English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 April 2011, 22:07   #1
BigFairy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 70
Uninstalling WHDLoad ?

Hi,

I was just setting up another A1200 (Stock + 500mb HDD) that i got of ebay. I want to preserve the contents of the original HDD but i wanted to also install a couple of more apps like whdload etc.

Now, whoever set this thing up originally, only made a 8Mb partition for the dh0: ( system ) partition, and me, without thinking treid to install whdload without realising that there was not going to be enough space.

The install of course failed, but now, i have like very very little space left on that partition and i cant/dont know how to remove all the files so i can reinstall on the other partition and get some space back on dh0: .

Any ideas? Or format + reinstall WB3.1...
BigFairy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 April 2011, 22:11   #2
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
I'd say 8 MB is really a tad small for your system partition, so I'd make it at least 20 MB and start again.
TCD is offline  
Old 21 April 2011, 22:19   #3
BigFairy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
I'd say 8 MB is really a tad small for your system partition, so I'd make it at least 20 MB and start again.

Thats what i thought. I have no idea why someone would make it that small, especially since its a 500Mb, and bulk of it is free/empty.

I guess i will format it and reinstall/partition better.

Thanks for the input
BigFairy is offline  
Old 22 April 2011, 04:22   #4
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 2,235
I'd certainly agree with repartitioning the drive, however you should easily be able to install WHDLoad even on 8mb partition, it's 168k..

Don't use the installer script which installs the documentation, manually copy over the contents of the C and S directories.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 22 April 2011, 20:59   #5
BigFairy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 70
Hi thanks for the reply.

Well, i was able to copy off all the data of it, format and repartition.
This A1200 is very very clean. Its going into storage for a while.
BigFairy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE - Unregistered WHDLOAD : WHDLOAD.KEY - FIX Neil79 support.FS-UAE 14 29 January 2013 22:34
Removing / uninstalling a game... Mr B support.Games 3 19 March 2011 20:57
whdload instructions? [where to put WHDLoad games for GameBase Amiga v1.4] luke_70it project.MAGE 8 28 October 2009 06:36
WHDload issues (Complete WHDload nub, apologies in advance) dire_wolf project.WHDLoad 31 09 October 2009 20:41
problems uninstalling :( lukie support.Games 1 21 April 2002 19:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13271 seconds with 11 queries