English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 April 2011, 13:35   #1
fatboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: the unknown
Posts: 133
CRT vs Flat Screen?

Having emulated many classic systems on my PC (M.A.M.E, Sega, Amiga and so on), I was always a little disappointed with the blurry screen o/p on modern flat screen monitors (just can't cope with the low res GFX I guess?).

I decided to buy myself a new (old stock) 17" CRT with FST, and replaced my Phillips TFT.

WOW what a difference its made to my retro gaming experience. Bright, crisp graphics and no screen tearing....just super.

OK Widows XP looks little less sharp, but the CRT does support higher screen modes than the TFT did.

I paid a measly £29.99 (inc delivery) for an out-of-the-box CTX branded monitor.

And to cap it off I upgraded my aged Sempron 2400+ socket A CPU to an Athlon XP 2800+ cpu for £9.00!!!! Added another 1 GB of DDR 3200 for £20.00 (new, Kingston brand) and will soon add a PCI SATA card to replace the old IDE drive.

No need to buy a new machine my old one, upgraded, emulates perfectly

who needs fancy quad-core machines and the latest LED flat screen monitors?...I certainly dont
fatboy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 April 2011, 13:40   #2
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,161
Where did you buy your CRT from? Must say I'm suffering a bit with LCD blues... give me CRT radiation anyday
Paul_s is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 13:45   #3
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
I used to be a CRT man for my retro fix but after pugging my 1200 into my 24" BenQ the other day I've now been converted to an LCD lover
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 13:52   #4
fatboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: the unknown
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
Where did you buy your CRT from? Must say I'm suffering a bit with LCD blues... give me CRT radiation anyday
from these guys LINK
fatboy is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 13:53   #5
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,234
LCD sucks, I regret buying mine. My Dad's plasma is far superior, it can actually display black!

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatboy
who needs fancy quad-core machines and the latest LED flat screen monitors?...I certainly dont
People who use their computers for more than emulating 1980's computers/consoles :P
Hewitson is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 14:03   #6
fatboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: the unknown
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
LCD sucks, I regret buying mine. My Dad's plasma is far superior, it can actually display black!


People who use their computers for more than emulating 1980's computers/consoles :P
But I still use the same machine for day-to-day PC tasks....emails, web, productivity and so on.

Just don't see the need to spend £300+ on a new machine when I'm already doing what I need to on my old PC
fatboy is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 14:09   #7
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,234
The reason most people upgrade their computers is undoubtably because Windows runs like a bag of shit after it's been installed for a few months. If they simply tried reinstalling it, they'd be more than happy with their existing machine.

A Pentium 3 or 4 would be fine (if not overkill) for what most people do with their computers. The power of the current CPU's is absolutely ridiculous and does nothing but encourage people to use poor programming practices and produce bloated software.

Last edited by Hewitson; 28 April 2011 at 14:20.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 14:31   #8
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatboy View Post
who needs fancy quad-core machines and the latest LED flat screen monitors?...I certainly dont
If it's only for emulating old consoles/computers then an old PC will do just fine... You can always just use a cheap PS3 or Xbox 360 for modern gaming

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
A Pentium 3 or 4 would be fine (if not overkill) for what most people do with their computers.
My old PIII 650mhz machine struggles to run Youtube... But i primarily use that old beast for Dos and early Windows games (including 3DFX Glide games)

Last edited by Graham Humphrey; 28 April 2011 at 15:06. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 16:31   #9
Claw22000
Registered User
Claw22000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN/USA
Age: 39
Posts: 222
I love my quad core. Xbox/Playstation just can't compare to my game on this system. I have a crt for my amigas and a 42" lcd fopr my pc
Claw22000 is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 16:57   #10
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPie5000
My old PIII 650mhz machine struggles to run Youtube
Really? I had a P3 733 not long ago that ran it fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Claw22000 View Post
I love my quad core. Xbox/Playstation just can't compare to my game on this system.
Maybe not in terms of graphics detail, but games are almost always smoother on consoles than PC's. No jerking or tearing.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 17:19   #11
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
A Pentium 3 or 4 would be fine (if not overkill) for what most people do with their computers. The power of the current CPU's is absolutely ridiculous and does nothing but encourage people to use poor programming practices and produce bloated software.
True, I put Windows 7 on a seven year old PC a few months ago.

All that was required to bring it upto a modern/mid-spec PC of today was a P4 2.4GHz CPU (£free - used to be an old celeron), DirectX 9 AGP Video Card (£35), 2GB Ram (£30) and it runs like a train...

I did put in a 500GB HDD but this was because they wanted more storage space..... but again, didn't really break the bank.
Paul_s is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 17:25   #12
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,020
...and that's the end of the non monitor OT folks
TCD is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 17:31   #13
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,161
Actually the W7 machine working on a CRT!

Anywho, there's something LCD's don't have and that's scanlines
Paul_s is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 18:25   #14
Skope
Protracker
Skope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: 8364
Posts: 381
Imo new and improved isn't always better. But then again I might be just wired wrongly. CRT, chemical photography, vinyl records, tape decks, old computers = all winners in my world. (:
Skope is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 19:37   #15
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,917
For anyone after their light-gun gaming fix (Operation Wolf, Operation Thunderbolt, Virtua Cop, Confidential Mission etc.) CRT is a must. I have been told that oldskool light-gun games don't work on LCD/plasma TV's.
Modern light-gun games on the Wii avoid that problem, courtesy of the bar thing that sits infront of the TV - I don't own a Wii myself so can't remember it's proper name.


Regards,
Lonewolf10

Last edited by Lonewolf10; 28 April 2011 at 19:40. Reason: Corrected typo's and made last sentence make sense!
Lonewolf10 is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 20:03   #16
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,971
I simply use both a 4:3 CRT and a 16:9 panel, so I get the best of both worlds. Both monitors are connected to my Pentium 3 and the CRT is also connected to my A1200 using a KVM switch (and a VGA adapter), and a video box.

It's a great setup. I can use a nice dual view desktop under Winblows XPee, or I can use my CRT for the A1200 and still have one peecee desktop, watch TV on my video box, or use A1200 15Khz output through composite on said video box

While flat panels, even cheap ones, are nice enough (didn't expect cheap ones to be so nice), they still can't do everything a CRT can. Their sub pixels aren't thin enough, and far too tall to do different resolutions without up scaling (although technically 'pixel multiplying' is possible, but the panel has to support it, and it won't always be ideal), and frequencies may be a problem. While those things are still a problem, I'll stick to using a CRT as well as a panel.
Thorham is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 20:41   #17
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatboy View Post
I was always a little disappointed with the blurry screen o/p on modern flat screen monitors (just can't cope with the low res GFX I guess?).
Yeah right. Flat screens have exactly one resolution. All other resolutions must are scaled (by hardwired logic). That makes the image blur. CRTs on the other hand can freely bend their cathode ray. CRTs still have a wider color spectrum than flat screens.

Anyway I'm fed up with power hungry hulks on my desktop.
TFT FTW! (until OLED hits mass market )
gilgamesh is offline  
Old 28 April 2011, 21:03   #18
Parsec
Registered User
Parsec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lancashire
Age: 42
Posts: 431
I use an oldish Acer 19" LCD with an xbox for emulators and native games, hooked up via a HDBoxPro to convert component to VGA. Took absolutely ages playing with the many settings on the box but now I'm happy with it, works very well indeed. Anything from Pacman to Outrun to Halo looks nice especially Halo.

Good move on the CRT though if I had room I'd be very tempted.
Parsec is offline  
Old 29 April 2011, 11:06   #19
fatboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: the unknown
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skope View Post
Imo new and improved isn't always better. But then again I might be just wired wrongly. CRT, chemical photography, vinyl records, tape decks, old computers = all winners in my world. (:
I second that
fatboy is offline  
Old 29 April 2011, 12:05   #20
Claw22000
Registered User
Claw22000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN/USA
Age: 39
Posts: 222
I'm pretty sure most of us on are here for there retro fix however I like both. I do like my Commodore 2002. On my A1200 but I wouldn't like it on my GTX460.
Claw22000 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best screen resolution for CRT purist? buckrogers support.WinUAE 13 21 May 2013 08:39
Flat screen lost_loven support.Hardware 4 27 February 2012 01:15
WANTED: Kickstartswitch Amiga500 with flat cable mr.niceguy MarketPlace 17 29 January 2010 12:53
Error 4 in Flat Description Fieldday support.Hardware 2 05 November 2009 19:50
A500 - Two drives on same internal flat cable. Possible? aquanaut Hardware mods 10 03 March 2008 04:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35098 seconds with 11 queries