English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 August 2002, 00:14   #1
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
Dream A1200 spec

Hello all.
Further to my post in the Amiga future developments post i wish to garner some thoughts as to what YOU believe the A1200 should have come with at the minimum upon its release in 1992
in order to save Amiga from its ignominious fate.
(although it really should have been released in 1990 or 1991!)

For me:
2MB Graphical RAM (but expandable dammit!)
4MB Fast RAM
AGA Chipset
68040 CPU
CD ROM DRIVE
HD Floppy Drive
120MB Hard drive

Now, granted the addition of all this would have doubled the price...
Antiriad is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 August 2002, 00:18   #2
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
AA chipset should have been used instead of AGA. I think this would provide 24bit graphics. 040 cpu in 92 wasn't exactly necessary, a 030/50 is good enough but I'd say at least 8mb of total memory was necessary, maybe more for higher resolutions.

Last edited by Burseg; 15 August 2002 at 00:29.
 
Old 15 August 2002, 01:35   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,282
What would I have put in the box!

*68020 (not EC!) + 68881
*2MB Chip (expandable to 8 Chip! Why the fuck did they never implement Chip mem expansion? Or at least let the custom chips use Fast!)
* AGA chipset.
* Amber chip. We need flickerfixing/scandoubling capabilities. And the ability to use el-cheapo VGA monitors.
* 16 bit Paula or the DSP from the A3000+

That was okayish. I want my dream A1200 to be marketable and bite from the marketing pie of back then
Akira is offline  
Old 18 August 2002, 03:26   #4
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 658
I pretty much agree with Akira, expandable chip mem would have been a cool idea. Additionally, shipping it with some FastRAM would have made a difference speed-wise.

An optional internal scandoubler would have been great too. I don't think that the A1200 (main target audience=gamers and "low budget people") should have been shipped with mounted Amber chip. Just adds to the price tag, while most of the target audience won't buy/need an expensive VGA monitor right from the start.
Korodny is offline  
Old 18 August 2002, 04:14   #5
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
Make the entry level machine a tower based computer, for easy expansion...

in which case, they could of then put ISA slots on the mainboard, later on they could of used PCI, which means you could have used PC cards, someone would have to make drivers for the cards thou!!

The Chipset would remain property of Commodore/Amiga, but the extras (HD, Floppy etc) would be licensed to third parties...

When they knew they were not going to continue with hardware, they should have licensed out the chipsets etc to third parties...

... if these steps had been taken, we ALL might be posting our threads on an Amiga
Djay is offline  
Old 18 August 2002, 04:30   #6
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Wasnt the reason the original 1200's were inexpensive compared to the pc's and macs because of the commodore designing and manufacturing their own custom chipsets? If you use PCI and ISA slots dont you have to pay a liscensing fee and still have to pay for somebody elses chips for those devices? The more off the shelf parts used to make a unit the more it costs you to make it. I am surprised companies got all those fancy addons to work with the 1200 to begin with.

My dream A1200 would have upgradable vram, memory expansion using standard memory dimms, a bootable laptop sized cdrom buit in on one side and a 1.44 floppy on the other. Built in networking would have been nice or at least another pcmcia slot. Oh and VGA connector with 30khz output 1024x768x32bit and maybe built in scsi support for external burners.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 18 August 2002, 04:43   #7
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
@Unknown_K..
... true, but i wouldn't have minded paying a couple of hundred quid more, if it mean't keeping the Amiga alive, and improving its chances against a PC machine, the difference between an A500 and an A1200 wasn't enough, which has been well documented.

If like the PC, you have different people making the same type of hardware, it improves the machine as a whole, because competition is a good thing as fair as industries are concerned.

Alot of Amiga's down fall wasn't really hardware spec, it was Commodores (etc) mis-management, so if they had sold the hardware rights to a *good* company, it might have been a different story....
Djay is offline  
Old 18 August 2002, 05:31   #8
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Commodore had the same problems apple had in the 90's, it was a hardware company and liscencing the hardware would have made for a better hardware base but also meant that the struggling parent company would have more competition.

Commodores main problem that killed them was they owed too much money for a very long time, I think the A1200 was doing ok and the cd32 was selling also when commodore died. Commodore should have NEVER got into the PC clone buisiness.

The only thing commodore could have done was either make all the designs and patents public domain where a number of companies could have made amiga computers or sold these patents and designs to a company with the will and resources to continue the legacy. And even then if they didnt have the resources for R&D your still screwed trying to sell a platform that will age quickly compared to the rest of the market. Look how many companies selling equipment for macs have bit the dust in the last 10 years, and mac users are as loyal as amiga ones.

I think I have stated this elsewhere only reason the Intel PC is the market champion is because I can start a PC company tomorrow and clone the hardware. Once you build a platform that is used by the vast majority of the market its sold to everybody will code for it and make upgrades for it, and the smaller companies cant compete and will die off like the Tandy's, Atari's, Amiga's, Ti's, MSX's, Sinclairs, etc etc etc. Most of these companies were the market leader at one point in time or another before the consolidation. I see apple trying to be a software company more then a hardware company just so its positioned to live if/when they too quit making hardware. If you look at the PC market now the R&D is spread out among quite a few different companies. ATI + Nvidia do the video card research, Intel+ AMD do the processors, all the tiwan motherboard makers help with chipsets. How could commodore compete by doing all the R&D and just selling hardware to make its money back.

Although Amiga sucked ass in the marketing and long term buisiness aproach they did make some interesting hardware for a good price. But I think long term the pure proprietary computer makers were doomed no matter what they did, only part of Atari still around is atari soft, and apple made better long term plans. Even IBM who braught the intel PC into existance and has a HUGE budget for R&D is pretty much a small player in the market they started, more of a consulting/solutions company these days.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 18 August 2002, 06:54   #9
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,282
Quote:
Originally posted by Korodny
An optional internal scandoubler would have been great too. I don't think that the A1200 (main target audience=gamers and "low budget people") should have been shipped with mounted Amber chip. Just adds to the price tag, while most of the target audience won't buy/need an expensive VGA monitor right from the start.
Doh, I forgot that back then, VGA monitors were expensive! now they are cheap. So scratch the scandoubler.

Perhaps adding an S-Video port would have been rad. I think teh CDTV had RGB/SVideo/Composite. And it also had MIDI. So bang that on my drem A1200 spec, a couple of MIDI ports.
Akira is offline  
Old 18 August 2002, 06:57   #10
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
You make good points, but is it too much to admit Apple , besides a marketing genius like Steve Jobs, also has a damn good product
that keeps its lil 5% market share?
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 18 August 2002, 09:22   #11
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,282
Let's keep in mind that Apple DID LEARN, and changed from SCSI to EIDE, from ADB to USB, and from PDS to PCI.

They did the smart thing and they can quite compete with PCs price-wise.
Akira is offline  
Old 18 August 2002, 18:46   #12
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Oh yeah, speaking of ports and connections, Akira, Apple created Firewire.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 18 August 2002, 23:29   #13
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Great thread!

Dream Spec (although probably not commercially viable):

68030+68881 both at 50Mhz
2MB CHIP + 2MB FAST on the motherboard
Expansion's can increase fast ram and chipram

AAA Chipset supporting:
Planer modes up to 256 colours (like AGA)
Chunky mode support up to 65,000 colours (like graphics cards)
Pallete 16 million
Hardware support for games (eg sprites)

New Blitter chip
New sound chip - DSP with at least 10 voice output
120MB HardDrive

Now imagine that in you A1200 desktop as standard!

Probably retail for about 699 however back in '92.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 18 August 2002, 23:56   #14
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
Quote:
Oh yeah, speaking of ports and connections, Akira, Apple created Firewire.
they didn't create it on their own thou
Djay is offline  
Old 19 August 2002, 02:29   #15
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Quote:
Originally posted by Djay
they didn't create it on their own thou
Actually according to this site they did!

http://www.1394ta.org/Technology/
jmmijo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wonderland: Dream The Dream... alkis21 Games images which need to be WHDified 12 15 May 2013 22:16
zorro ii spec? Yakumo9275 support.Hardware 4 10 February 2013 14:42
Buying Amiga A1200 for games - best spec? pault2007 Nostalgia & memories 22 06 August 2007 15:36
Wonderland: Dream The Dream Stig request.Old Rare Games 4 12 July 2005 13:04
out of box spec for A1200? + other ?? technium support.Hardware 5 27 August 2004 11:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20962 seconds with 11 queries