rough emulation of the dma chip
no emulation of the tape drive
mono display adapter emulated
color graphics adapter emulated
hercules graphics adapter emulated
rough ega/vga emulation
1 floppy disk controller emulated
1 harddisk controller emulated
rough emulation of up to 4 serial ports emulated
rough emulation up to 3 parallel ports emulated
1 serial mouse emulated
rough emulation of 1 game port and its 2 joysticks
Quote:
IBM PC Junior
-------------
enhanced IBM PC for home use

Mess Emulation State
--------------------
basically the same as mess ibmpc emulation
pc junior graphics emulated
pc junior sound emulated
work stopped until complete bios roms are available
Akira is offline  
Old 16 August 2002, 12:51   #14
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
Revised test of Virtual PC

Installed Windows 98 onto a virtual hard disk on Virtual PC
Windows runs flawlessly
DOS4GW games run flawlessly
The DOS games that I tested run flawlessly (didn't test Microprose Soccer since that doesn't even work on a real Win98 machine)
Games that wouldn't run in Win2k run flawlessly (ie. Road Rash)

Verdict: A great emulator. If you want to run Pure DOS, don't bother. If you're up for emulating Windows, this is a great emulator to do it with. Since it sits on top of an already existing windows/mac installation, it's better than VMWare, which loads stuff before Windows starts (if I recall correctly)

Next to test:

- Virtual PC running SoftICE : I'm deliberately trying to make Virtual PC die in this case, but if it succeeds, I will be royally impressed.
- Virtual PC running a non MS OS : Possibly OS/2. Possibly NetBSD
 
Old 16 August 2002, 14:02   #15
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
Next test (have yet to install SoftIce....probably won't do this anytime soon since it requires me disabling it in Win2k...this requires a reboot....f**k that)

Emulation on emulation : This test aims to see how well I can emulate within Virtual PC's emulation. The target app is MAME running Street Fighter 2.

Result : Fantastic. The emulation was great. See below
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sf2virtualpc.gif
Views:	417
Size:	36.8 KB
ID:	3322  
 
Old 17 August 2002, 00:41   #16
turk182
Junior Member
turk182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: london
Age: 44
Posts: 187
I must admit I was sceptical too (about Virtual PC), but I managed to get a dos hardrive image ,and now I can play Duke nukem again & Blood and some really old shit with hardly any slowdown...it really is clever stuff.I installed linux onto another vhd and that works a treat too (I have the bootblock wrighting of lilo et al ,but this completely went round it,
Maybe I can drag out the old dos uae to see how far things have come with it since?
turk182 is offline  
Old 17 August 2002, 06:41   #17
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,699
Win 2K can't run ROAD RASH?

Road Rash is a Win32 app, goddamn!


Damn, Microsoft should learn something about "Backwards compatibility" ....
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 17 August 2002, 13:12   #18
Uukrul
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Amigaboy
Next test (have yet to install SoftIce....probably won't do this anytime soon since it requires me disabling it in Win2k...this requires a reboot....f**k that)
Installed in Win95 but doesn't work
 
Old 17 August 2002, 13:29   #19
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
SoftICE does work with Win9x. I just want to test to see if Virtual PC can handle it
 
Old 17 August 2002, 14:36   #20
Uukrul
 
Posts: n/a
Yes, I know it. I installed it in a W95 Virtual PC slave. Also Gametools debugger doesn't work.
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual GP Xenon request.Old Rare Games 13 09 March 2009 19:53
Virtual Karting mai support.Games 2 04 March 2009 11:18
Virtual s2325 request.Old Rare Games 5 05 January 2008 21:29
Virtual HDs... Djay support.WinUAE 3 25 April 2004 00:00
Virtual vs Reality blackcornflake Retrogaming General Discussion 9 26 October 2002 16:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.66930 seconds with 12 queries