English Amiga Board Amiga Lore

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

Thread Tools
Old 09 April 2011, 19:22   #1
Sys dec($cdab)
Kitty's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,476
Roll eyes (sarcastic) Thinking about buying another minimig ..

I sold my minimig a while back and as usual I am now missing what I have sold
So I have a few questions you guys may be able to answer for me ..
Last time I bought a minimig i got it upgraded to 4meg with Amigakit.
Is the extra 2 meg really needed? All I want to do is run Amiga 500 games via adf and the occasional program like Dpaint and Xcopy just for the fun of it,
so nothing too demanding.
The arm controller, is this needed? can I do without it?
Also I been seeing this 060 addon board that yaqube is in the process of creating, what benefits will this have if added to the minimig.
To be honest when I had the minimig before I didn't really have it long enough to actually get any real play/benefit from it :/
What is the latest minimig core and is there a non arm controller version core too now? (sorry bit rusty on this been a while)
Last question should I wait for fpga arcade or just go for a minimig?

thanks in advance guys for your input

Last edited by Kitty; 10 April 2011 at 16:18.
Kitty is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 April 2011, 22:28   #2
Zone Friend

laffer's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Age: 35
Posts: 1,335
Can't give you any input but just chiming in to say I'd be very interested in information regarding this as well... been considering getting my first MiniMig for a while now.
laffer is offline  
Old 10 April 2011, 15:16   #3
Sys dec($cdab)
Kitty's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,476
bump for input please
Kitty is offline  
Old 10 April 2011, 15:33   #4

Retro1234's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,439
I think? you can now use HDFs with the MINIMIG latest core without the ARM but are slower.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 10 April 2011, 17:08   #5
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 44
Posts: 1,218
Hello you'd better wait for fpga arcade , the 060 addon by Yagube is for it and not for the Minimig...

If you want a Minimig ,ARM is , to my point of view , needed as last firmwares are now difficult to add to the original Pic , and last firmwares are now at 99,5% in term of compatibility with games.

Adding to that the extra 2meg of ram , you'll be able to run a nice classic workbench and whdload , but is it really needed as ADF run really well ?

You can see thid thread : http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=52639

Hope that will help you.
lolafg is offline  
Old 10 April 2011, 21:34   #6

FOL's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 5,424
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Without ARM, you can run a nice WB1.3 HDD setup.
Its very quick, its only slow when using WB3.1+.
FOL is offline  
AdSense AdSense  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking of buying a Sega Saturn. A few questions. RMK Retrogaming General Discussion 29 14 May 2011 17:17
Help: I am thinking about Minimig wlcina New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 26 December 2009 22:03
Ripley's Believe it or not: Thinking of buying a Catweasel Photon support.Hardware 13 31 October 2007 19:58
Actually thinking about buying a real A1200 hamster MarketPlace 13 06 March 2006 08:04
Thinking of buying A1200 leongt Retrogaming General Discussion 10 25 June 2002 18:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:46.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13417 seconds with 11 queries