English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 March 2011, 04:42   #1
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 743
Sony to end floppy disk production.

Was reading around today and a fair few websites report that at the end of this month Sony is to stop production of 3.5" floppy disks.

http://www.product-reviews.net/2010/...ng-march-2011/

http://www.pcworld.com/businesscente...roduction.html
^^^ Math is out lol

http://www.expertreviews.co.uk/stora...y-disk-is-dead
Eclipse is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 March 2011, 12:42   #2
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
According to the first report Sony sold 12 million floppy disks last year, if I sold 12 million of something I would probably carry on
Djay is offline  
Old 17 March 2011, 13:26   #3
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Man, first BETA-MAX tapes and now 3.5" Floppy Disks, .
FOL is offline  
Old 17 March 2011, 13:28   #4
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Wahoo!!

Party time!
killergorilla is offline  
Old 17 March 2011, 22:00   #5
AmigaDave
Since 1987
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Big Bear Lake/USA
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
Wahoo!!

Party time!
I only have about 75 to 85 new blank DSDD floppy disks left. I wonder if I should buy another 100 to 200 and put them into safe storage?
AmigaDave is offline  
Old 17 March 2011, 22:10   #6
other_reality
Registered User
other_reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 72
I am running out of working floppies, and i have some 6 to 7 hundred of them !!! Most of them wont be formatted or they have track errors. I havent bought any HD though and i'm wondering if they work with my amiga floppie drives (A500, A4000 tower floppy recently bought from amigakit, and indivisions floppy for cd32) I cant seem to find DD's anywhere, at least in Greece.
other_reality is offline  
Old 17 March 2011, 22:29   #7
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 743
Surely some Chinese company will end up making some if there is still a demand?
Eclipse is offline  
Old 17 March 2011, 22:55   #8
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djay View Post
According to the first report Sony sold 12 million floppy disks last year, if I sold 12 million of something I would probably carry on
Not when you're a multi billion dollar company. The money they made on those floppies is not worth the effort on that scale

Anyway, why do people still use floppies? Seems a bit odd... People should migrate their data, and they should keep doing it in the future as well.
Thorham is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 03:07   #9
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
indeed Thorham, to Sony its just pocket change!

I use floppies on my A1200... but since i got WHDLoad i only use them to back up my personal data
Djay is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 03:20   #10
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Good riddance. Put your data on something much more reliable!

There is 0 need for floppies nowdays!
killergorilla is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 21:54   #11
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
The thing is, floppy discs are like bread in a toaster... they both go in and pop out... so no more toasted teacakes or toast
Paul_s is offline  
Old 19 March 2011, 02:00   #12
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
WHAT ABOUT THE CRUMPETS!?!?!

Someone must save the crumpets.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 19 March 2011, 04:11   #13
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
WHAT ABOUT THE CRUMPETS!?!?!

Someone must save the crumpets.
And the Marmite.
Crumpets and Marmite, yummy.
Eclipse is offline  
Old 19 March 2011, 11:06   #14
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eclipse View Post
And the Marmite.
Crumpets and Marmite, yummy.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 19 March 2011, 12:13   #15
roberthazelby
Amiga user since 1990
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bristol, England
Age: 42
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by other_reality View Post
I am running out of working floppies, and i have some 6 to 7 hundred of them !!! Most of them wont be formatted or they have track errors. I havent bought any HD though and i'm wondering if they work with my amiga floppie drives (A500, A4000 tower floppy recently bought from amigakit, and indivisions floppy for cd32) I cant seem to find DD's anywhere, at least in Greece.
Have you tried cleaning the drive heads? I've got mountains of Amiga disks - many are 20+ years old, and 99% of them still work without any issue at all.

If they give me gyp, in goes the head cleaner, and that usually sorts it.
roberthazelby is offline  
Old 24 March 2011, 14:53   #16
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 814
Hi All,
I have a bulk load of normal 3.5 floppies i got from work who were going to skip them. They are not amiga DD floppies but seem to work fine on my 1200 - can they damage the miggy drive though? also will the miggy damage the data on normal floppies?
cheers
pz
pubzombie is offline  
Old 24 March 2011, 15:08   #17
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,938
Dirty disks can damage drives.

HD disks AFAIK cannot.
alexh is offline  
Old 24 March 2011, 19:00   #18
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 518
I use some brand new Sony HD disks on my miggys. They seem to work fine formatted as standard DD.

Shame production is stopping, but I suppose solid state is safer, more reliable and robust.
LuMan is offline  
Old 24 March 2011, 19:43   #19
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 814
what will i do with my floppy drives in my PC???? I like it when people ask me why i still bother to build pc's with floppie drives in
just checked - I have a a dozen boxes of Sony Floppies enough to last out a floppie apocalypse
pubzombie is offline  
Old 28 March 2011, 20:23   #20
other_reality
Registered User
other_reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by roberthazelby View Post
Have you tried cleaning the drive heads? I've got mountains of Amiga disks - many are 20+ years old, and 99% of them still work without any issue at all.

If they give me gyp, in goes the head cleaner, and that usually sorts it.
Well, it turns out some of them DD's were overexposed to humidity. Some disks are still fine and readable, even after 20 years...Which is nice ! The drives are new BTW. I tried some MF2HDD i bought from a shop round my house the other day and i had zero problems, so i'll just stick with new ones
other_reality is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floppy disk table demolition Nostalgia & memories 8 22 December 2012 13:45
"WARNING: end of partition > size of disk!" in log mark_k support.WinUAE 5 24 March 2012 20:13
Modded Sony floppy drive on A500? chaoticjelly support.Hardware 5 25 March 2008 02:53
Floppy Disk Formatting Christian support.Hardware 13 01 November 2005 19:52
How can a floppy be a PC 720k disk and an Amiga 880k disk at the same time? dreamkatcha New to Emulation or Amiga scene 33 24 July 2004 15:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22658 seconds with 12 queries