English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 June 2001, 17:00   #1
Burge
Get ready, Agent
Burge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Perth / Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 148
Was Amiga's sound capabilities similat to the NES's?

I've been listening to a few mods lately and they sound strikingly similar to NES ditties I remember from a long time ago. Anybody know if they have similar sound chips or whatever?
Burge is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 June 2001, 17:21   #2
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,856
It may be similar for all the chip-tunes.
But you can not compare a NES sound quality to an Amiga !
The NES can't produce digital sound for example, all the tune are based on a chipset which produce pre-recorded sound (a bit like midi sound). I never heard digits on NES, but maybe I'm wrong.

All the Amiga modules are used to be done with 4 digital channels, who are playing samples.
RCK is offline  
Old 25 June 2001, 19:15   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
No, there are DAC chips in certain NES cartridges (the famous SCC-1 from Konami, which appears in games like Gradius).

However Amiga and NES sound chips work differently. The NES chip does not take prerecorded sound, that would be a wavetable synthesis method. the NES uses a PSG (Pulse Sound Generator), it has a couple of waveforms and generates the sounds in real time, thanks to many parameters. The C64's SID chip works teh same, but it's not a PSG chip., it's a bit more complex, a mix of digital synthesizer with analogue resonant filters.

MIDI is just a language for musical machines to communicate What you hear in PCs is either FM synthesis (old SB cards, the OPL3 chip), and nowadays, they all use wavetable synthesis (of course, these cards also have DACs for samples)

The Amiga uses a DAC which can play digital samples. It does not generate sounds in thsoe tunes you heard, you are listening to really small samples that emulate what a NES or SID chip can do. There were a few trackers that generated its own sounds, SID-chip style (the famous synth sounds, even Octamed included them after a few years). I am not sure how Paula works, so I don't know if these synth sounds generated in real time are being created by Paula or the 68000 chip.

Hope that helps
Akira is offline  
Old 14 August 2003, 07:57   #4
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Re: Was Amiga's sound capabilities similat to the NES's?

Quote:
Originally posted by Burge
I've been listening to a few mods lately and they sound strikingly similar to NES ditties I remember from a long time ago. Anybody know if they have similar sound chips or whatever?
No it wasn't you dork.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 14 August 2003, 10:37   #5
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
what about these 4k demos, with sound ??? the sound have to be programmed, or do they use tiny samples there too ???

(good examples 4k intro from exploder(!!!) or ephedrina)
kriz is offline  
Old 14 August 2003, 13:20   #6
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
The Amiga has got four 8-bit sample playback channels. To get noise out of it, you point each channel to a bit of RAM, tell it how big it is and that's what it plays. If it's a big long sample, it will play a big long sample. If it's a tiny 64-byte piece of data, it will loop it, making it sound like a continuous tone. "chip" tunes are just little looping blocks of data. For the 4k demos, it would be more efficient to write a tiny piece of code that would generate a waveform mathematically in RAM.

Last edited by FromWithin; 14 August 2003 at 14:50.
FromWithin is offline  
Old 14 August 2003, 14:38   #7
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
mm yeah, what i thought ....


check out those 4k from exploder if you want something great !!! (the 64k intros are also very good, from extreme Russia)
kriz is offline  
Old 14 August 2003, 15:18   #8
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
The SNES sound chip was created by Sony and is 90% the same as the sound chip in the Playstation and PS2. It had 64k and played back ADPCM compressed sound using 8 channels. The compression effectively gave you three times more RAM, but meant that if you used looping sounds, you had to set the loop points on multiples of 16. The Playstation has 512k with 24 channels (and loop points on bizarre multiples of 28). PS2 has 2Mb and is basically just two PS1 sound chips. <sarcasm>Hurray for Sony's audio hardware department</sarcasm>.

The Mega-CD was insane. The audio hardware could playback sound at MHz speed, and yet there was only 64k RAM. It didn't have hardware compression. We had a Protracker player and I just did all the music in four channels in Protracker.
FromWithin is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A NES Site I've created, NES-Bit.com Lorfarius Retrogaming General Discussion 63 05 June 2012 18:14
Apple IIGS Sound Capabilities Castelian Retrogaming General Discussion 11 12 October 2011 17:08
Twinhead PC-100 - PC XT mixed with NES with Amiga look s2325 Retrogaming General Discussion 1 15 October 2010 11:17
NES joypad on Amiga? C64 Retrogaming General Discussion 3 20 January 2008 20:23
Amiga , NES and SNES mod site Fred the Fop Amiga websites reviews 0 06 February 2004 09:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18562 seconds with 11 queries