English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 April 2011, 01:17   #21
ImmortalA1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: london/england
Posts: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Just like the 'core' is virtual, so are your disks Live with it. Really, it makes it a lot easier Get a real Amiga or accept that you're using emulation
Noooooo.......I want to blur reality When my A1000 dies what can I do to use my disks to play games.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
A pity if it's a fraud. I like this:
"Our new machine, the R-MIGA A1000, will have the same sort of elegant design as the machine that inspired us, and best of all it will allow you to run the entire Amiga archive too."
Nice idea, that picture of Einstein looks like 32 colour Amiga picture

You could make one, the case is from Karma Digital, you can buy it from them. But it would look strange with LCD monitor and PC keyboard I think.

Last edited by TCD; 15 April 2011 at 01:17. Reason: Back to back posts merged. Use multi-quote.
ImmortalA1000 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 April 2011, 01:22   #22
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,905
Lol, what a bunch of shit!! It's worse than those that are now cashing in on selling their ACA cards.
seuden is offline  
Old 16 April 2011, 20:28   #23
_ThEcRoW
Amiga Geek
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 903
You can access real amiga disks with catweasel under winuae. I have that on my setup and can access the disks no problem. The only thing it that you cannot boot from the directly, but reading and writing is ok under workbench.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Catweasel : http://www.vesalia.de/e_catweasel.htm
Kryoflux : http://webstore.kryoflux.com/catalog/



You can create ADFs, not use real disks in WinUAE.
_ThEcRoW is offline  
Old 16 April 2011, 20:37   #24
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
I assume you 'mount' them and not have them as one of the 'DFx:' drives then? Not that useful if you want to play games then.

Last edited by TCD; 17 April 2011 at 13:14. Reason: Added 'the'...
TCD is offline  
Old 17 April 2011, 13:13   #25
ImmortalA1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: london/england
Posts: 347
Yes unless I can use Amiga disks on the PC in an identical way to a real Amiga it will not be that useful for me personally.
ImmortalA1000 is offline  
Old 17 April 2011, 14:55   #26
gehtjanx
WINNING
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 132
agree, catweasle would be a cool product if winuae could handle it to boot amiga disks. I wished someone could make it reality. For the RDY signal, this could be emulated or maybe uses real amiga disk drives.

@TheCyberDruid:
Well, this is very uncommon that this will work, to be exact only a small percentage of games would run if possible (no NDOS etc). I believe that this is also not possible in gernal because of the different Amiga disk format. On the workbench maybe drivers are needed to access catweasle, but as said, I do not own it as it will not boot what would be a huge plus for my needs.

thanks,
gehtjanx
gehtjanx is offline  
Old 17 April 2011, 17:57   #27
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by gehtjanx View Post
@TheCyberDruid:
Well, this is very uncommon that this will work, to be exact only a small percentage of games would run if possible (no NDOS etc). I believe that this is also not possible in gernal because of the different Amiga disk format. On the workbench maybe drivers are needed to access catweasle, but as said, I do not own it as it will not boot what would be a huge plus for my needs.
Huh? You can include the Catweasel as a 'harddrive'. Of course that doesn't make much sense, but I think with the right settings you'll get some DOS disks to work (that don't rely on the disk being in DF0). Maybe I just don't get what you're trying to say.
TCD is offline  
Old 18 April 2011, 12:31   #28
ImmortalA1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: london/england
Posts: 347
Someone should raise a bounty for a project to make a solution that allows the booting of original Amiga disks (especially protected game disk formats) on a PC running WinUAE/UAE.

This is one bounty I would contribute to. One day I won't have a working Amiga.
ImmortalA1000 is offline  
Old 18 April 2011, 20:45   #29
gehtjanx
WINNING
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 132
I wanted to say that just a small percentage will work with that solution and this is not what I expect for the product. I would love to get near ful Amiga disk support in WinUAE with catwealse. That would be much more useful (for my needs).
gehtjanx is offline  
Old 02 May 2011, 15:53   #30
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,441
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalA1000 View Post
Someone should raise a bounty for a project to make a solution that allows the booting of original Amiga disks (especially protected game disk formats) on a PC running WinUAE/UAE.

This is one bounty I would contribute to. One day I won't have a working Amiga.
The guys working on Icaros have done the same thing and it seems to work, somebody wrote catweasal drivers that allow direct booting of disks. Just wish the same could happen for winuae!
ElectroBlaster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My New A1000 =D fitzsteve Hardware pics 11 11 November 2012 01:35
A1000 KS and WB dr.mushroom New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 18 September 2012 12:36
A1000 Softkick Help Haxxy support.Apps 7 25 December 2010 16:46
Kickstart for A1000 ? bebek Hardware mods 5 19 September 2010 08:18
A1000 help T_hairy_bootson support.Hardware 3 20 November 2003 15:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16419 seconds with 11 queries