English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 April 2011, 13:12   #1
fatboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: the unknown
Posts: 133
80 GB HD to fill!

Finally got around to installing a nice 80 Gig 2.5" laptop hard drive on my A1200.

Used the rather excellent ClassicWB OS3.9 package and it was a piece of cake to set up and partition.

Now....just what do I fill it up with to showcase all the great things the A1200 was/is capable of doing.

WHD games...YES!...WHD Demos...YES!.....Scene Mods...YES!....Scene Art...YES!...PD software, Apps, CD images (virtual CD), the list goes on....but what else????
fatboy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 April 2011, 13:21   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
If you have an accelerator check out emulators such as AmiMasterGear, ZXAM Spectrum, ShapeShifter plus many others - have a look on Aminet

You'll have plenty of space for the Rom Sets.

You can install CD Based games like Payback and HD Install games like Gloom Deluxe.

Don't forget the likes of Doom
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 11 April 2011, 13:37   #3
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
You have to say which accelerator are you using, but you can convert some music to Aiff to play with Eagleplayer (Edit: Sorry, it's SongPlayer). I do in my PC with Aiff MP3 Converter.

You could search for some games to play Scummvm too.

Last edited by Retrofan; 11 April 2011 at 16:04.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 April 2011, 13:48   #4
Amigafanboi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fareham Hampshire
Age: 47
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
If you have an accelerator check out emulators such as AmiMasterGear, ZXAM Spectrum, ShapeShifter plus many others - have a look on Aminet

You'll have plenty of space for the Rom Sets.

You can install CD Based games like Payback and HD Install games like Gloom Deluxe.

Don't forget the likes of Doom

Can not figure out shapeshifter..it runs like a dog on my 1200
Amigafanboi is offline  
Old 11 April 2011, 13:53   #5
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigafanboi View Post
Can not figure out shapeshifter..it runs like a dog on my 1200
See Cammy's post - lots of tips, I think the most important thing is the Video Driver.

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=712359&postcount=53
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 11 April 2011, 13:58   #6
Amigafanboi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fareham Hampshire
Age: 47
Posts: 142
That's the thread i followed, Macos takes like 20 mins to load up and is unuseable IMO.
Amigafanboi is offline  
Old 11 April 2011, 13:58   #7
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Which is the video driver? I'm interested too. It only worked in mine in black/white.

EDIT: I don't know how she does to play Photoshop 4.0.1 in MacOS with an A600:
http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthre...t=49670&page=2

Last edited by Retrofan; 11 April 2011 at 14:03.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 April 2011, 14:01   #8
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigafanboi View Post
That's the thread i followed, Macos takes like 20 mins to load up and is unuseable IMO.
You need more buffers on the HDD, from CLI:

addbuffers DH1 1000 (might be a space between add and buffers I don't remember off hand)

(if DH1 is where you put the HDF)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Which is the video driver? I'm interested too. It only worked in mine in black/white.
MuEVD - Read Cammy's post I linked.

Probably best though not to turn this into a ShapeShifter support thread, there is lots of info and other threads on this subject
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 11 April 2011, 14:21   #9
fatboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: the unknown
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
You have to say which accelerator are you using, but you can convert some music to Aiff to play with Eagleplayer. I do in my PC with Aiff MP3 Converter.

You could search for some games to play Scummvm too.
Its the rather nice Blizzard IV 030 50 Mhz with 32 mb Ram.
fatboy is offline  
Old 11 April 2011, 15:52   #10
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Then you could try with Mp3s even, although I would go for Mods or Aiffs.
Try searching Google for Mods Antology. They are 4 cd's, around 1,5Gb.
I use Eagleplayer for Mods and SongPlayer for Aiff.

Last edited by Retrofan; 11 April 2011 at 16:08.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 April 2011, 18:36   #11
Christian
Zone Friend

Christian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Gloucestershire
Age: 44
Posts: 218
CD Game images and some HAM8 porn haha (if it exists)
Christian is offline  
Old 11 April 2011, 21:09   #12
drHirudo
Amiga user
drHirudo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sofia / Bulgaria
Posts: 140
80 GB is very easy to fill with software that will work on Amiga 1200 with 68030 accelerator and soon you will be searching for more space. Better buy CD burner for use with that machine also for backup purposes.
First thing to install is proper Workbench with good mod players. You can add some MP3 player too. Next install utilities and software - LHA, LZX, Directory Opus, Personal Paint and similar stuff. 500 MB will go here (0.5 GB).
Next look for Amiga games - direct HD installs - Simon The Sorcerer, Civilization, Colonization, Hired Guns, etc. Then WHDLoad games.
Then Amiga ports of PC games. Doom works fine and you can download the extra WADs with Star Wars, Star Trek, Batman. They work fine with ADoom on 68030 and you will occupy sever hundred megabytes with Doom WADs.

After you are done with the Amiga stuff you can continue with emulators.
AmiMasterGear works fine on 68030. It supports archived ROMS, so you don't need to decompress them. After AmiMasterGear, install ZXAM, Speculator and then Sinclair Software. I used to have two CDs with Sinclair Software working on Amiga - more than 1 GB. After you have installed the Sinclair, you can continue with MSX, NES, Apple II, ColecoVision, Dragon, Amstrad, Apple Mac, IBM PC and other bunch of emulators. You will fill that 80 GB pretty easy with native Amiga and retro computers software and soon you will need more space.
drHirudo is offline  
Old 12 April 2011, 13:07   #13
fatboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: the unknown
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by drHirudo View Post
80 GB is very easy to fill with software that will work on Amiga 1200 with 68030 accelerator and soon you will be searching for more space. Better buy CD burner for use with that machine also for backup purposes.
First thing to install is proper Workbench with good mod players. You can add some MP3 player too. Next install utilities and software - LHA, LZX, Directory Opus, Personal Paint and similar stuff. 500 MB will go here (0.5 GB).

.
Yep already got ClassicWB OS3.9 installed....loads of great tools and programs come pre-installed with it.

Like the idea of emulation (had ZX Spectrum in 1982!!!).....Like the Sega stuff more than NES...but will look at the other 8 bit platforms (already use M.E.S.S on my PC).

Got all the WHD Demos and Games I can think of? Also been going through CD's of Mods and Demos and PD Games.

Not sure if it's worth puting on the TOSEC games set???...unless there is some 'classics' not already WHD'ed.

Got tons of scene artwork to put on (Jpeg etc).

Will aslo install 'other' apps from TOSEC....so should have a pretty niffty A1200 with a ton of software running on it
fatboy is offline  
Old 23 April 2011, 02:57   #14
bLAZER
Awesome to the max

bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 946
If you like music, leech ftp.modland.com:
"Total size of all modules on the server: 85554969181 bytes (79.7 GB)"

BAM! 80 Gb's filled!
bLAZER is offline  
Old 23 April 2011, 22:31   #15
fatboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: the unknown
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by bLAZER View Post
If you like music, leech ftp.modland.com:
"Total size of all modules on the server: 85554969181 bytes (79.7 GB)"

BAM! 80 Gb's filled!
I love MODS and so on and will have at least 10-15 GB worth on my HD.
They sound great through my 200W Technics Amp!

I'll also have a few EAB File Server ISO's and Virtual CD installed

Should be done in the next few weeks!

I'll post some piccy's when its up and running (on my Panasonic 42" Flat Screen TV)
fatboy is offline  
Old 30 April 2011, 06:13   #16
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 51
Posts: 3,481
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
How about converting some nice youtube videos or from the internet universe (and all other places too), then play on the Amiga?

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=48784
rkauer is offline  
Old 20 July 2011, 15:13   #17
fatboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: the unknown
Posts: 133
Phew!....40GB later and I think I've got enough stuff to keep me going some time

Just can't see what else I can put on the 80GB HD???.

Been running a ton of Demo's on my 42" Plasma TV.....Looks pretty good to me.

Just so much better than emulation IMHO. Do use ClassicWBUAE on my PC though....nice on a good ol' fashioned 17" CRT...better than flat screen.

Anyway must dash....got 100's more demo's to go through
fatboy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blitter fill timing leonard Coders. Asm / Hardware 42 01 September 2014 12:00
Area fill advice pmc Coders. General 4 11 October 2010 09:50
Sector fill pattern absence Coders. General 7 21 March 2009 22:50
A few fish needed to fill my tank... Severin request.Apps 7 16 August 2003 15:36
Fill 'em Tim Janssen request.Old Rare Games 1 27 June 2003 10:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.50331 seconds with 11 queries